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DISCLAIMER
(the reasons for this booklet and how it can and cannot help you)

This booklet was written by the Connecticut Judicial Branch based on 
the Connecticut General Statutes and Superior Court rules of practice 
in effect at the time the booklet was written. This booklet is provided 
as a public service and does not take the place of legal advice from a 
Connecticut attorney.

People who work for the court will help you with questions you have 
about how Small Claims Court works. Those people cannot act as your 
attorney or give you legal advice. You are responsible for any actions you 
take. The court clerk’s office is not responsible for anything that is wrong 
in this booklet or that is not in this booklet. If you think you need more 
information or help, you should talk with an attorney or read the sections 
of the Connecticut General Statutes and the Connecticut Practice Book 
that talk about Small Claims.

This booklet has information in it that should help people 
who start a small claims case or who are sued in small 
claims court. Many questions about this booklet and 
about the small claims process may be answered by the 
people who work in the court. You can get forms about 
the small claims process on-line at www.jud.ct.gov or at 
any clerk’s office or court service center.
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INTRODUCTION
(answers to basic questions)

What is “Small Claims Court”?
•  The “Small Claims Court” is a part of Connecticut’s court system 

where a person may sue for up to $5,000.00 in money damages only. 
This amount is set by state law and may change from time to time. To 
find out the current amount, you may contact any court clerk’s office. 
You may find contact information for clerk’s offices in Sections  
7 through 9 of this booklet.

•   While you may only sue for $5,000.00 or less, there are situations 
when you may be awarded an amount greater than $5,000.00. 
Specifically, you may be awarded fees and costs for your case in 
addition to the amount you have sued for. You may also be awarded 
an amount greater than $5,000.00 if you are suing for the return of a 
security deposit held by your landlord and you ask the court to double 
the damages in your case. For more information on how to request 
fees and costs or double damages in a security deposit case, review the 
Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-40).

•   The Small Claims Court does not hear libel and slander cases.

•   Most small claims cases are heard and ruled on by magistrates.

•   Small claims cases are not recorded, so there is no transcript of  
the proceedings.

•   Information about specific small claims cases can be found at:  
https://jud.ct.gov/jud2.htm. That information may be searched by 
party name, docket number, court calendar, attorney case list, attorney 
calendar, and attorney search.

•   If you lose your small claims case and you are ordered to pay money 
to the other person in the case (plaintiff or defendant), your ability 
to get credit may change. Small claims judgments (decisions) are 
public information and could show up on your credit report. The laws 
that control Consumer Credit Reports are in Section 36a-695 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes and the sections that follow that section 
of the statutes. If you need paperwork from the court file to clarify with 
or to ask the Consumer Credit Reporting Agency for a change to an 
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item on your credit report, you may get copies from the court file in 
your case. $1.00 per page is charged by the court clerk for most copies.

•   If you have a complaint about a Consumer Credit Reporting Agency 
you may complain to the Connecticut Banking Department, Consumer 
Credit Division, 260 Constitution Plaza, Hartford, CT 06103-1800.

•   There is no appeal from small claims judgments.

NOTE: By law, you must start your case within a certain amount of 
time. If you wait too long to start your case, you may lose your case. 
Please look at Chapter 926 of the Connecticut General Statutes for 
information.

How is the Small Claims session di�erent from other 
court sessions?
The Small Claims session of the Superior Court has simpler rules than 
the regular civil session of that court. Small Claims forms are designed 
to be understood without legal training. The rules and forms are designed 
to allow the person or company suing (the plaintiff) to sue a person or 
company (the defendant) without the help of an attorney. Those rules and 
forms do not cover all situations. 

You may file a small claims lawsuit against a person who lives out of 
state only if that person owns property in the state of Connecticut. A 
statement that the out-of-state person owns property must be included in 
the claim. You may also file a small claims lawsuit against out-of-state 
businesses, corporations and limited liability companies (LLCs).

Do I need to hire an attorney?
No. Attorneys may represent you in small claims court, but every part of 
the Small Claims Court has been designed so a person can handle his or 
her own case from the start of the case to the end of the case. 

Therefore, if you are an individual, you may represent yourself. Also, in 
small claims, certain members of a business may represent the business 
in court, even if they are not an attorney. Review Section 24-6 of the 
Connecticut Practice Book for more information.
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If you are representing yourself in your case, you must show the court all 
your proof. The court and the clerk’s office will help you with the various 
steps in the case (the court process), but they can only help with the 
process. They cannot give you legal advice.

Section 1
THE PLAINTIFF’S CASE
(person who starts the case)

How do I start a small claims case (lawsuit)?
Under the Small Claims Rules of Practice in the Connecticut Practice 
Book, the person who files the case (the plaintiff) must serve (deliver 
– by an approved method) the lawsuit to each person they are suing 
(defendant) by 1 of the following 4 ways:

•   priority mail with delivery confirmation;

•   certified mail, return receipt requested;

•   a nationally recognized courier service, with delivery confirmation, or;

•   service (delivery – by an approved method) by a proper officer (for 
example, a state marshal).

Service (delivery) by a proper officer is required when the defendant 
is an out-of-state business (a business organized under the laws of a 
state other than Connecticut). There are also special service (delivery) 
requirements when the plaintiff sues an out-of-state insurance company.  
See How to Serve (Deliver to Defendant) a Small Claims Writ and Notice 
of Suit (Form JD-CV-122) in Section 12 of this booklet. The plaintiff 
must pay the cost of service but can get the cost back from the defendant 
if the plaintiff wins the small claims case and is able to collect the money 
awarded in the judgment from the defendant. 

The statute of limitations is a time limit on how long a plaintiff has to 
start a case. If the claim is a debt or obligation incurred primarily for 
personal, family or household purposes, the plaintiff will need to give the 
reasons why the plaintiff believes that the statute of limitations time limit 
has not run out. For more information, see ch 926 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes.
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The plaintiff must also show how he or she knows that the address given 
for each defendant is accurate and how the address was checked within 
the 6 months before starting the lawsuit. The following documents must 
be completed first.

1.  Complete the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (Form JD-CV-40) 
form. The form should be typed or printed neatly so it can be read. Please 
remember that the form is a legal document. The clerk’s office will not 
accept your case if any copies of the form cannot be read. The name of 
the person or business you are suing (the defendant) must be its exact, 
correct legal name. If you make a mistake and put the wrong name on the 
form, you may not get your money. You may not use initials, nicknames, 
or abbreviations of any person or business you are suing. For example, 
“Richard Jones” cannot be sued as “R. Jones” or “Dick Jones.” If you 
leave out any part of any name on the form, you may not get your money. 
(See the sample Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-40 
in Section 11 of this booklet.)

On the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, there are numbered 
Instructions to Plaintiff to help you fill out each part of the form. Forms 
that are not complete and forms that cannot be read will be returned to 
you for you to complete or correct and those forms will have to be served 
again by you. You will have to pay the costs to have the form delivered 
again. If you win the small claims case, a magistrate will decide if you 
can be awarded the costs for the additional delivery.

If there are two or more people who start the case (the plaintiffs) or two 
or more people who are sued (the defendants) in your case, check the box 
under Defendants 1 and 2 and list the additional plaintiffs or defendants 
on the Continuation of Parties (form JD-CV-67).  

2.  If your claim is against a business, you must find out if that business 
is a DBA (person “doing business as” a company, also known as 
a“trade name”), a corporation, a limited liability company (LLC), or a 
partnership. To find out if the business is incorporated and who the legal 
documents for the case can be delivered to (served on), call the Secretary 
of the State, Commercial Recording Corporation Information, 30 Trinity 
Street, Hartford, CT 06106 at (860) 509-6002 or go to the Secretary of 
State’s website at: www.sots.ct.gov (Commercial Recording Division).  
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Information about DBAs can be found at the office of the town clerk 
where the party is doing business. 

If the business is an out-of-state business (a business that is not 
organized under Connecticut laws), the original Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit must be served by a proper officer. Information about the 
business and its agent for service will be required by the officer you hire 
to deliver the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit. If the claim is against 
an in-state business (a business that is organized under Connecticut 
laws), you may serve that business by any of the 4 ways that are allowed 
for serving the claim (see above).

3.  Attach copies of any documents or papers about your case to the 
Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, for example, leases, statements, 
invoices, and bills. Keep the originals; you may bring them to your 
hearing.

4.  You must sign and notarize the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 
before serving it. Your signature must be notarized. You must sign the 
claim in front of the person who is notarizing it. You must also print your 
name clearly and your title, if you have a title, in the box provided. Your 
oath must be taken at the time you sign the claim and the person who 
took your oath (the Clerk, a Notary, or a Commissioner of the Superior 
Court) must also sign. Attorneys are Commissioners of the Superior 
Court. Remember to keep copies of all documents and papers  
for yourself.

5.  You must serve or have a proper officer serve a copy of the completed 
original Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit on each defendant along 
with the Instructions to Defendant (Notice to Person Being Sued) (form 
JD-CV-121) before filing it with the court. See How to Serve a Small 
Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-122) for instructions. 
Samples of all forms are in Section 11. A copy of all papers that you 
are going to file with the court, including all attachments to the original 
Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, must be served. After service is 
completed, file the original papers and a Statement of Service (form  
JD-CV-123) for each defendant with the court. Keep a copy of all 
papers for your records.  
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You must also give the entry fee to the clerk’s office. See Section 10 of 
this booklet for a list of court fees in Small Claims cases. The entry fee 
will be added to the amount of your judgment against the defendant if 
you win. Do not add the entry fee to the amount you are suing for.

What happens after I �le (start) the claim?
After you file your case, the clerk will pick a date the defendant has to 
answer your claim by. That date is called the “answer date.” The clerk 
will mail a number assigned to the case called a docket number and the 
answer date to all the plaintiffs or their representatives. The clerk will 
send an answer form that includes the docket number of the case and  
the answer date to each defendant at the address given to the clerk by  
the plaintiff.

Do not come to court on the answer date.

Where do I �le (start) the Small Claims Case?
Small Claims cases may be mailed or hand delivered to the proper local 
court which can be found by looking at Section 7 or 8 of this booklet 
for all cases except landlord-tenant matters. For landlord-tenant matters, 
look at Section 9 of this booklet.

If the plaintiff is a person and not a business and the case does not 
involve a landlord-tenant matter, the place where the hearing (trial) will 
take place (venue), if a hearing is necessary, will be a court in one of 
the following places: (1) where you live; (2) where the party you are 
suing (the defendant) lives or does business; or (3) where the thing or 
injury you are suing about took place. If the claim is a landlord-tenant 
matter, the trial will be in the court location where the house or apartment 
(premises) is located.

If the plaintiff is a corporation organized under Connecticut laws, a 
United States corporation, a foreign corporation (organized under the 
laws of another state) or a limited liability company, the place where 
the hearing will take place (venue), if a hearing is necessary, will be  
in the court which serves the town in which the defendant lives or is 
doing business or where the thing or injury the plaintiff is suing about 
took place.
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Reminder: You cannot sue a person in Small Claims Court if 
that person does not live in Connecticut unless that person owns 
property in Connecticut. You must say in the Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit that the person you are suing owns property  
in Connecticut. 

What happens if the defendant �les an answer?
1.  Each defendant must send a copy of his or her answer to each attorney 
or other representative of the plaintiff, or if the plaintiff is representing 
himself or herself, to the plaintiff.

•   If a defendant does not agree with (denies) the claim, a trial will be set 
up and you will be notified by mail of the time and date of the trial.

•   If a defendant agrees with (admits) the claim and offers to pay you 
a certain amount of money for a certain period of time, you may 
agree to the defendant’s offer of payment. The case will be given to 
a magistrate who will review the case and may enter an agreed on 
(stipulated) judgment.

•   If the defendant admits the claim but desires time in which to pay, 
he or she may state that fact in the answer, with reasons to support 
this request, on or before the time set for answering, and may suggest 
a method of payment which he or she can afford. The request for 
a proposed method of payment shall be considered by the judicial 
authority in determining whether there shall be a stay of execution to 
permit deferred payment or an order of payment. The judicial authority 
in its discretion may require that a hearing be held concerning  
such request.

•   If you do not agree to any part of the defendant’s offer of payment, a 
trial may be scheduled.

2.  If the defendant files an answer and a counterclaim or setoff (a claim 
that the defendant makes against you or a claim by the defendant that 
your claim should be reduced in some way), the clerk’s office will send 
you a form on which you can reply to the counterclaim or setoff.  You 
should send the completed form back to the clerk’s office on or before 
the counterclaim/setoff answer date on the form.



8

Because of the filing of a counterclaim or setoff, you may file a motion to 
transfer the case to the regular docket of the Superior Court on or before 
the counterclaim/setoff answer date if you choose. (See page 12 for 
more details on the transfer of cases to the regular docket.)

