MOTION FOR DEFAULT FOR FAILURE TO APPEAR AND JUDGMENT — Revised 07/01/2018

A motion for default and judgment, affidavit of debt, military affidavit, and bill of costs may be filed
in any civil action that is based upon an express or implied promise to pay a definite sum and
claiming only liquidated damages. (Section 17-23 et seq. of the Connecticut Practice Book).
If you have already filed and obtained a default for failure to appear in an action, this procedure is
no longer an option.

Note: Documents must be filed electronically in accordance with the E-Services Procedures
and Technical Standards.

Documents to be filed with the court (Section 17-25 of the Connecticut Practice Book):

Use the forms prescribed by the office of the chief court administrator. (Section 17-24 (b)
of the Connecticut Practice Book)

File only the originals of the JD-CV-49 and the JD-CV-52 with the court.

Note: Under Section 4-7 of the Connecticut Practice Book, any documents filed with the court
must not include personal identifying information. If any personal identifying information is
present, the information must be redacted from any documents filed with the court, whether filed
in electronic or paper format, unless otherwise required by law or ordered by the court.

1. A Motion for Default for Failure to Appear, Judgment, and, if applicable, Order for Weekly
Payments (JD-CV-49)
2. A Military Affidavit (JD-CV-49)

Note: The military affidavit should be executed within 30 days of the entry of judgment to
avoid a judge finding it insufficient.

3. ABIll of Costs (JD-CV-49)
4. An Affidavit of Debt (JD-CV-52)

Section 17-25 (b)(1)(A) — (C) provides detailed information on what must be included in an
affidavit of debt and documents that may be needed. Be sure to review these sections to
ensure that you have provided all the necessary information and documentation. Note: Itis
helpful to include the per diem in the affidavit of debt.

5. Notice of Judgment and Order for Weekly Payments (JD-CV-50)

COMPLETION OF THE PROCESS (Section 17-28 of the Connecticut Practice Book):

6. Once the judgment has been entered, the court will send the notice and judgment to the
plaintiff who must serve a copy of the Judgment and Notice (JD-CV-50) on each
judgment debtor.

7. The completed certification of service of notice and judgment to all parties must be
returned to the court.

Note: No execution on the judgment may be obtained until 20 days after the clerk receives
one copy of the Judgment and Notice with a certification that a copy has been served on
each judgment debtor in accordance with P.B. Sections 10-12 — 10-14 of the Connecticut
Practice Book. (Section 17-28 of the Connecticut Practice Book)
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