Accelerated Rehabilitation



The Accelerated Pretrial Rehabilitation Program (AR) is available to defendants and veterans who are charged with certain crimes or motor vehicle violations if the court believes that those defendants will probably not commit more crimes in the future. Defendants can ask for AR, or it may be recommended by the prosecutor. Defendants who want to take part in AR must meet the eligibility requirements in General Statutes § 54-56e and must submit an application to the court.

When a defendant applies for AR, the court file is sealed. If there are any victims of the crime with which the defendant is charged, the court will require the defendant to send the victims a certain court form that tells the victims that the defendant is applying for AR. Before the court will decide if the defendant can take part in AR, any victims will have a chance to give the court their opinion about whether the defendant should be allowed to take part in AR. The Court Support Services Division (CSSD) will also conduct an investigation to find out if the defendant is eligible for AR.

If the court grants the defendant's application, it will decide what conditions the defendant must follow to take part in AR. These conditions may include things like doing community service, paying restitution, taking part in a hate crimes diversion program, getting psychiatric or psychological counseling, getting alcohol and/or drug treatment, or taking part in an animal cruelty prevention and education program. Defendants taking part in AR must also agree to the tolling of the statute of limitations (to give the state more time to prosecute the case if the defendant does not successfully finish the program) and to waive (give up) the right to a speedy trial. If the defendant agrees to the conditions, the defendant will enter AR and be released to the supervision of CSSD for up to 2 years. CSSD will keep track of the defendant's progress during that time to make sure that the defendant is following the court's orders.

If the defendant follows all of the court's conditions and finishes the AR program successfully, the court will dismiss the charges against the defendant.

Any defendants who want to apply for AR must pay an application fee of \$35. If the court grants the defendant's application, the defendant will have to pay a program fee of \$100 or \$425 if the court orders the defendant to take part in a hate crimes program as a condition of AR. The court may decide that a defendant does not have to pay those fees, though, if it finds that the defendant is unable to pay or is indigent or that the defendant is or is eligible to be represented by a Public Defender.



The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact your Probation Officer or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.

© 2021, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch. Copyright claimed in info sheet, exclusive of image supplied by [126236054]/Thinkstock. The image may be downloadable only for personal use. Republication, retransmission, reproduction, or other use of the image is strictly prohibited.