What happens if the defendant does not �le an 
answer?
If your claim is against a person, you must say, under oath, whether the 
person is or is not in the military or naval service and how you know 
that. You will not be able to get a judgment against a defendant who has 
not answered unless you file an affidavit (a paper signed under oath) 
with the court that states facts showing that the defendant is not in the 
military or naval service. You can find out if the person you are suing is 
in the military or naval service from the Defense Manpower Data Center 
(see mailing address on this page) or by using the following website if 
you have the first and last name of the person and one of the following: 
the person’s date of birth or the person’s social security number. The 
web address is: https://scru.dmdc.osd.mil, and must be typed exactly, 
including the “s” after the http. There is no fee for using this service.  
The statement provided by the website must be attached to an affidavit 
stating that the defendant is not in the military or naval service. If you 
cannot access this website, you may contact the Defense Manpower Data 
Center at 1-800-538-9552.

If you cannot find out if the person is in the military or naval service, you 
must inform the court, and describe your efforts to find out.  You will not 
be able to get a judgment until you tell the court if the person is or is not 
in the service or until you post (give) a bond (an amount of money or 
a legal document promising to pay an amount of money) to protect the 
legal rights of the person you sued if that person is in the service.  The 
amount of time the bond is kept depends on the kind of judgment that is 
entered. 
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If you do not know the date of birth and social security number of the 
person you are suing, you must find out the military status of that person 
by asking a person who knows the person you are suing well to complete 
an affidavit (written statement under oath), or by giving the place of the 
defendant’s full time employment in an affidavit. For the affidavit, you 
can use court form JD-FM-178, Affidavit Concerning Military Service, 
(form JD-FM-178) which you can get on the Judicial Branch website at: 
http://www.jud.ct.gov/webforms/forms/fm178.pdf, or at the clerk’s office 
or court service center. 

If you say under oath that you cannot determine if the person is in the 
military or naval service, you may not be able to get a judgment. 

Based on the kind of case you have, if the defendant does not file an 
answer the court may enter a judgment against the defendant (called a 
“default judgment”) for the full amount of your claim plus costs, or the 
court may schedule the matter for a trial to decide how much is owed  
to you.

The clerk’s office will notify you if you must come to court to prove your 
claim. Whether or not you have to come to court is made on a case-by-
case determination.

If the party you are suing pays you all the money you claim is owed 
before the court enters judgment, you should end the case (withdraw the 
action) by filing a Withdrawal (JD-CV-70) form with the clerk. You can 
get the Withdrawal form from the following website: www.jud.ct.gov/
webforms/forms/cv070.pdf.

Be sure that you have actually gotten payment (for example, the check 
has cleared) before you withdraw the case. You can mail the Withdrawal 
form to the court where your case is pending. Make sure you include on 
the Withdrawal form the docket number of your case, the answer date or 
hearing date and the names of the parties. Fill out the certification at the 
bottom of the Withdrawal form and send a copy of it to the defendant.
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Section 2
THE DEFENDANT’S CASE
(person being sued)

How do I answer the claim?
1.  If you want to respond to the claim of the person who is suing you 
(the plaintiff), you must file an Answer. You will get an Answer form 
from the court shortly after the Small Claims case has been served on 
(delivered to) you by the plaintiff and the plaintiff has filed the case 
with the court. You should complete the Answer form and return it to 
the court. You must send a copy of the Answer to each attorney or other 
representative of the plaintiff, or if the plaintiff is representing himself or 
herself, to the plaintiff and certify on the Answer form that you have done 
so. 

If you do not agree with the plaintiff’s claim, you should explain why 
you do not owe the money. Your answer does not have to be long because 
you will have a chance to explain your case at the trial. If you attach any 
papers as part of your answer, you must send a copy of all of the papers 
to the plaintiff(s).

2.  If you think that the plaintiff owes you money, you may file a 
“counterclaim” against the plaintiff. If you file a counterclaim, you must 
pay a filing fee of $95.00 to the clerk’s office. The filing fee will be 
added to the amount of your judgment against the plaintiff if you win. Do 
not add the filing fee to the amount you claim the plaintiff owes you.

Be clear about the amount of money you are claiming and the reasons 
for your counterclaim. If the amount of the counterclaim is more than the 
amount that can be sued for in small claims, see Transfer of Cases to 
the Regular Docket on page 12 for more information on moving your 
case to the regular Superior Court.
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3.  The answer must be in writing and must be given to the court on or 
before the Answer Date.

4.  Even if you think you owe the plaintiff some money, but you disagree 
with or are unsure about the amount that you owe, you should file an 
answer. Filing an answer will give you a chance to come to court for a 
trial so that a magistrate can decide the amount you owe the plaintiff.

5.  If you are sure that you owe the plaintiff the entire amount claimed 
but you want time to pay, you should file an answer telling the reasons 
why you need more time to pay. You may suggest a payment amount 
and schedule for such payments (a period of time for you to make the 
payments.)  If the plaintiff does not accept your request, you may have to 
come to court for a trial on your request for additional time to pay.

SPECIAL NOTE: Do not send payments to the court.

Will I have my hearing (trial) on the answer date?
No. Do not come to court for trial on the answer date. You will be told 
the date and time of your hearing (trial) by mail.

What happens if I do not �le an answer?
If you do not file an answer, the court may enter a judgment against you 
(called a “default judgment”) for the full amount of the plaintiff’s claim 
plus costs, or the court may schedule the matter for a trial to decide how 
much you owe (a “hearing in damages”).

If you do not file an answer by the answer date, the court may determine 
that (1) you do not want to argue about the reasons why the plaintiff 
claims you owe the money and (2) you do not want to argue about the 
amount of money that the plaintiff claims you owe. The court may then 
enter a default judgment against you.
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Section 3
TRANSFER OF CASES TO THE REGULAR DOCKET 
(Moving small claims cases from Small Claims Court to the regular 
Superior Court)

A case filed in Small Claims Court (on a small claims docket) may be 
moved (transferred) to the regular docket of the Superior Court or to the 
regular docket of the Housing Court.

One reason a case may be moved is because the defendant, or the 
plaintiff in a case where the defendant has filed a counterclaim, wants 
the case transferred.  If that is the reason, the person who wants the case 
moved must file a motion to transfer the case to the regular docket on or 
before the answer date with a certification that the motion was delivered 
to every party involved in the action. 

Another reason a case may be moved is because the court grants a 
motion to open judgment claiming a lack of actual notice of the case. 
If this happens, the motion to transfer, all appended documents, and 
the proper fee must be filed within 15 days after the notice granting the 
motion to open was sent.

The motion to transfer must be filed with (1) a counterclaim in an amount 
that is more  than the amount that can be asked for in small claims court, 
(2) an affidavit (sworn statement) saying that a good defense exists to the 
claim and giving clearly the type of defense, or (3) an affidavit saying 
that the case has been correctly claimed for trial by jury. If the court finds 
that one of these conditions applies, the motion to transfer the case to the 
regular docket may be granted without the need for a court hearing.

The party who has filed the motion to transfer the case to the regular 
docket must pay all required fees at the time the motion to transfer is 
filed, including any jury fees if a claim for a jury trial is filed. Currently, 
the fee for a motion to transfer is $125.00 and the jury fee is $440.00. 
These amounts can change. Contact any clerk’s office for the amounts or 
check “Fees” on the Judicial Branch website at www.jud.ct.gov.
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Section 4
WHAT TO DO WHILE YOU ARE WAITING FOR A HEARING 
(TRIAL) DATE
Get all of your papers and other documents ready.

The most important thing to do before the trial date is to collect and 
organize all papers that have to do with your claim. Those papers may 
include invoices, letters, statements of account, estimates of damage, 
paid bills, leases, canceled checks, and any other records. Be sure to 
bring them with you when you come to court.  You should bring an extra 
set of copies to the trial.

Figure out who your witnesses will be and if they will come to court 
on their own or if they will have to be ordered to come to court.
Sometimes a friend, relative or neighbor saw what happened. You should 
bring this person to court with you. If the person is not willing to come to 
court, you may ask the clerk of the Small Claims Court for a Subpoena 
form (JD-CL-43) (order to come to court). (See sample Subpoena form 
in Section 11.)

You must fill out the form and give it to the clerk. The clerk will review 
the Subpoena and, if appropriate, sign it. It may not be possible for you 
to make a witness who does not live in Connecticut come to the trial. You 
must have the Subpoena delivered by a proper officer at least 18 hours 
before the hearing date. (There is a charge for this delivery which you 
will have to pay the proper officer.) Sworn statements (affidavits) may 
not be filed with the magistrate instead of the testimony of a witness;  
if you file such an affidavit, the magistrate may not use it to decide  
your case.

Make an outline of the facts of your case.
Write down the facts of your case for your own use. It is important to 
remember that the magistrate or other person hearing the case (judicial 
authority) was not there when the thing you sued the defendant for 
happened. Because of that, the magistrate’s view of the matter can only 
be based on what is said and what is brought to the trial. You should 
organize the facts of the case, and you should not give opinions to  
the magistrate.
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Determine if you will need an interpreter at the hearing.
Persons who have limited English proficiency may request an interpreter 
be present at the hearing. If you would like an interpreter, contact the 
clerks office as soon as possible.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
If you require an accommodation based on a disability covered by the 
ADA, you should contact the court as soon as possible. You should give 
a minimum of ten (10) days’ notice, if possible. In emergency situations, 
the ten-day requirement can be waived, but you should make your 
request as soon as you know that you may need an accommodation. 
A request can be made in any court clerk’s office, court service center, 
over the telephone, or by email. For more information on how to request 
and accommodation and who to contact, please visit jud.ct.gov/ADA or 
contact the clerk’s office where your case will be heard.

What if I need the date of my trial changed to  
another day?
If it is impossible for you to come to court on the day your case has been 
scheduled, you should first call the other party or that party’s attorney 
and tell that person why you want the trial on another day. Moving the 
date of a trial or hearing is called a “continuance.”

1.  If the person you called agrees to have the case continued, you must 
send or fax a written Motion for Continuance to the court where your 
case is pending.

2.  If the other party does not agree to a continuance of the case you may 
still send or fax a written Motion for Continuance (form JD-CV-21) to 
the court where your case is pending.

3.  The Motion for Continuance must include the reason for the 
continuance, when the notice to the other party was given, how notice 
was given and whether or not the party agreed to the continuance.
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4.  You must send copies of the Motion for Continuance to all other 
parties in the case.

5.  Oral Motions for Continuance requests that are not put in writing are 
only permitted in special circumstances. 

6.  Motions for Continuance made before the trial date will be decided by 
the clerk. Motions for Continuance made on the day of the trial will be 
decided by the magistrate. If the request is granted, the clerk will pick a 
new date for the trial and notify all the parties in the case.

Section 5 
THE HEARING (TRIAL) PROCESS
(how the trial works)

What do I do on the day of the hearing (trial)?
1.  On the day of the hearing (trial), you should be at the courthouse 
before the time the trial starts. You should find out what courtroom small 
claims cases will be heard in, and you should go to that courtroom.

2.  When your name is called, tell the court that you are ready.

3.  Your case will be given to a magistrate who will swear in all the 
witnesses (require that they promise to tell the truth). A magistrate is 
an attorney who hears and decides small claims cases. Also, at some 
locations, some attorneys have volunteered to act as “Commissioners” 
(hearing officers) to help the court by hearing and deciding small claims 
cases. These attorneys (Commissioners) have been approved by the court 
and, if both parties agree, the case may be decided by these attorneys.

4.  The court may ask you to give your documents to the other party and 
the other party to give you their documents before the court hearing. You 
should bring an extra set of copies to the hearing.

5.  All parties in the case will be able to tell the court about their case and 
will be able to ask the other party’s witnesses questions.
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How long will I be in court and when will I know the 
court’s decision?
This depends on the number of hearings heard by the court on the day of 
your hearing.

Hearings are scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. on the day 
scheduled for small claims at that location.

You should plan to be in court for 1 to 4 hours.

Unless the court tells you the decision at your trial, the decision will be 
written down and mailed to you. The magistrate has up to 45 days to rule 
on a case.

Can I appeal if I lose the case?
No. The decisions and judgments of the Small Claims Court are final and 
may not be appealed to a higher court.

See page 12 for more information about transferring a case to  
the regular docket if you want to keep your right to appeal to a 
higher court.

What can I do if a default judgment enters against 
me or if I �nd new evidence that I did not have for 
the trial?
If there is a default judgment against you, you may file a Motion to 
Open judgment. There is a fee for filing this motion. As of the date of the 
printing of this booklet, the fee to file a Motion to Open (form JD-CV-51) 
was $75.00.  You may contact the clerk’s office to find out what the  
fee is or you may check “Fees” on the Judicial Branch website at  
www.jud.ct.gov. You may get the form for filing a Motion to Open 
judgment from the clerk’s office, the court service center, or the judicial 
branch website at www.jud.ct.gov under “Forms.” A Motion to Open 
the judgment may be filed at any time after the date of judgment if you 
are claiming you did not get actual notice of the case or within 4 months 
of the date of the judgment for any other reason. The court may also 
open any judgment decided after you were defaulted at any time within 
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4 months after the date that an execution was made (legal order giving 
a state marshal or other proper officer the right to take defendant’s 
property). See the next section – Collecting the Judgment.

