PREJUDGMENT REMEDY (PJR) - Revised 07/01/2018

Prejudgment remedy to be issued after Hearing and Notice (Section 52-278c of the Connecticut General Statutes) – Documents Required

These documents cannot be filed electronically with the court. After these documents have been filed initially with (delivered to) the court and served on the defendant (s), they must be returned electronically as "Return Of Prejudgment Remedy As Served" and all pleadings, motions or documents filed after that time must be filed electronically according to the E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards.

- A. Notice of Application for Prejudgment Remedy/Claim for Hearing to Contest Application or Claim Exemption (JD-CV 53)
- B. Application for Prejudgment Remedy
- C. Affidavit by the plaintiff or another person who knows the facts personally containing a statement of facts that shows probable cause that a judgment in the amount of the prejudgment remedy sought, or in an amount greater than the amount of the prejudgment remedy being asked for after considering any known defenses, counterclaims or set-offs, will be decided in the matter for the plaintiff.
- D. Order for hearing and notice
- E. Summons for hearing

Note: See <u>Section 52-278c (b) of the Connecticut General Statutes</u> for forms of an Application, Order, and Summons.

- F. Proposed unsigned writ, summons, and complaint
- G. Proposed order granting relief, containing a description of the property as well as the appropriate standard of probable cause. (Although this proposed order is not required by statute, it is usually requested by the judge when the application is granted.)

Note: If replevin is sought (<u>Sections 52-515 et seq. of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>), the application must also contain an affidavit of value and a form of bond, pursuant to <u>Sections 52-518</u> and <u>52-519 of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>. If you are filing the original bond, you must include a self-addressed stamped envelope with the bond so that it will be returned to you. <u>E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards</u>

- **H.** The prejudgment remedy application fee is \$180 and the entry fee is \$360.
- I. Ex Parte Prejudgment remedy (<u>C.G.S. Section 52-278e of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>) Documents Required

These documents cannot be filed electronically with the court. When the case is an e-filable one, after these documents have been filed initially with (delivered to) the court and served on the defendant (s), they must be returned electronically as "Return Of Prejudgment Remedy As Served." All pleadings, motions or documents filed after that time must be filed electronically according to the <u>E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards</u>.

- A. Notice of Ex Parte Prejudgment Remedy/Claim for Hearing to Dissolve or Modify (form JD-CV 55)
- B. Application for Prejudgment Remedy

Note: See <u>Section 52-278c (b) of the Connecticut General Statutes</u> for the form of an Application, which can be modified for an ex parte PJR.

C. Affidavit by the plaintiff or another person who knows the facts personally containing a statement of facts that shows probable cause that a judgment in the amount of the

prejudgment remedy being asked for, or in an amount greater than the amount of the prejudgment remedy being asked for after considering any known defenses, counterclaims or set-offs, will be decided in the matter for the plaintiff AND to show that the defendant:

- has hidden or will hide himself or herself so that process cannot be served on him or her: or
- 2. is about to remove himself or herself or his or her property from this state; or
- 3. is about to fraudulently dispose of or has fraudulently disposed of any of his or her property with the intent to hinder, delay or defraud his or her creditors; or
- 4. has fraudulently hidden or withheld money, property or other items which should be liable to the satisfaction of his debts.
- D. Signed writ, summons, and complaint
- E. Proposed order granting ex parte relief (decided on the application of one party only), containing a description of the property and the correct standard of probable cause. (Although this proposed order is not statutorily required, it is usually requested by the judge when the application is granted.)

Note: If replevin is sought (<u>Sections 52-515 et seq. of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>), the application must also contain an affidavit of value and a form of bond, under <u>Sections 52-518</u> and <u>52-519 of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>. If you are filing the original bond, you must include a self-addressed stamped envelope with the bond so that it will be returned to you. <u>E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards</u>

- F. The PJR application fee is \$180. The entry fee is \$360.
- II. PJR When Defendant In Commercial Transaction Has Waived Notice And Hearing (<u>Section</u> 52-278f of the Connecticut General Statutes) Documents Required

Note: These documents must be served on the Defendant. After service on the Defendant, these documents must be returned <u>electronically</u> to the Court in accordance with the <u>E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards</u>.

- A. A Notice of Ex Parte Prejudgment Remedy/Claim for Hearing to Dissolve or Modify (form <u>JD-CV 55</u>) may be used to meet the requirement of notice in <u>Section 52-278f of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>.
- B. Signed complaint that includes a copy of the waiver
- C. Affidavit by the plaintiff or another person who know the facts personally containing a statement of facts that show probable cause that a judgment in the amount of the prejudgment remedy being asked for, or in an amount greater than the amount of the prejudgment remedy being asked for after considering any known defenses, counterclaims or set-offs, will be rendered in the matter for the plaintiff.

Note: If replevin is sought (<u>Sections 52-515 et seq. of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>), the application must also contain an affidavit of value and a form of bond, under <u>Sections 52-518</u> and <u>52-519 of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>. If you are filing the original bond, you must include a self-addressed stamped envelope with the bond so that it will be returned to you. <u>E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards</u>

D. There is no PJR application fee. The entry fee is \$360 and it must be paid when the case is returned to the court after service on the defendant.