Community Service Labor Program



The Community Service Labor Program (CSLP) is available to certain defendants who have been convicted of violating the drug possession or drug paraphernalia laws under section 21a-267 or 21a-279 of the Connecticut General Statutes. This program allows an eligible defendant to be placed on probation or conditional discharge and do community service instead of going to jail.

Any defendant who wants to take part in the CSLP must meet the eligibility requirements in section 53a-39c of the Connecticut General Statutes and must submit an application to the court. The Court Support Services Division will also do an investigation to figure out whether the defendant is eligible for the CSLP. If the court grants the defendant's application, it will allow the defendant to plead guilty, and the court will convict the defendant of the crime. Then, the court will suspend any sentence of imprisonment that was part of the plea agreement, and make taking part in the CSLP a condition of probation or conditional discharge. A defendant taking part in the CSLP will have to do 30 days of community service.

Any defendant who wants to apply for the CSLP must pay a participation fee is \$205. The court may decide that a defendant does not have to pay this fee, though, if it finds that the defendant is unable to pay or is indigent.



The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact your Probation Officer or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.

© 2014, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch. Copyright claimed in info sheet, exclusive of image supplied by [126236054]/Thinkstock. The image may be downloadable only for personal use. Republication, retransmission, reproduction, or other use of the image is strictly prohibited.