Section 6
COLLECTING THE JUDGMENT 
(how do you get the money you are owed if you win the case)

A judgment in small claims is good for 10 years. However, you may start 
a lawsuit based on the judgment within 15 years after the date of the 
original judgment.

The court cannot collect the money for you. The court hears the case, 
makes the decision, and gives you permission to collect the money you 
are owed.

If a judgment is made against a person, the court may order that person 
to make periodic (usually weekly) payments to the person who won 
the case. When this booklet was printed, the minimum weekly order of 
payments was $35.00. This amount can change. The Notice of Judgment 
form will tell you how much is to be paid to you each payment period 
and when the payments are to start. If you feel that the other party is able 
to make higher payments and you have evidence of his or her wages, you 
may ask the court for an increase in the amount of the periodic payments. 
If you are planning on asking for a wage execution (see page 18), you 
must first have an order from the court for periodic payments.

If a judgment is made against a business or a landlord, the court will 
enter judgment for the full amount. No order of periodic payments will 
be made.

What if the person who lost the case and was 
ordered to pay money cannot pay the periodic 
payment ordered by the court?
The losing party ordered to pay money is called the judgment debtor.  
If the judgment debtor cannot pay the periodic payment ordered by the 
court, that person may ask the court to reduce the amount. The judgment 
debtor will be required to prove his or her financial situation to the court 
before the amount will be reduced.
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How do I collect my judgment if payment is not  
made voluntarily (person who is ordered to pay  
does not pay)?
If payment is not made as ordered by the court, there are several ways 
to collect your judgment. One way is to get an execution (legal hold 
so that the owner cannot sell or use property) to attach wages, personal 
property, or accounts at financial institutions (savings accounts, checking 
accounts and others). You must have an order for periodic payments on 
the judgment before you can get a wage execution. If you did not get an 
order for periodic payments before, you may file a motion for an order 
for periodic payments. If the judgment debtor does not make the periodic 
payments that were ordered, you may ask for a wage execution.

No execution will be issued if the court has issued a stay of execution. 
No wage execution will be issued if the judgment debtor is making 
periodic payments required by the court.

1.  A wage execution can be given to you and used against a person who 
has a job if that person is not self-employed. You must find out if the 
debtor has a job and, if the debtor has a job, you must find out where he 
or she works. The court cannot find this out for you.

2.  A property execution attaches the personal property, not real 
property (such as real estate), to pay the judgment. You must find out 
where the property is. The court  cannot find this out for you.

3.  Financial Institution executions attach certain accounts at financial 
institutions (for example, banks). You must find out where the account is 
located. The court cannot find this out for you.

You must pay a fee if you want to apply for an execution.  See Section 10 
of this booklet for a list of fees payable in small claims cases. 

How to get an execution (order to hold and turn 
over property of person who owes judgment):
(a)  To file an application for an execution, you will need all the 
information on the Notice of Judgment form. And you will need a 
correct record of payments made (if any) by the debtor to you up until 
the time you apply for the execution.
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(b)  You can get applications for executions online at: www.jud.ct.gov/
webforms/ or at clerk’s offices and court service centers.

(c)  Once an execution is reviewed and signed by the clerk and given back 
to you, you must hire a state marshal or other proper officer to deliver 
(serve) the execution on the debtor. (A list of state marshals is on the 
Judicial Branch website at: www.jud.ct.gov/faq/marshals.htm. The list 
may also be viewed at any clerk’s office or court service center.) You 
must give the officer the information he or she will need to be able to 
get the money that you are owed by the debtor. That information should 
include the debtor’s current address, bank, or employer. 

Samples of Wage, Financial Institution and Property executions are in 
Section 12 at the end of this booklet.

Can I collect the costs I spent to get the judgment 
and can I collect interest on the judgment from the 
time the judgment was decided?
Yes. Under the Connecticut General Statutes, the judgment creditor (the 
person who won the case) may collect all costs and statutory fees paid in 
getting the judgment. If the court orders it, interest on the judgment from 
the time the judgment was decided (postjudgment interest) may also be 
collected at a rate of interest decided by the court.

If postjudgment interest is ordered by the court, it continues to add up 
and increase the amount owed until the debt is paid in full.

If an execution is issued and delivered, and if the court ordered it, the 
amount of postjudgment interest that can be collected will be figured out 
by the officer who delivered the execution.

Satisfaction of the Judgment (payment of the  
full amount)
If the full amount of the judgment is paid to the judgment creditor, he 
or she must file a written Notice of Satisfaction (payment in full) with 
the clerk of the court within 90 days.  The magistrate may, if a motion is 
filed, decide that the judgment has been satisfied (paid).
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Examination (Asking questions) of Judgment 
Debtor
If an execution has been given back to the court and has not been paid in 
full or if post-judgment interrogatories (questions asked of the judgment 
debtor after judgment) are not answered within 30 days, you may ask the 
court to issue a Petition for Examination of Judgment Debtor (form JD-
CV-54) and a subpoena, requiring the judgment debtor to come to court. 
This will give you a chance to ask the judgment debtor questions under 
oath about the judgment debtor’s property, assets or financial institution 
accounts. If you do not know what to ask the judgment debtor, you 
may want to look at the list of questions in the Postjudgment Remedies 
Interrogatories in Section 11 of this booklet for help. You may get  
the Petition for Examination of Judgment Debtor at the clerk’s  
office, at a court service center, or on the Judicial Branch website at 
www.jud.ct.gov/webforms/. (See sample at the end of this booklet  
in Section 11.)

REMINDER
You do not need an attorney in the Small Claims session but you have to 
follow the proper procedures.

If you are the plaintiff (person who started the case):
Make sure that you fill out your claim form completely and accurately 
and that you are suing the right defendant. You must serve (deliver) in an 
appropriate manner the claim on each defendant before filing the claim 
with the court.

If you are the defendant (person who is being sued):
1.  You may lose your case if you do not file an Answer.

2.  Your Answer must be in writing and must be received by the small 
claims clerk’s office on or before the answer date. You must send a copy 
of your Answer to each plaintiff.
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Section 7
Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town for All Matters 
Except Housing

New small claims writs may be filed at the location(s) listed below.

Town Small Claims Filing Location(s)
Andover 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Ansonia 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Ashford 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Avon 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Bantam 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Barkhamsted 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Beacon Falls 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Berlin 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Bethany 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Bethel 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Bethlehem 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Bloom�eld 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Bolton 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Bozrah 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Branford 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Bridgeport 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Bridgewater 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Bristol 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Brook�eld 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Brooklyn 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Burlington 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Canaan 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Canterbury 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Canton 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Chaplin 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Cheshire 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Chester 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
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Town Small Claims Filing Location(s)
Clinton 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Colchester 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Colebrook 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Columbia 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Cornwall 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Coventry 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Cromwell 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457   or   95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Danbury 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Danielson 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Darien 123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905   or   1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Deep River 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Derby 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Durham 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
East Granby 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
East Haddam 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
East Hampton 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
East Hartford 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
East Haven 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
East Lyme 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
East Windsor 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Eastford 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Easton 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Ellington 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
En�eld 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Essex 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Fair�eld 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Farmington 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Franklin 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Glastonbury 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Goshen 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Granby 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106

Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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Town Small Claims Filing Location(s)
Greenwich 123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905   or   1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Griswold 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Groton 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Guilford 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Haddam 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Hamden 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Hampton 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Hartford 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Hartland 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Harwinton 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Hebron 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Kent 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Killingly 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Killingworth 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Lebanon 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Ledyard 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Lisbon 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Litch�eld 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Lyme 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Madison 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Manchester 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Mans�eld 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Marlborough 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Meriden 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Middlebury 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Middle�eld 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Middletown 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Milford 14 West River Street, Milford  06460   or   235 Church Street, New Haven  06510
Monroe 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Montville 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Morris 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790

Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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Town Small Claims Filing Location(s)
Naugatuck 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
New Britain 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
New Canaan 123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905   or   1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
New Fair�eld 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
New Hartford 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
New Haven 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
New London 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
New Milford 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790   or   146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Newington 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Newtown 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Norfolk 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
North Branford 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
North Canaan 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
North Haven 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
North Stonington 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Northford 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Norwalk 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604   or   123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905
Norwich 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Old Lyme 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Old Saybrook 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Orange 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Oxford 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Plain�eld 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Plainville 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Plymouth 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051   or   300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Pomfret 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Portland 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Preston 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Prospect 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Putnam 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Redding 146 White Street, Danbury  06810

Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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Town Small Claims Filing Location(s)
Ridge�eld 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Rockville 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Rocky Hill 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Roxbury 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Salem 70 Huntington Street, New  London 06320
Salisbury 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Scotland 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Seymour 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Sharon 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Shelton 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Sherman 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Simsbury 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Somers 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
South Windsor 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Southbury 14 West River Street, Milford  06460   or   300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Southington 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Sprague 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Sta�ord 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Stamford 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604   or   123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905
Sterling 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Stonington 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Stratford 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Su�eld 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Thomaston 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Thompson 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Tolland 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Torrington 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Trumbull 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Union 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Vernon 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Voluntown 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320

Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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Town Small Claims Filing Location
Wallingford 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Warren 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Washington 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Waterbury 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Waterford 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Watertown 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702   or   50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
West Hartford 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
West Haven 14 West River Street, Milford  06460   or   235 Church Street, New Haven  06510
Westbrook 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Weston 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604   or   123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905
Westport 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604   or   123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905
Wethers�eld 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106   or   20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Willimantic 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Willington 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Wilton 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604   or   123 Hoyt Street, Stamford  06905
Winchester 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Windham 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Windsor Locks 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Windsor 95 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Winsted 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Wolcott 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Woodbridge 235 Church Street, New Haven  06510   or   14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Woodbury 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702   or   50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Woodstock 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260

Section 7 – Small Claims Area Facility Locations by Town
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Section 8
Small Claims Area Filing Locations by Town for Housing Cases

New small claims writs for housing cases may be filed at the location(s) listed below.

Town Small Claims Housing Filing Location(s)
Andover 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Ansonia 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Ashford 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Avon 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Bantam 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Barkhamsted 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Beacon Falls 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Berlin 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Bethany 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Bethel 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Bethlehem 50 Field Street ,Torrington  06790
Bloom�eld 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Bolton 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Bozrah 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Branford 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Bridgeport 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Bridgewater 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Bristol 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Brook�eld 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Brooklyn 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Burlington 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Canaan 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Canterbury 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Canton 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Chaplin 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Cheshire 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Chester 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
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Section 8 – Small Claims Area Filing Locations by Town

Town Small Claims Housing Filing Location(s)
Clinton 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Colchester 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Colebrook 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Columbia 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Cornwall 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Coventry 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Cromwell 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Danbury 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Danielson 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Darien 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
Deep River 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Derby 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Durham 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
East Granby 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
East Haddam 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
East Hampton 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
East Hartford 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
East Haven 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
East Lyme 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
East Windsor 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Eastford 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Easton 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Ellington 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
En�eld 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Essex 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Fair�eld 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Farmington 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Franklin 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Glastonbury 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Goshen 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Granby 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
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Town Small Claims Housing Filing Location(s)
Greenwich 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
Griswold 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Groton 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Guilford 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street Meriden  06451
Haddam 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Hamden 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street Meriden  06451
Hampton 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Hartford 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Hartland 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Harwinton 50 Field Street ,Torrington  06790
Hebron 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Kent 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Killingly 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Killingworth 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Lebanon 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Ledyard 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Lisbon 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Litch�eld 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Lyme 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Madison 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Manchester 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Mans�eld 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Marlborough 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Meriden 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Middlebury 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Middle�eld 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Middletown 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Milford 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510
Monroe 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Montville 70 Huntington Street, New London 06320
Morris 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790

Section 8 – Small Claims Area Filing Locations by Town
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Town Small Claims Housing Filing Location(s)
Naugatuck 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
New Britain 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
New Canaan 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
New Fair�eld 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
New Hartford 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
New Haven 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
New London 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
New Milford 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790   or   146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Newington 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Newtown 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Norfolk 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
North Branford 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
North Canaan 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
North Haven 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
North Stonington 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Northford 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Norwalk 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
Norwich 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Old Lyme 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Old Saybrook 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Orange 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510
Oxford 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Plain�eld 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Plainville 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Plymouth 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Pomfret 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Portland 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Preston 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Prospect 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Putnam 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Redding 146 White Street, Danbury  06810

