Family Violence Education Program



The Pretrial Family Violence Education Program (FVEP) is available for defendants who are charged with certain family violence crimes. The FVEP gives eligible defendants the chance to attend programs that provide education about family violence instead of going to trial. Family violence generally means an incident that results in physical harm to, or an act of threatened violence between, family or household members. Family violence crimes are defined in General Statutes § 46b-38a.

Any defendant who wants to take part in the FVEP must meet the eligibility requirements in General Statutes § 46b-38c (h) and (i) and submit an application to the court. When a defendant applies for this program, the court will tell the victims of the crime that the defendant has applied for the FVEP. If possible, before the court will decide if the defendant will be allowed to take part in this program, it will give any victims a chance to give the court their opinion about whether the defendant should be allowed to take part in the FVEP.

If the court grants the defendant's application for the FVEP, it will decide what conditions the defendant must follow to take part in that program. Defendants

taking part in the FVEP must accept these conditions and must also agree to the tolling of the statute of limitations (to give the state more time to prosecute the case if the defendant does not successfully finish the program) and to waive (give up) the right to a speedy trial.

If the defendant agrees to these conditions, the defendant will enter the FVEP and be released to the custody of the family violence intervention unit of the Court Support Services Division (CSSD). The family violence intervention unit of CSSD will keep track of the defendant for up to 2 years to make sure that the defendant is following the conditions set by the court. If the defendant finishes the FVEP successfully, the court will dismiss the charges against the defendant.

Any defendant who wants to apply for the FVEP must pay a nonrefundable application fee of \$100 and a nonrefundable program fee of \$300. The court may decide that the defendant does not have to pay those fees, though, if it finds that the defendant is unable to pay or is indigent or if the defendant is or is eligible to be represented by a Public Defender.



The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact your Probation Officer or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.qov/ADA/.

© 2021, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch. Copyright claimed in info sheet, exclusive of image supplied by [126236054]/Thinkstock. The image may be downloadable only for personal use. Republication, retransmission, reproduction, or other use of the image is strictly prohibited.

JDP-CR-137H (Rev. 10/21) www.jud.ct.gov