## REPLEVIN ACTION - Revised 07/01/18

I. Replevin Action without a Prejudgment Remedy (<u>Sections 52-515 et seq. of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>) - Documents Required

Note: If this is a case type that is e-filable, it must be filed electronically according to the E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards

- A. Writ of Replevin
- B. Affidavit from the Plaintiff or another person who must state:
  - 1. the true and just value of the goods to be replevied, and that
  - 2. the Plaintiff is entitled to immediate possession of the goods
- C. Recognizance bond with at least one surety in an amount of at least double the sworn value of the property (See <u>Section 52-518 (2) of the Connecticut General Statutes</u>) or a cash bond in an amount of at least double the sworn value of the property

Note: When you file the original bond, be sure to include a self-addressed stamped envelope with the bond so that the original can be returned to you. <u>E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards</u>

**Note:** Consult <u>Section 52-519 of the Connecticut General Statutes</u> for the form of the writ, affidavit, and bond.

- D. The entry fee is \$360.
- II. Replevin Action with a Prejudgment Remedy (Section 52-516 of the Connecticut General Statutes) Documents Required

A replevin action that includes a prejudgment remedy cannot yet be filed electronically. After these documents have been filed initially with (delivered to) the court and served on the defendant (s), they must be returned electronically as "Return Of Prejudgment Remedy As Served." All pleadings, motions or documents filed after that time must be filed electronically according to the **E-Services Procedures and Technical Standards.** 

The following documents are required to be filed for an application for a prejudgment remedy to be issued after a hearing (Section 52-278c of the Connecticut General Statutes):

- A. Notice of Application for Prejudgment Remedy/Claim for Hearing to Contest Application or Claim Exemption (form JD-CV 53)
- B. Application for Prejudgment Remedy
- C. Affidavit by the plaintiff or another person who knows the facts personally containing a statement of facts that shows probable cause that a judgment in the amount of the prejudgment remedy being asked for, or in an amount greater than the amount of the prejudgment remedy being asked for after considering any known defenses, counterclaims or set-offs, will be decided in the matter for of the plaintiff.
- D. Order for hearing and notice
- E. Summons for hearing

Note: See <u>Section 52-278c (b) of the Connecticut General Statutes</u> for form of Application, Order, and Summons.

In addition, the Plaintiff must file:

- F. A proposed unsigned Writ of Replevin
- G. An affidavit from the Plaintiff or some other person who knows the facts personally stating:

- 1. the true and just value of the goods to be replevied, and that
- 2. the Plaintiff is entitled to immediate possession of the goods
- H. Proposed recognizance bond with at least one surety in an amount at least double the sworn value of the property (See <u>Section 52-518 (2) of the Connecticut General</u> <u>Statutes</u>) or a cash bond in an amount at least double the sworn value of the property
- I. The prejudgment remedy application fee is \$180. The entry fee is \$360.

Note: See <u>Section 52-519 of the Connecticut General Statutes</u> for the form of the writ, affidavit, and bond.