Section 8 – Small Claims Area Filing Locations by Town
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Town Small Claims Housing Filing Location(s)
Ridge�eld 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Rockville 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Rocky Hill 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Roxbury 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Salem 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Salisbury 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Scotland 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Seymour 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Sharon 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Shelton 14 West River Street, Milford  06460
Sherman 146 White Street, Danbury  06810
Simsbury 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Somers 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
South Windsor 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Southbury 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Southington 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Sprague 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Sta�ord 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Stamford 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
Sterling 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Stonington 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Stratford 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Su�eld 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Thomaston 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Thompson 155 Church Street, Putnam 06260
Tolland 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Torrington 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Trumbull 1061 Main Street, Bridgeport  06604
Union 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Vernon 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Voluntown 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320

Section 8 – Small Claims Area Filing Locations by Town
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Section 8 – Small Claims Area Filing Locations by Town

Town Small Claims Housing Filing Location(s)
Wallingford 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Warren 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Washington 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Waterbury 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Waterford 70 Huntington Street, New London  06320
Watertown 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
West Hartford 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
West Haven 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510
Westbrook 1 Court Street, Middletown  06457
Weston 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
Westport 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
Wethers�eld 20 Franklin Square, New Britain  06051
Willimantic 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Willington 69 Brooklyn Street, Rockville  06066
Wilton 17 Belden Avenue, Norwalk  06850
Winchester 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Windham 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
Windsor Locks 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Windsor 80 Washington Street, Hartford  06106
Winsted 50 Field Street, Torrington  06790
Wolcott 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Woodbridge 121 Elm Street, New Haven  06510   or   54 West Main Street, Meriden  06451
Woodbury 300 Grand Street, Waterbury  06702
Woodstock 155 Church Street, Putnam  06260
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Section 9
Small Claims Area Locations and Telephone Numbers

Clerk, Ansonia-Milford Judicial District
14 West River Street, P.O. Box 210
Milford 06460
(203) 877-4293

Clerk, Danbury Judicial District
146 White Street
Danbury 06810
(203) 207-8600

Clerk, Fairfield Judicial District
1061 Main Street
Bridgeport 06604
(203) 579-6527

Clerk, Hartford Judicial District
95 Washington Street
Hartford 06106
(860) 548-2700

Clerk, Litchfield Judicial District
50 Field Street
Torrington 06790
(860) 626-2100

Clerk, Middlesex Judicial District
1 Court Street
Middletown 06457
(860) 343-6400

Clerk, New Britain Judicial District
20 Franklin Square
New Britain 06051
(860) 515-5180

Clerk, New Haven Judicial District  
at New Haven
235 Church Street
New Haven 06510
(203) 503-6800

Clerk, New Haven Judicial District  
at Meriden
54 West Main Street
Meriden 06451
(203) 238-6666

Clerk, New London Judicial District  
at New London
70 Huntington Street
New London 06320
(860) 443-5363

Clerk, New London Judicial District  
at Norwich
1 Courthouse Square
Norwich 06360
(860) 887-3515

Clerk, Stamford-Norwalk Judicial 
District
123 Hoyt Street
Stamford 06905
(203) 965-5308

Clerk, Tolland Judicial District
69 Brooklyn Street
Rockville 06066
(860) 896-4920

Clerk, Waterbury Judicial District
300 Grand Street
Waterbury 06702
(203) 591-3300

Clerk, Windham Judicial District
155 Church Street
Putnam 06260
(860) 928-7749
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Section 10
Superior Court Housing Sessions by District
Refer to Section 8 for filing locations by town.

Fairfield Judicial District

Bridgeport Housing Session
Superior Court-Housing Session (203) 579-6936
1061 Main Street
Bridgeport, CT 06604

Hartford Judicial District

Hartford Housing Session
Superior Court-Housing Session (860) 756-7920
80 Washington Street
Hartford, CT 06106

New Britain Judicial District

New Britain Housing Session

Superior Court-Housing Session (860) 515-5130
20 Franklin Square
New Britain, CT 06051
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New Haven/Meriden Judicial District

New Haven Housing Session

Superior Court-Housing Session (203) 789-7937
121 Elm Street
New Haven, CT 06510

Superior Court-Housing Session (203) 238-6667
54 West Main Street
Meriden, CT 06451

Stamford/Norwalk Judicial District

Norwalk Housing Session

Superior Court-Housing Session (203) 846-4332
17 Belden Avenue
Norwalk, CT 06850

Waterbury Judicial District

Waterbury Housing Session

Superior Court-Housing Session (203) 591-3310
300 Grand Street
Waterbury, CT 06702
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Section 11
Fees Payable to the Clerk in Small Claims Cases

These fees were correct on the date this booklet was printed but may 
change. Please contact your local Small Claims clerk’s office for the 
correct fees.

Filing (entry) fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $95.00

Counter Claim Fee  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $95.00

Motion to Transfer to the Regular Docket  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $125.00

Application for Execution . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $105.00

Jury Claim Fee  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $440.00

Motion to Open Judgment  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $75.00

Photocopies (per page) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $1.00

Certification of Document . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $2.00

Copy of Judgement – Uncertified . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $15.00

Copy of Judgement – Certified . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $25.00

Copy of Judgement – Exemplified . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $45.00

Personal Checks are acceptable with the following restrictions:

1.  Check must be made payable to the “Clerk of the Superior Court;” 
third party checks are not acceptable;

2.  Check must be preprinted with the current name of payer;

3.  Check amount is not to exceed $5,000.00 per check.

4.  Photo ID or photo driver’s license is required as proof of identity;

5.  A check drawn on a bank of a foreign country, other than Canada, shall 
not be accepted. Funds must be made payable in U.S. funds.

6.  No checks are to be cashed, and

7.  Personal checks may not be accepted post-judgment to pay for certain 
fees (for example, the fee for motion to open).
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Section 12
Forms

JD-CV-40:  Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit

JD-CV-122:  How to Serve 
(Deliver to Defendant) a Small 
Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 

JD-CV-123:  Statement of Service 
– (Delivery) Small Claims

JD-CV-121:  Instructions to 
Defendant – (Notice to Person 
Being Sued) 

JD-CV-41:  Withdrawal

JD-CV-158:  Small Claims – 
Motion to Transfer to the Regular 
Docket

JD-CL-43:  Subpoena/Civil

JD-CV-51:  Motion to Open 
Judgment

JD-CV-23:  Post Judgment 
Remedies Interrogatories

JD-CV-23a:  Interrogatories

JD-CV-3:  Wage Execution 
Proceedings – Application, Order, 
Execution

JD-CV-3a:  Exemption and 
Modification Claim Form, Wage 
Execution

JD-CV-5:  Property Execution 
Proceedings – Application, Order, 
Execution 

JD-CV-5b:  Exemption Claim 
Form, Property Execution 

JD-CV-24:  Financial Institution 
Execution Proceedings – Judgment 
Debtor Who is a Natural Person, 
Application and Execution 

JD-CV-24A:  Exemption Claim 
Form, Financial Institution 
Execution 

JD-CV-24N:  Financial Institution 
Execution Proceedings – Judgment 
Debtor Who is NOT a Natural 
Person, Application and Execution

JD-CV-54:  Petition for 
Examination of Judgment Debtor 
and Notice of Hearing

JD-CV-159:  Small Claims Motion 
for Order of Payments

JD-CV-160:  Small Claims Motion 
to Modify Order of Payments

JD-CV-162:  Small Claims Motion 
to Order Judgment Satisfied

JD-CV-164:  Satisfaction of 
Judgment
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Page 1 of 5JD-CV-40 (Back)   Rev. 9-19

The “Small Claims Court” is a part of Connecticut's court system 
where a person can sue for money damages only up to $5,000.  
That amount is set by state law and may change from time to time. 
You may also be able to get interest and costs. 
When a tenant (renter) of residential real estate property sues a 
landlord for the return of a wrongfully withheld security deposit, the 
Judicial Authority (Magistrate) may award the tenant twice the 
amount of the security deposit even if the total amount of damages 
and costs, combined, is greater than $5,000. Read sections 51-15(d) 
and 47a-21 of the Connecticut General Statutes for more information. 
The small claims court does not hear libel and slander cases. 
The instructions below are numbered. The numbers are the same as 
the numbered sections of the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 
(form JD-CV-40). These instructions are to help you correctly fill out 
each section of the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit. For more 
information, get a copy of How Small Claims Court Works           
(form JDP-CV-45) from the Clerk's Office or from our website at 
www.jud.ct.gov/faq/smallclaims.html. 
Note: Unless you are hiring a state marshal to serve (deliver) the 
Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit for you, you must deliver a copy 
of the completed original Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit to  
each defendant with the Instructions to Defendant (form JD-CV-121), 
before filing those documents with the court. See How to Serve 
(Deliver to Defendant) a Small Claim Writ and Notice of Suit (form 
JD-CV-122) for instructions. You must deliver a copy of all the 
documents you want to file with the court, for example, all 
attachments to the original writ must be delivered. After all of those 
documents have been delivered, file the original Small Claims Writ 
and Notice of Suit and copies of your supporting documents (for 
example, a lease or a contract) with the court, with the appropriate 
entry fee and Statement of Service (form JD-CV-123) for each 
defendant. Keep a copy of the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 
and the Statement of Service for your records. Keep the original of 
any supporting documents. 
1. Information That Will Determine Where The Trial Will Be 

The information you give in this section will determine where the 
trial will be held as long as the information complies with the law. 
If you are suing as a Landlord or Tenant, enter the town where 
the rental property is located. 
If you are an Individual Plaintiff, choose and enter one of the 
following: the town (a) where you live, (b) where the defendant 
lives or where the defendant's business is located, or (c) where the 
transaction or injury occurred. If you leave this section blank, the 
town where you live will determine the trial location. 
If you are a Business Entity, including a domestic or United 
States corporation or a limited liability company, choose and enter 
one of the following: the town (a) where the defendant lives,        
(b) where the defendant is doing business, or (c) where the 
transaction or injury occurred. If you leave this section blank, the 
town where the defendant lives will determine the trial location. 
Note: An out-of-state Individual Defendant must own real or 
personal property in Connecticut to be sued in small claims court. 

2. Case Type Codes: 
The small claims case type code will contain a major code, which 
will be either S or H, and a minor code, which will be a number. 
Select the code that best describes your case: 
Code  Description  
S00 Small Claims - Collection - Credit Card (Original Owner) 
S05 Small Claims - Collection - Hospital 
S10 Small Claims - Collection - Medical Non-Hospital 
S15 Small Claims - Collection - Purchased Debt 
S20 Small Claims - Contract - Home Improvement 
S25 Small Claims - Contract - Other 
S50 Small Claims - Tort - Motor Vehicle 
S55 Small Claims - Tort - Other 
S90 Small Claims - All Other 
H11 Small Claims Housing - Return of Security Deposit 
H13 Small Claims Housing - Rent and/or Damages

3.  Claim Between Landlord and Tenant (Renter) 
If the claim is between a landlord and a renter (tenant), then  
select the box for "Yes". If not, then select the box for "No".  

4.   Rental Property Location 
If you answered "Yes" to question 3, then write the name of the 
town where the rental property is located. 

5.   Plaintiff(s) 
You are the plaintiff because you are the person suing the other 
party. If there is more than 1 plaintiff, use the Continuation of 
Parties (form JD-CV-67). Enter the complete and correct legal 
name, address, and telephone number of each plaintiff. For 
each plaintiff, select the box for the type of plaintiff filing. 

6.   Attorney Information 
To be filled out by an attorney only if representing the plaintiff. 

7.   Defendant(s) 
The defendant is the person you are suing. If you are suing 
more than 1 person, use 1 box for each defendant. For more 
than 2 defendants, use the Continuation of Parties              
(form JD-CV-67). Enter the complete and correct legal name, 
address, and telephone number of each defendant. For each 
defendant, select the box for the type of defendant being sued.  
Note: The name of the person or business you are suing must 
be exact. If you make a mistake and list the wrong name, or 
leave out any part of any name, your claim may not be allowed. 

8.   Statute of Limitations 
A statute of limitations is a time limit on how long you have to 
start a case. The time limit is different for each type of case. 
More information can be found in Chapter 926 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. If you claim the defendant(s)   
owe(s) a consumer debt, which is a debt or obligation made 
primarily for personal, family, or household reasons, you must 
give the reasons why you believe that the statute of limitations 
time limit has not run out. See section 52-350a(2) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 

9.   Address Verification 
Select all boxes that apply showing how you know the address 
you give for each defendant is accurate and provide the date 
you checked the addresses. 

10. Amount Claimed 
Enter the amount of money you are claiming the defendant 
owes you. The amount may not be more than the statutory limit 
for small claims matters. If you claim pre-judgment interest or 
that you should be awarded double damages because you are 
a tenant and your landlord wrongfully withheld your security 
deposit, select the box(es) that apply. 
Do not include the filing fee, amount of pre-judgment interest, 
or double damages for a wrongfully withheld security deposit.  

