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Choosing a Date for the Return Day

The "return day" is the date that begins the countdown for things taking place in
your civil case. The date of the return day controls:

the day by which service of process (delivery of summons and com-
plaint to the defendant(s)) must be completed by the State Marshal.
It must be at least 12 days before the return day, (Connecticut Gen-
eral Statutes section 52-46);

the day by which the civil process (summons and complaint, with
the State Marshal's return of service) must be filed with the Clerk of
the Superior Court. It must be at least 6 days before the return day,
(Connecticut General Statutes section 52-46a); and

the day the defendant or defendants should file an appearance; the
defendant(s) should file an appearance with the Clerk of the Superi-
or Court no later than the 2nd day after the return day. (Connecticut
Practice Book section 3-2)

In civil actions, except for Eviction cases (summary process), the return day is
always a Tuesday. Any Tuesday in any month may be chosen as long as it is
not more than 2 months after the date that the summons is signed. (Connecticut
General Statutes section 52-48).

To choose a Date for the Return Day for Your Civil Action:

(See Other Side for worksheet)
Check a calendar for the date of the next Tuesday.

Count ahead to the 4th Tuesday from that day. The date of the 4th
Tuesday would be a reasonable return day for your action.

The Thursday date on the calendar which is 12 days before the
return day is the deadline for the State Marshal to deliver papers
(make service) on all defendants. You must deliver the papers to
the State Marshal as soon as possible after the Clerk signs them to
give the State Marshal enough time to deliver them.

After the State Marshal delivers the paper to the defendant(s), they
must be filed with the Clerk of the Superior Court, together with the
entry fee and the State Marshal’s proof that they were delivered, no
later than the Wednesday that is 6 days before the return day.
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SUNDAY MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNES- THURSDAY FRIDAY SATURDAY
DAY
CURRENT
WEEK
1
LAST DAY FOR
THE STATE
MARSHAL TO
DELIVER THE
2 PAPERS
LAST DAY TO
FILE PAPERS
WITH THE
COURT
CLERK
3
RETURN APPEARANCES
DAY FILED BY
TODAY
4

WORKSHEET

RETURN DAY WORKSHEET

The return day for my case is: (Tuesday)

The date by which the State
Marshal must make delivery is: (Thursday)

The date by which | must file the
original papers, the State Marshal’'s
proof of delivery (return), and the

entry fee in the Clerk's Office is: (Wednesday)

The date by which the defendant(s)
should file an appearance with the
Clerk's Office is: (Thursday)

For more information, visit us online at:
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