11. Reason for Claim 
Give a clear, brief description of your case. You may attach 
additional pages, if needed. The claim must be for money 
damages only. Interest and/or the amount for double damages 
for a wrongfully withheld security deposit must be listed in this 
section. You may attach exhibits or documents to support your 
case (for example, a lease or contract). However, do not attach 
original versions; attach only copies. Attachments may not be 
returned to you. You may bring original documents to your 
hearing. 

12. Signature and Oath 
Your signature must be under oath. You must sign the writ in 
front of the person who is taking your oath. You must also 
clearly print your name and title, if applicable, in the box 
provided. Your oath must be taken at the time you sign the writ, 
and the person who took your oath (the Clerk, a Notary, or a 
Commissioner of the Superior Court) must also sign. Attorneys 
are Commissioners of the Superior Court. 

Keep a copy of all documents for your records.

Instructions to Plaintiff

SAMPLE
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4.) If you answered "Yes" to question #3, state the town where the rental premises is located: 

2.) Case type code  (See list on reverse page 1)

SMALL CLAIMS WRIT 
AND NOTICE OF SUIT 
JD-CV-40    Rev. 9-19 
C.G.S. §§ 51-15, 51-345(g)

Type or print legibly. This Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit must be served on (delivered to) 
the defendant(s) before filing it with the court. See Instructions to Plaintiff on reverse.

8.) If this claim is a consumer debt, which is a debt or obligation made primarily for personal, family, or household reasons, give the reasons why you believe 
that the statute of limitations has not expired.

1.) Location information that will determine where the trial will be:

For more than 1 plaintiff/defendant, attach Continuation of Parties (form JD-CV-67) and select this box.

9.) How did you check in the last 6 months that the address given for defendant(s) is accurate? 
     Select all boxes that apply and provide the dates that the address was checked.

I checked town or city records (for example, checking a street list or tax records)

I checked with the Department of Motor Vehicles

I received correspondence (letters or other mail) from the defendant with that return address

I received other proof from the defendant that the address is current

I mailed by first class mail, at least 4 weeks before this small claims action was filed, a letter to the defendant at the     
address used and the letter has not been returned to me by the United States Postal Service

(date checked)

(date checked)

(date checked)

10.) Amount claimed*
Plus Costs

11.) You are being sued. The Plaintiff(s) claims you owe the above amount plus costs and pre-judgment interest and/or double damages for a withheld 
security deposit (if selcted) for the following reasons:

12.) Signed Type in name of person signing at left and title, if applicable

Signed (Clerk, Notary, Commissioner of the Superior Court)Date

For Court Use Only (Date/Stamp)

(description of proof 
 and date checked)

The person signing below, being duly sworn, states that he or she has read the claim above and the information contained in this form and, to the best of his 
or her knowledge, information and belief, there is good ground to support the claim and the information is true.

(last date checked 
for returned letter)

6.) Name, address, and zip code of Attorney for Plaintiff(s)

(Select one)

(Select one)

LLC Partnership
Individual Corporation

Attorney's Juris Number Telephone number (w/area code)

Partnership
Individual Corporation

DBA

LLC
DBA

Parties

5.) First 
Plaintiff

7.) First 
Defendant

Name  (Last, First, Middle Initial) and Address of Each Party (Number; Street; P.O. Box; Town; State; Zip; Country, if not USA)

P-01

D-01

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Plus double damages for security deposit withheld**
Plus pre-judgment interest**

*The Amount Claimed may not be more than $5,000. Do not include amounts 
for pre-judgment interest or doubling the security deposit in box 10.

**If you select one or more boxes, you MUST explain 
how much you want for each item in section 11 below.

To Defendant(s): 

3.) Is this a claim between a landlord and a tenant (renter)? 
(Select one) NoYes

Minor:Major:

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

SMALL CLAIMS SESSION 
www.jud.ct.gov

Subscribed and 
sworn to before me on

Docket Number

SAMPLE
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4.) If you answered "Yes" to question #3, state the town where the rental premises is located: 

2.) Case type code  (See list on reverse page 1)

SMALL CLAIMS WRIT 
AND NOTICE OF SUIT 
JD-CV-40    Rev. 9-19 
C.G.S. §§ 51-15, 51-345(g)

Type or print legibly. This Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit must be served on (delivered to) 
the defendant(s) before filing it with the court. See Instructions to Plaintiff on reverse.

8.) If this claim is a consumer debt, which is a debt or obligation made primarily for personal, family, or household reasons, give the reasons why you believe 
that the statute of limitations has not expired.

1.) Location information that will determine where the trial will be:

For more than 1 plaintiff/defendant, attach Continuation of Parties (form JD-CV-67) and select this box.

9.) How did you check in the last 6 months that the address given for defendant(s) is accurate? 
     Select all boxes that apply and provide the dates that the address was checked.

I checked town or city records (for example, checking a street list or tax records)

I checked with the Department of Motor Vehicles

I received correspondence (letters or other mail) from the defendant with that return address

I received other proof from the defendant that the address is current

I mailed by first class mail, at least 4 weeks before this small claims action was filed, a letter to the defendant at the     
address used and the letter has not been returned to me by the United States Postal Service

(date checked)

(date checked)

(date checked)

10.) Amount claimed*
Plus Costs

11.) You are being sued. The Plaintiff(s) claims you owe the above amount plus costs and pre-judgment interest and/or double damages for a withheld 
security deposit (if selcted) for the following reasons:

12.) Signed Type in name of person signing at left and title, if applicable

Signed (Clerk, Notary, Commissioner of the Superior Court)Date

For Court Use Only (Date/Stamp)

(description of proof 
 and date checked)

The person signing below, being duly sworn, states that he or she has read the claim above and the information contained in this form and, to the best of his 
or her knowledge, information and belief, there is good ground to support the claim and the information is true.

(last date checked 
for returned letter)

6.) Name, address, and zip code of Attorney for Plaintiff(s)

(Select one)

(Select one)

LLC Partnership
Individual Corporation

Attorney's Juris Number Telephone number (w/area code)

Partnership
Individual Corporation

DBA

LLC
DBA

Parties

5.) First 
Plaintiff

7.) First 
Defendant

Name  (Last, First, Middle Initial) and Address of Each Party (Number; Street; P.O. Box; Town; State; Zip; Country, if not USA)

P-01

D-01

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Plus double damages for security deposit withheld**
Plus pre-judgment interest**

*The Amount Claimed may not be more than $5,000. Do not include amounts 
for pre-judgment interest or doubling the security deposit in box 10.

**If you select one or more boxes, you MUST explain 
how much you want for each item in section 11 below.

To Defendant(s): 

3.) Is this a claim between a landlord and a tenant (renter)? 
(Select one) NoYes

Minor:Major:

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

SMALL CLAIMS SESSION 
www.jud.ct.gov

Subscribed and 
sworn to before me on

Docket Number

SAMPLE
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4.) If you answered "Yes" to question #3, state the town where the rental premises is located: 

2.) Case type code  (See list on reverse page 1)

SMALL CLAIMS WRIT 
AND NOTICE OF SUIT 
JD-CV-40    Rev. 9-19 
C.G.S. §§ 51-15, 51-345(g)

Type or print legibly. This Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit must be served on (delivered to) 
the defendant(s) before filing it with the court. See Instructions to Plaintiff on reverse.

8.) If this claim is a consumer debt, which is a debt or obligation made primarily for personal, family, or household reasons, give the reasons why you believe 
that the statute of limitations has not expired.

1.) Location information that will determine where the trial will be:

For more than 1 plaintiff/defendant, attach Continuation of Parties (form JD-CV-67) and select this box.

9.) How did you check in the last 6 months that the address given for defendant(s) is accurate? 
     Select all boxes that apply and provide the dates that the address was checked.

I checked town or city records (for example, checking a street list or tax records)

I checked with the Department of Motor Vehicles

I received correspondence (letters or other mail) from the defendant with that return address

I received other proof from the defendant that the address is current

I mailed by first class mail, at least 4 weeks before this small claims action was filed, a letter to the defendant at the     
address used and the letter has not been returned to me by the United States Postal Service

(date checked)

(date checked)

(date checked)

10.) Amount claimed*
Plus Costs

11.) You are being sued. The Plaintiff(s) claims you owe the above amount plus costs and pre-judgment interest and/or double damages for a withheld 
security deposit (if selcted) for the following reasons:

12.) Signed Type in name of person signing at left and title, if applicable

Signed (Clerk, Notary, Commissioner of the Superior Court)Date

For Court Use Only (Date/Stamp)

(description of proof 
 and date checked)

The person signing below, being duly sworn, states that he or she has read the claim above and the information contained in this form and, to the best of his 
or her knowledge, information and belief, there is good ground to support the claim and the information is true.

(last date checked 
for returned letter)

6.) Name, address, and zip code of Attorney for Plaintiff(s)

(Select one)

(Select one)

LLC Partnership
Individual Corporation

Attorney's Juris Number Telephone number (w/area code)

Partnership
Individual Corporation

DBA

LLC
DBA

Parties

5.) First 
Plaintiff

7.) First 
Defendant

Name  (Last, First, Middle Initial) and Address of Each Party (Number; Street; P.O. Box; Town; State; Zip; Country, if not USA)

P-01

D-01

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Plus double damages for security deposit withheld**
Plus pre-judgment interest**

*The Amount Claimed may not be more than $5,000. Do not include amounts 
for pre-judgment interest or doubling the security deposit in box 10.

**If you select one or more boxes, you MUST explain 
how much you want for each item in section 11 below.

To Defendant(s): 

3.) Is this a claim between a landlord and a tenant (renter)? 
(Select one) NoYes

Minor:Major:

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

SMALL CLAIMS SESSION 
www.jud.ct.gov

Subscribed and 
sworn to before me on

Docket Number

SAMPLE
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4.) If you answered "Yes" to question #3, state the town where the rental premises is located: 

2.) Case type code  (See list on reverse page 1)

SMALL CLAIMS WRIT 
AND NOTICE OF SUIT 
JD-CV-40    Rev. 9-19 
C.G.S. §§ 51-15, 51-345(g)

Type or print legibly. This Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit must be served on (delivered to) 
the defendant(s) before filing it with the court. See Instructions to Plaintiff on reverse.

8.) If this claim is a consumer debt, which is a debt or obligation made primarily for personal, family, or household reasons, give the reasons why you believe 
that the statute of limitations has not expired.

1.) Location information that will determine where the trial will be:

For more than 1 plaintiff/defendant, attach Continuation of Parties (form JD-CV-67) and select this box.

9.) How did you check in the last 6 months that the address given for defendant(s) is accurate? 
     Select all boxes that apply and provide the dates that the address was checked.

I checked town or city records (for example, checking a street list or tax records)

I checked with the Department of Motor Vehicles

I received correspondence (letters or other mail) from the defendant with that return address

I received other proof from the defendant that the address is current

I mailed by first class mail, at least 4 weeks before this small claims action was filed, a letter to the defendant at the     
address used and the letter has not been returned to me by the United States Postal Service

(date checked)

(date checked)

(date checked)

10.) Amount claimed*
Plus Costs

11.) You are being sued. The Plaintiff(s) claims you owe the above amount plus costs and pre-judgment interest and/or double damages for a withheld 
security deposit (if selcted) for the following reasons:

12.) Signed Type in name of person signing at left and title, if applicable

Signed (Clerk, Notary, Commissioner of the Superior Court)Date

For Court Use Only (Date/Stamp)

(description of proof 
 and date checked)

The person signing below, being duly sworn, states that he or she has read the claim above and the information contained in this form and, to the best of his 
or her knowledge, information and belief, there is good ground to support the claim and the information is true.

(last date checked 
for returned letter)

6.) Name, address, and zip code of Attorney for Plaintiff(s)

(Select one)

(Select one)

LLC Partnership
Individual Corporation

Attorney's Juris Number Telephone number (w/area code)

Partnership
Individual Corporation

DBA

LLC
DBA

Parties

5.) First 
Plaintiff

7.) First 
Defendant

Name  (Last, First, Middle Initial) and Address of Each Party (Number; Street; P.O. Box; Town; State; Zip; Country, if not USA)

P-01

D-01

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Name: 
Address: 

Telephone:

Plus double damages for security deposit withheld**
Plus pre-judgment interest**

*The Amount Claimed may not be more than $5,000. Do not include amounts 
for pre-judgment interest or doubling the security deposit in box 10.

**If you select one or more boxes, you MUST explain 
how much you want for each item in section 11 below.

To Defendant(s): 

3.) Is this a claim between a landlord and a tenant (renter)? 
(Select one) NoYes

Minor:Major:

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

SMALL CLAIMS SESSION 
www.jud.ct.gov

Subscribed and 
sworn to before me on

Docket Number

SAMPLE
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HOW TO SERVE (DELIVER TO DEFENDANT)  
A SMALL CLAIMS WRIT AND NOTICE OF SUIT 
JD-CV-122   Rev. 7-19 
P.B. 24-10

To start a small claims case, you must fill out a Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-40), and attach copies of 
any related documents you wish to file with the court. Keep the original Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit and attached 
documents. You, or your representative, must then serve (deliver) a copy of the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit to each 
defendant using one of the four methods listed below. 

1. Service (delivery) by United State Postal Service (USPS) Priority Mail with Delivery Confirmation: 
Mail to each defendant via USPS Priority Mail with Delivery Confirmation a copy of the Small Claims Writ and Notice of 
Suit, attached documents, and the Instructions to Defendant (form JD-CV-121). For each copy you have mailed, the USPS 
will send you a delivery confirmation. When you receive delivery confirmation, file the original Small Claims Writ and Notice 
of Suit, copies of the attached documents, a Statement of Service (form JD-CV-123) for each defendant, and the delivery 
confirmation(s) with the court. 

2. Service (delivery) by USPS Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested or electronic delivery confirmation: 
Mail to each defendant via USPS Certified Mail with Return Receipt Requested a copy of the Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit, attached documents, and the Instructions to Defendant. For each copy you have mailed, the USPS will 
send you a return receipt slip or an electronic delivery confirmation. When you receive the signed return receipt(s) or 
electronic delivery confirmation, file the original Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, copies of the attached documents, a 
Statement of Service for each defendant and the signed return receipt(s) or electronic delivery confirmation with the court. 

3. Service (delivery) by a nationally recognized courier service providing delivery confirmation: 
Send to each defendant via nationally recognized courier service providing delivery confirmation a copy of the Small 
Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, attached documents, and the Instructions to Defendant. For each copy you have sent, the 
courier service will send you a delivery confirmation. When you receive the delivery confirmation, file the original Small 
Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, copies of the attached documents, a Statement of Service for each defendant, and the 
delivery confirmation(s) with the court. 

4. Service by a proper officer, such as a state marshal: 
Give to the proper officer a copy of the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, attached documents, and the Instructions to 
Defendant. After the proper officer serves (delivers) the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, he or she will return the 
original Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit and copies of the attached documents to you, along with his or her return of 
service (a written statement describing how the documents were served) for filing with the court, unless you have arranged 
for the proper officer to file them for you. 

Exceptions: 

Out-of-State Businesses: 
For each defendant who is an out-of-state business (a business organized under the laws of a state other than 
Connecticut), you must use Method 4 above, service by a proper officer. 

Out-of-State Insurance Companies: 
There are special requirements for service on (delivery to) out-of-state insurance companies. You can find information on 
these requirements in Chapter 697, Title 38a of the Connecticut General Statutes and through the Connecticut Insurance 
Department website at: www.ct.gov/cid. 

The Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit must be returned to the court not later than one month after the date of 
service (delivery). 
When the court receives the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit, the clerk will set an answer date and will send a notice to 
all plaintiffs or their representatives of the docket number (case number) and answer date. The clerk will also send an answer 
form that includes the docket number and answer date to each defendant at the addresses provided by the plaintiff.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable 
accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court 
clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.
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STATEMENT OF SERVICE (DELIVERY) – 
SMALL CLAIMS 
JD-CV-123   Rev. 4-19 
P.B. § 24-10

Instructions 
If filed on paper, fill out one (1) form for each defendant. Attach all documents showing how the Small 
Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-40) and related documents were served on (delivered to) 
the defendant, and check the box below that applies. Keep all receipts showing how much you paid 
to have the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit and related documents served on the defendant. 

If filed electronically, follow the instructions above and ensure that you select the appropriate name of 
the document you are filing.

For service on (delivery to) the defendant:

(Write name of defendant above)

The Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-40) and related documents, if any, were served on (delivered to) the 
defendant named above by:

�CKecN tKe Eo[ tKat aSSlies�

1.) priority mail with delivery confirmation; delivery confirmation is attached. I paid $ for this, or

2.) certified mail, return receipt requested, or with electronic delivery confirmation; signed return receipt, or electronic  

for this, or

3.) a nationally recognized courier service providing delivery confirmation; tracking information showing delivery

for this, or

4.) a proper officer in the manner in which a writ of summons is served in a civil action; officer's return of service

is attached. I paid $

filed with the court.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Date signedPrint nameSigned (Plaintiff or plaintiff's representative)

I paid $delivery confirmation, is attached.

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable 
accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court 
clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA 

COURT USE ONLY
SMRSOS

*SMRSOS*

SAMPLE



45

For more information, get a copy of How Small Claims Court Works (form JDP-CV-45) from a Clerk's Office, Court 
Service Center or on the Judicial Branch website, at www.jud.ct.gov/publications/CV045. 
You may also find information on the Small Claims Frequently Asked Questions page on the Judicial Branch website at 
www.jud.ct.gov/faq/smallclaims.html or by contacting the clerk's office or a Court Service Center.

Please read the instructions carefully.

INSTRUCTIONS TO DEFENDANT 
(NOTICE TO PERSON BEING SUED) 
JD-CV-121   Rev. 2-18

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

What is the Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-40) that I have received? 
The person suing you (called the plaintiff) has delivered to you (served on you) a copy of the Small Claims Writ and 
Notice of Suit (form JD-CV-40) and any documents related to your case. The Small Claims Writ and Notice of Suit 
contains the plaintiff's complaint, which explains how much money the plaintiff claims you owe them and the reasons 
why the they think you owe them. 

How do I defend my case? 
In order to respond to the plaintiff's complaint, you must complete an Answer form and return it to court. The court will 
send you an Answer form. The Answer form will tell you the court house where you must return the form and the 
date by which you must return it. 
You should receive an Answer form within six (6) weeks, but if you do not, call the clerk's office to ask why you have 
not received it yet. Do not file a response until you receive an Answer form. 
The Answer form contains an Answer section, where you respond to the plaintiff's claims, and a Counterclaim section, 
where you can make claims against the plaintiff. The Answer section must be completed. It is up to you whether you 
complete the Counterclaim. There is a fee for filing a counterclaim, which is discussed below. 

How do I respond to the plaintiff's claims?  - Filing an Answer 
The Answer is your chance to respond or reply to the plaintiff's claim. You may admit or deny all or part of the plaintiff's 
claim. Your Answer should be specific, but brief. Complete the form and sign it. Keep a copy for yourself and send a 
copy to each attorney or other representative of the plaintiff or, if the plaintiff is representing themselves, send a copy 
to the plaintiff. If you are not filing a Counterclaim, send the original Answer form to the court at the address listed on 
the form by mail, fax or hand delivery. The court must receive your Answer form on or before the Answer Date. If 
you are filing a Counterclaim, see the discussion on Counterclaims, below. 

What if I know I owe the plaintiff some money? 
If you know you owe the plaintiff something, but do not agree on the amount in the claim or are not sure how much you 
owe, you should file an Answer. This gives you a chance to come to court for a hearing (also called a trial) to question 
how the plaintiff added up the amount claim or to say why you think the amount should be different. 

What if I admit that I owe the plaintiff all of the money they are asking for but want time to pay? 
If you are sure that you owe the entire amount claimed by the plaintiff but want or need more time to pay, you may say 
this on the Answer form and file it with the court. You may ask for a period of time during which you can make 
payments in an amount that you suggest. If you ask for more time, but do not ask for a specific time period or amount, 
the court will enter a judgment with an order of payments of $35 each week until the judgment is paid. If you ask to pay 
less than $35 per week, and the plaintiff does not agree, a hearing will be scheduled. A judgment against a business 
and a judgment against a landlord for return of a security deposit will be ordered to be paid in a lump sum. 

What if I pay the full amount plus costs, if any, before the Answer Date? 
If you pay the plaintiff, plaintiff's representative, or plaintiff's attorney the full amount of the claim plus costs, if any, 
before the Answer Date, you should say that on the Answer form and file it with the court.  
Do not send payment(s) to the Court. 

What should I do if the plaintiff owes me money?  - Filing a Counterclaim 
If you claim that the plaintiff owes you money, you may wish to file a Counterclaim. First, you should complete the 
Answer portion of the Answer form. Then you may complete the Counterclaim section of the Answer form. In that 
section, explain why you think the plaintiff owes you money and how much money you claim the plaintiff owes you. 
When you have completed the form, sign it. Keep a copy for yourself and send a copy to each attorney or other 
representative of the plaintiff or, if the plaintiff is representing themselves, send a copy to the plaintiff. Send the original 
Answer form to the court at the address listed on the form by mail or hand delivery along with a filing fee of $95. The 
court must receive your answer form on or before the answer date. You cannot fax a Counterclaim and its 
filing fee to the court.

SAMPLE
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ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of 
Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a 
reasonable accommodation in accordance 
with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA 
contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

What happens if I do not file an Answer? 
If you do not file an Answer in writing with the court, a money judgment may be entered against you. This is called a 
default judgment. After the Answer Date has passed, your case will be reviewed by a Magistrate, who will decide 
whether a judgment should enter without a hearing or if a hearing must be scheduled. The Magistrate may award the 
plaintiff the full amount of their claim, plus court costs. 

What happens if I file an Answer? Will I have a trial? 
If you file an Answer, the Court will schedule a hearing (also called a trial), if one is required. The court will send you 
a notice letting you know exactly when and where your case will be heard. Do not come to court for a hearing 
on the Answer Date listed on the Answer form. Cases are scheduled for hearing as quickly as possible. 

What happens if I file a Counterclaim? Will I have a trial? 
If you file a Counterclaim with your Answer, a notice will be sent to you and the plaintiff letting everyone know that a 
Counterclaim has been filed and telling the plaintiff when they must file their Answer to the Counterclaim. After the 
Counterclaim Answer Date has passed, the court will schedule a hearing (also called a trial), if one is required. The 
court will send you a notice letting you know exactly when and where your case will be heard. Do not come to 
court for a hearing on the Answer Date listed on the Answer form. Cases are scheduled for hearing as quickly as 
possible. 

What do I need to bring to Court for my hearing (trial)? 
On the day of your hearing, you should bring all of your witnesses and any evidence you have. This may include bills, 
invoices, checks, damage estimates, pictures or other documents. Evidence may also include any defective or 
damaged goods that can be brought safely and easily into the court. Be prepared and organized so that you can 
present your complete case. A small claims judgment cannot be appealed.

SAMPLE
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Date signed

(WOM)

(WOAAD)

 Signature of Filer(s)

Name &
Address
of Filer(s):

WITHDRAWAL
JD-CV-41   Rev. 1-18

(WOARD)

; By

; By

; By

; By

Attorney or Self-
represented party
Attorney or Self-
represented party
Attorney or Self-
represented party
Attorney or Self-
represented party

and the Plaintiff's action is WITHDRAWN AS TO ALL REMAINING DEFENDANTS without costs.

(WDACT)

 only without costs 

Partial Withdrawal 
The following pleading(s), motion(s) or other paper(s) in the case named above is or are withdrawn:

Dispositive (Complete) Withdrawal 
(Do not check the following two boxes if any intervening complaints, cross complaints, counterclaims, or third party complaints remain pending in this case. 
See below for partial withdrawal of action.)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT

www.jud.ct.gov

For Court Use Only

(WDCOMP)
(WDINTCO)
(WDTHPC)

(WAPPCOM)

(WOAAP)

Name of case (First-named Plaintiff vs. First-named Defendant)

Address of court (Number, street, town and zip code)Judicial
District

Housing
Session

Party

Party

Party

Party

The Plaintiff's action is WITHDRAWN AS TO ALL DEFENDANTS without costs to any party.

A judgment has been rendered against the following Defendant(s):

Complaint
Intervening Complaint
Third Party Complaint

Apportionment Complaint

Plaintiff(s):

Complaint against defendant(s):

Motion:
Other:

Return date (For Civil and Housing cases only)

Answer date (For Small Claims cases only)

Docket number

Mailing address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Signed (Signature of filer)

Certification

Print or type name of person signing

Telephone number

(date) to all attorneys and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was 
received from all attorneys and self-represented parties of record who received or will immediately be receiving electronic delivery.

I certify that a copy of this document was or will immediately be mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on 

*If necessary, attach additional sheet or sheets with name and address which the copy was or will be mailed or delivered to.

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was or will be mailed or delivered to*

Instructions:
1. Complete this form by selecting any applicable withdrawal categories below. 
2. File with the clerk.

Counts of the complaint:(WDCOUNT)

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of
Connecticut complies with the Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a
reasonable accommodation in accordance
with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA
contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

(WDCC) Cross Complaint (cross claim)
Counterclaim(WOC)
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Type of court

Instructions 
1. Type or legibly print. 
2. Attach counterclaim or affidavit(s), pursuant to Section 24-21 of the Connecticut Practice Book. 
3. Submit to the clerk along with all statutory fees.

Name of case (Plaintiff v. Defendant) Docket number

Judicial District
Address of court (Number, street, town and zip code)

DateYour name Your address (Number, street, town, state and zip)

Housing Session

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with 
the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

SMALL CLAIMS - MOTION TO TRANSFER 
TO THE REGULAR DOCKET 
JD-CV-158   New 12-17 
P.B. 24-21

Mailing address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Signed  (Individual Attorney or self-represented party) 

Certification

Print or type name of person signing

Telephone number

Date signed

(date)   to all attorneys and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was 
received from all attorneys and self-represented parties of record who received or will immediately be receiving electronic delivery.

I certify that a copy of this document was or will immediately be mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on 

*If necessary, attach additional sheet or sheets with name and address which the copy was or will be mailed or delivered to.

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was or will be mailed or delivered to*

The           in the above named case moves to transfer this case to the regular docket for the 
Superior Court. Pursuant to Section 24-21 of the Connecticut Practice Book, this motion is accompanied by all statutory fees 
and (select all that apply):

By the court
Signed  (Judge/Magistrate) Date signed

Order
This motion to transfer to the regular docket is ordered:

Granted.

Denied.

DefendantPlaintiff

A counterclaim in an amount greater than the jurisdiction of the small claims court

An affidavit stating that a good defense exists to the claim and setting forth with specificity the nature of the defense

An affidavit stating that the case has been properly claimed for trial by jury

Note: If your motion is granted, the appearance entered in the small claims case of an attorney at law and of a self-represented party as an 
individual shall be entered on the appropriate docket of the Superior Court. The appearance of any representative that was recognized in the 
small claims case, other than an attorney at law or a self-represented party as an individual, shall be entered for notice purposes only and not 
as a representative of any party in the case.

Signed (Individual Attorney or self-represented party) Date signedPrint or type name of person signing
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Return of Service

Date and time you must come to court
Time

. m.

SUBPOENA - CIVIL/HOUSING/SMALL CLAIMS/FAMILY/ 
FAMILY SUPPORT MAGISTRATE/CRIMINAL/MOTOR VEHICLE 
JD-CL-43   Rev. 10-19 
C.G.S. §§ 52-143, 52-144; P.B. §§ 7-19, 24-22

The court can impose penalties for 
not complying with this subpoena
Signed  (Clerk, Commissioner of Superior Court)

If you do not come to court on the date and time stated, or on the date and time which your appearance may have been 
postponed or continued to by order of the court, the court may order your arrest. Also, if one day's witness fees have been 
paid to you and you do not come to court and testify, without reasonable excuse, you will be fined up to $25.00 and required 
to pay all damages to the aggrieved party. The party requesting the subpoena is responsible for paying the witness 
fees. 
Questions about this subpoena must be directed to the person who requested it.

Total

Date

Copy

Housing 
Session

Judicial 
District

Geographical 
Area

Report to

To any proper officer or indifferent person to serve and return: 
By Authority of the State of Connecticut, you are required to come to the court at the Address of Court above on the Date 
and Time indicated above, or on a later date (within 60 days of the Date indicated above) when the case will be tried. You 
must testify about what you know of the case.  
You are further required to bring with you and produce:

Notice to the Person Summoned

Attest  (Signature of proper officer or indifferent person) Title  (If applicable)

Fees

I served this subpoena eighteen hours or more before the time designated for the person 
summoned to appear. I read this subpoena to the summoned person and left a true and attested 
copy of it in the hands/at the last usual place of abode of the summoned person as follows:

Endorsement Service Travel

Distribution:              Original - Return to clerk after making service                 Copy 1 - Witness               Copy 2 - Court file

Instructions: 
1. Do not use this subpoena if the witness is being summoned by the state, or the following people, acting in their 

official capacity: Attorney General, Assistant Attorney General, Public Defender, or Assistant Public Defender. 
2. The person being subpoenaed and the items that person is required to bring must be identical to the name and 

item(s) ordered on the Application for Issuance of Subpoena, form JD-CL-136 (if applicable).

Name of Case (Full name of Plaintiff v. Full name of Defendant) Docket Number

Address of Court  (Number, street, town and zip code)

To:  (Name and address)

Clerk's office
Courtroom number
Person requesting subpoena

Name of person requesting subpoena Phone number (with area code)

Print or type name Date At

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

COURT USE ONLY
SUBISSU

*S"��SS"*

For information on ADA accommodations, 
contact a court clerk or go to: www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.
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Court Use Only

Time

.m.

Housing 
Session

Judicial 
District

MOTION TO OPEN JUDGMENT 
(SMALL CLAIMS AND HOUSING MATTERS) 
JD-CV-51   Rev. 6-19 
C.G.S. §§ 52-212, 52-212a,  52-259c 
P.B. §§ 17-4, 17-43, 24-31

I request that the judgment in the case named above be opened because:

(Name and address of plaintiff or plaintiff's attorney)

(Name and address of defendant or defendant's attorney)

Motion to Open Judgment

Signed  (Plaintiff/Defendant or Attorney)

Signed  (Clerk, Comm. of Superior Court, Notary Public) See NOTE above

Notice of Court Hearing
A court hearing on this case has been scheduled. All parties must come to the hearing at the address and time indicated below. If you 
cannot come to the hearing, you should let the other party know and get an agreement before you notify the court that you cannot come to 
the hearing. (If you have any witnesses, please let them know about this court hearing so that they can be in court with you. Bring all other 
evidence you want to show the court, such as bills, receipts, invoices, etc. If this motion is granted, a trial on the case may start the same day.)

NOTICE: This motion must be filed with the correct fee required by 
section 52-259c(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

SCMTO

Docket number

Address of Court  (Number, street, town, and zip code)

Name of case  (Plaintiff vs. Defendant)

Date signed

Subscribed and sworn to before me on  (Date)

Place of hearing  (If different from Address of Court above) Date of hearing Courtroom

Clerk of Court, by

Date

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in 
accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an 
ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

NOTE:  If this is a motion to open a judgment entered because of a default or nonsuit, the motion must be sworn to by the person filing this 
motion or that person's attorney.

Mailing address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Signed  (Signature of filer/Connecticut Attorney) 

Certification

Print or type name of person signing

Telephone number

Date signed

(date)   to all attorneys and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was 
received from all attorneys and self-represented parties of record who received or will immediately be receiving electronic delivery.

I certify that a copy of this document was or will immediately be mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on 

*If necessary, attach additional sheet or sheets with name and address which the copy was or will be mailed or delivered to.

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was or will be mailed or delivered to*

MTOPJH

*M!O���* *S�M!O*
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(Continued on page 2)

POST JUDGMENT REMEDIES 
INTERROGATORIES
JD-CV-23 Rev. 11-10 
Gen. Stat. §§ 52-321a, 52-351b, 52-352b,  
52-361a, 52-361b, 52-400a, 52-400c

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Notice

Notice Of Rights To Person Served

Form JD-CV-23a must be attached to this form

1.   Under Section 52-351b of the General Statutes, you must disclose information about the amount, nature and location of 
the judgment debtor's assets up to an amount clearly enough in value for full satisfaction of the judgment with interest and 
costs. 

2.   Under subsection (d) of Section 52-351b of the General Statutes, any party who must disclose information about the 
judgment debtor's  assets may apply to the court to be protected from annoyance, embarrassment, oppression or undue 
burden or expense. 

3.   Certain personal property of the judgment debtor is exempt from execution (cannot be used to satisfy judgment). The 
following list is a description of common types of property that are exempt from execution from a judgment debtor who is 
a natural person. (Section 52-352b of the General Statutes). 

(a)  Apparel, bedding, foodstuffs, household furniture and appliances that are needed by the judgment debtor to live; 
(b)  Tools, books, instruments, farm animals and livestock feed that are needed by the judgment debtor in the course 

of his or her occupation, or profession, farming operation or farming partnership; 
(c)  Public assistance payments and any wages earned by a public assistance recipient under an incentive earnings 

or similar program;

Housing 
Session

Geographical 
Area 
number

Judicial 
District At

Judgment Creditor:  
Put an "X" in the box next to the questions to be answered on form JD-CV-23a that is attached to this form. 
Person who received interrogatories:  
Answer the questions indicated by an "X" on form JD-CV-23a that is attached to this form. You must give information that you have about the assets of the 
judgment debtor up to an amount clear enough to satisfy the judgment indicated by the "Amount due on the judgment" above. Place your answers in the 
space provided on the form. If you need more space to answer the questions, use the space on the back of form JD-CV-23a or attach additional sheets to 
this form.

Instructions To:

Do not file the interrogatories, the notice of interrogatories or the objections to the interrogatories with the court. 
The person who received these interrogatories must answer and return them within 30 days of the date of their service 
(delivery) to the person named above. 

If the person who received these interrogatories does not answer and return them within 30 days or does not within 30 days 
disclose assets of the judgment debtor that are enough for execution, or if the person who received the interrogatories objects 
within 30 days, the judgment creditor may ask the court for additional discovery orders that may be necessary to make sure 
that disclosure is made including (1) an order for compliance with the interrogatories or (2) an order authorizing additional 
interrogatories. The judgment creditor may ask for and get discovery, including the taking of depositions, from any person 
served with interrogatories under the procedures for discovery in civil actions without the court ordering it. The court may 
order additional discovery as justice requires. If the person asked for discovery does not disclose the judgment debtor's 
assets, that person may be held in contempt of court. Attorney's fees may be allowed for counsel at a contempt hearing 
necessary to enforce a court order and for counsel at any discovery hearing required because these interrogatories were not 
answered.

Docket number

Address of court (Number, street, town, and zip code)

Date of judgment Original amount of judgment Amount due on the judgment

Name of creditor (Person or business judgment is for) Address of judgment creditor (Street and town)

Name of judgment debtor (Person or business judgment is against) Address of judgment debtor  (Street and town)

Name and address of person believed to have assets of judgment debtor (If applicable)

Date interrogatories were served (Delivered) Name and address of person that interrogatories must be returned to
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JD-CV-23  Rev. 11-10  (Page 2 of 2)

(d)  Health and disability insurance payments; 
(e)  Health aids that are needed by the judgment debtor to work or to keep healthy; 
(f)   Worker's compensation, social security, veterans and unemployment benefits; 
(g)  Court approved payments for child support; 
(h)  Arms (weapons) and military equipment, uniforms or musical instruments owned by any member of the militia or 

armed forces of the United States; 
(i)   One motor vehicle worth up to $3,500.00. The value of the motor vehicle must be determined as the fair market 

value of the motor vehicle minus the amount of all liens and security interests which are on it; 
(j)   Wedding and engagement rings; 
(k)  Residential utility deposits for one residence and one residential security deposit; 
(l)   Any assets or interests of a judgment debtor in, or payments received by the judgment debtor from, a plan or 

arrangement described in Section 52-321a of the General Statutes, including, but not limited to, certain trust or 
retirement income or certain retirement, education, or medical savings accounts; 

(m) Alimony and support, other than child support, but only to the extent that wages are exempt from execution under 
Section 52-361a of the General Statutes; 

(n)  An award under a crime reparations act; 
(o)  All benefits allowed by any association of persons in this state to support any of its members that are 

incapacitated by sickness or infirmity from attending to his or her usual business; 
(p)  All moneys that are owed to the judgment debtor from any insurance company on any insurance policy on 

exempt property, up to the same amount that the property was exempt; 
(q)  Burial plot for the judgment debtor and his or her immediate family; 
(r)   Transfers of money that cannot be taken back (revoked) to an account held by a debt adjuster licensed under 

Sections 36a-655 to 36a-665 of the General Statutes for the benefit of creditors of the judgment debtor; 
(s)  Any interest of the judgment debtor in any property worth not more than $1,000.00; 
(t)   Any interest of the judgment debtor worth not more than $4,000.00 in any accrued dividend or interest under, or 

loan value of, any unmatured life insurance contract owned by the judgment debtor under which the insured is 
the judgment debtor or is an individual who the judgment debtor is a dependent of; and 

(u)  The homestead (home) of the judgment debtor worth not more than $75,000.00, or, in the case of a money 
judgment arising out of services provided at a hospital worth not more than $125,000.00, the value must be 
determined as the fair market value of the real property minus the amount of any statutory or agreed on 
(consensual) lien which is on the property.

SAMPLE
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STATE YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO. OF YOUR EMPLOYER

STATE THE DATE ON WHICH YOU ARE PAID FOR BOTH REGULAR AND OVERTIME WORK

YOUR JOB TITLE OR POSITION

Are you presently employed?

Are you receiving any income from any source not
disclosed in your answers to the foregoing questions?

STATE THE SOURCE(S) OF SUCH INCOME

IF THERE ARE ANY PAYMENTS DUE FROM THE ABOVE SOURCE STATE (1) THE AMOUNT DUE AND (2) NAME AND ADDRESS OF PARTY FROM WHOM IT IS DUE

AMOUNT RECEIVED EACH WEEK

YES  (If yes, complete the information below)

YES (If yes, complete the information below)

List all banks, savings and loan associations, credit unions or other financial institutions in which you maintain an account
of any kind, giving in your answer the following: (You need only disclose assets clearly sufficient to ensure full satisfaction
of the judgment with interest and costs.)

X

NAME AND ADDRESS OF INSTITUTION

NAME IN WHICH ACCOUNT IS HELD

NAME AND ADDRESS OF INSTITUTION

NAME IN WHICH ACCOUNT IS HELD

ACCOUNT NO.

IF JOINT ACCOUNT GIVE NAME AND ADDRESS OF OTHER PERSON(S)

PRESENT BALANCE ($) ACCOUNT NO. PRESENT BALANCE ($)

IF JOINT ACCOUNT GIVE NAME AND ADDRESS OF OTHER PERSON(S)

List all nonexempt personal property in which you have an interest, whether legal or beneficial, which in total value is clearly sufficient to
ensure full satisfaction of the judgment with interest and costs, including but not limited to (a) cash on hand, (b) household goods and
supplies and furnishings, (c) stamp and/or coin collections and other collections, (d) wearing apparel, (e) jewelry, (f) watches, (g)
automobiles, (h) trucks, (i) trailers or other motor vehicles, (j) boats, motors and accessories. As to each such item of property give the
precise description and location, the approximate value of such property and whether or not such property is subject to any form of
security interest, lien or encumbrance. If so, state the name and address of such holder of a security interest, lien or encumbrance, the
nature of the instrument evidencing the same and the amount of the instrument. (If additional space is necessary, attach a separate
sheet to this form.)

State whether any of your nonexempt personal property is in the hands of a third person. If so, describe the property involved, the
person or persons so holding the property, the reason the property is so held and any consideration that may have passed therefor.

JD-CV-23a (Page 1 of 2) Rev. 6-2000

I. JUDGMENT DEBTOR

 NO

NO

NAME, ADDRESS OF EACH BOOKKEEPER, PAYROLL CLERK OR OTHER PERSON HAVING RECORDS OF SALARIES OR OTHER SUMS OF MONEY PAID TO YOU
BY YOUR PRESENT EMPLOYER

NAME OF CASE

JUDGMENT CREDITOR: Complete Name of Case and Docket No., put an "X" in the box next to the items to be answered.
PERSON SERVED WITH INTERROGATORIES: Answer the questions indicated by   . You must disclose assets of the judgment debtor up to an
amount clearly sufficient to satisfy the judgment indicated by the "Amount Due Thereon" on the attached form JD-CV-23. Place answers in space provided on
this form. If you need more room to answer these questions, use the space on page 2 of attached form JD-CV-23 or attach additional sheets. You must
answer the questions and return them to the person named on attached form JD-CV-23 within thirty days of the date of service.

X

INSTRUCTIONS

DOCKET NO.

IF YOU RECEIVE ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR OVERTIME, STATE (1) RATE OF OVERTIME PAY  AND (2) THE AVERAGE NO. OF HOURS OF OVERTIME YOU
WORK PER WEEK 

www.jud.state.ct.us

SAMPLE
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II. EMPLOYER

Is the Judgment Debtor employed by you?

NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO. OF THE BOOKKEEPER, PAYROLL CLERK OR OTHER PERSON WHO DISBURSES EMPLOYEE'S  WAGES OR SALARY

EMPLOYEE'S GROSS SALARY PER HOUR, WEEK, MONTH, OR YEAR

III. FINANCIAL INSTITUTION
Does the Judgment Debtor maintain an account of any kind with your institution?

YES (If yes, complete the information below)

YES
(If yes, complete the information below. You may disclose only whether you hold funds of the judgment debtor on account and the
balance of such funds if so held, up to the amount necessary to satisfy the judgment.)

YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

THE DATES ON WHICH EMPLOYEE IS PAID FOR BOTH REGULAR AND OVERTIME WORK

EMPLOYEE'S NORMAL WORKING HOURS

YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

ACCOUNT NO. OF EACH ACCOUNT

PRESENT BALANCE IN EACH ACCOUNT

NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO. OF YOUR INSTITUTION

NAME IN WHICH THE ACCOUNT IS HELD

IF JOINT ACCOUNT, THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF THE OTHER PERSON(S)

IV. THIRD PERSON IN POSSESSION OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR'S PROPERTY
Are you in possession of nonexempt personal property belonging to the judgment debtor?
 (If yes, complete the following information.) 

YES

YOUR NAME, ADDRESS, AND TELEPHONE NO.

DESCRIBE THE PROPERTY, THE REASON YOU ARE HOLDING IT AND ANY CONSIDERATION THAT MAY HAVE PASSED FOR YOUR HOLDING THE PROPERTY.

JD-CV-23a (Page 2 of 2) Rev. 6-2000

NO

 NO

NO

List all real estate in your name which in total value is clearly sufficient to ensure full satisfaction of the judgment with
interest and costs (where possible give street address).

List your accounts receivable which in total value are clearly sufficient to ensure full satisfaction of the judgment with
interest and costs giving a) the name of the party, b) the amount owed, and c) the date the debt was incurred. (If additional
space is needed, attach a separate sheet to this form.)

SIGNED (Person completing form or authorized agent) PRINT NAME OF PERSON SIGNING AT LEFT DATE SIGNED

V. SIGNATURE OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM OR AUTHORIZED AGENT
X NOTE: Interrogatories served on a judgment debtor shall be signed by such debtor under penalty of false statement.

LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY

SAMPLE
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Page 1 of 2 WAGE EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS

(Fold)

Address of court  (Number, street, and town)

Check if applicable

Signed (Assistant Clerk of said court) 

Ex
ec

ut
io

n

WAGE EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS 
APPLICATION, ORDER, EXECUTION
JD-CV-3   Rev. 2-15 
C.G.S. §§ 31-58(j), 52-350a, 52-361a, 52-356d, 
29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Instructions

1. Unless filing electronically, prepare original and four copies. 
2. Attach form JD-CV-3a to this form, or include with execution  

as one PDF electronic form. 
3. Present original and 3 copies to clerk of court. 
4. Keep one copy for your file.

1. Issue execution by signing original. 
2. Enter any court ordered limitation at the bottom of 

section II on page 2. 
3. Return original and 2 copies if on paper. 
4. Retain/scan copy for court file.

1. Leave one signed copy with employer. 
2. Make return on signed original. 
3. Leave one copy of Modification and Exemption 

Claim form (JD-CV-3a) with employer and fill in 
"Date of Service" on form.

Name and mailing address of Judgment Creditor or Attorney 
(To be completed by Judgment Creditor or Attorney)

Judgment Creditor or Attorney  Clerk Proper Officer

A
pp

lic
at

io
n

APPWEX

WAGEEX

File date

Employer: See Page 2 for instructions

G.A. J.D. Housing Session Date of judgment Docket number

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Creditor(s) Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Debtor(s)

Name and address of employer of Judgment Debtor  (If known) Telephone number of employer  (if known)

1. Amount of judgment  (Include where applicable, prejudgment interest and attorney's fees) 2. Amount of costs and fees

3. Total amount of judgment, costs and fees  (Add 1 and 2) 4. Total amount paid  (If any) 5. Total amount unpaid  (Subtract 4 from 3)

6. Application fee for wage execution  (If not waived by the court)

8. Other Court ordered postjudgment costs and fees 9. Total of lines 5, 6, 7 and 8 Postjudgment interest was 
ordered by the Court

On  (Date)

*APPWEX*

*WAGEEX*

For Court Use Only

7. Application fees paid for prior executions on this judgment

The above-named Judgment Creditor(s) recovered a judgment against the above-named Judgment Debtor(s).  The Judgment Debtor(s) has/have 
failed to pay the total amount due on that judgment. 
Pursuant to the Connecticut General Statutes, the Court listed above entered an order that the judgment be paid by the above-named  
Judgment Debtor(s) in the following installment payments:

The amount of was ordered to be paid in (weekly, monthly, or other) installment payments. *See Note below

The court ordered that installment payments begin on (commencement date)

The Judgment Debtor(s) failed to comply with the Installment Payment Order  
  

Therefore, the Judgment Creditor(s) applies/apply for this execution upon the wages of the Judgment Debtor(s)  for the remaining amount 
due on the judgment shown in line 9 above

To: Any Proper Officer 
By the authority of the State of Connecticut, you are ordered to cause any wages due to the Judgment 
Debtor(s), not exceeding the Amount of Execution calculated on page 2, to be paid to the Judgment 
Creditor(s) until the judgment is satisfied, including postjudgment interest as ordered by the court, if 
applicable, plus the application fee(s) and other Court ordered postjudgment costs and fees, and your own 
fees or until the execution is modified or set aside. 
Serve this execution within one year of this date, and make return of service to this courtwithin thirty days 
from satisfaction of the execution.

  (Note: This is not the amount the employer must pay.  Employer must pay the amount of execution calculated on page 2 of this form.

Signed (Judgment Creditor or Attorney) On  (Date) Telephone Number

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State 
of Connecticut complies with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a 
reasonable accommodation in accordance 
with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA 
contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

SAMPLE
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Page 2 of 2JD-CV-3  Rev. 2-15

Important Notice To Employer
You are being served with a wage execution, a court order requiring you to withhold non-exempt wages from a person employed by you. This execution is being served on you 
because your employee, the Judgment Debtor (on page 1), has had a judgment entered against him/her by the Superior Court requiring him/her to pay judgment, costs and fees to 
the Judgment Creditor (on page 1) and has not made payment of the total amount of the judgment plus any costs and fees as shown on page 1. This notice is to inform you of the 
actions you must take in order to comply with the law regarding wage executions. Please read each section carefully.

I. You must notify the employee —  Your employee has certain legal rights which 
may allow him/her to request the court to change or stop this execution upon his/her 
wages. A notice of his/her rights and how  to get a hearing in court is attached to the 
second copy of the  wage execution given to you by the officer. You must complete 
your portion of the wage execution and your portion of the exemption and modification 
claim form and  deliver or mail, postage prepaid, a copy of these papers to your 
employee immediately  so that your employee can make any claims allowed by law. 

II. Execution not effective for 20 days —  This execution is not effective until after 
20 days from the day the officer served these papers on you. No money should be 
deducted from your employee's wages until the first wages you pay to your employee 
after the 20-day period ends. If your employee elects within the 20-day period to 
make a claim to the court that his/her wages are partially or totally exempt from 
execution to pay this judgment or he/she seeks to have the amount of this execution 
changed, wages are not to be withheld from the employee until the court decides the 
claims or determines the rights of your employee in this case. If you are not notified 
that your employee has filed papers with the court, the execution is to be enforced 
after 20 days from the date of service on you. 

III. Stay of execution  — No earnings claimed to be exempt or subject to a claim for 
modification may be withheld from any employee until determination of the claim by 
the court. 

IV. Only one execution issued under section 52-361a of the General Statutes is 
to be satisfied at a time  — You must make deductions from your employee's wages 
and pay over the withheld money against only one execution issued under General 
Statutes section 52-361a at a time. If you are served with more than one execution 
issued under General Statutes section 52-361a against this employee's wages, the 

Court ordered limitation  (If any, to be entered by clerk)

executions are to be satisfied in the order in which you are served with them. (Income 
withholdings and voluntary wage deductions for support of a family, if there are any, 
must be paid before this execution. Family support income withholdings and voluntary 
wage deductions are issued on Form JD-FM-1.) 

V. Maximum amount deducted — The maximum amount which can be legally 
withheld from your employee's wages is 25% of his/her disposable earnings for each 
week. The amount to be withheld to pay this execution may be less than 25%, but it 
can never be more. The computations you complete below will allow you to calculate 
the exact amount which should be withheld from this employee's wages. 

Unless the court orders that this execution is to be for a smaller amount, you must 
withhold and pay over the maximum amount which you figure out using the 
computations below. Your employee has a right to request the court to reduce the 
amount withheld, but until you receive notice that the court has agreed to allow the 
amount to be reduced, you must withhold the maximum amount. 

VI. Your duty to comply with this execution — You have a legal duty to make 
deductions from your employee's wages and pay any amounts deducted as required 
by this execution. If you do not, legal action may be taken against you. If you are 
found to be in contempt of a court order, you may be held liable to the Judgment 
Creditor for the amounts of wages which you did not withhold from your employee. 

VII. Discipline against your employee — You may not discipline, suspend or 
discharge your employee because this wage execution has been served upon you. If 
you do unlawfully take action against your employee, you may be liable to pay  him all 
of his lost earnings and employment benefits from the time of your action to the time 
that the employee is reinstated. 

The law allows you to take disciplinary measures against the employee if you are 
served with more than 7 wage executions against his/her wages in any calendar year.

"Disposable Earnings" means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of amounts to be 
withheld for payment of federal income and employment taxes, normal retirement contributions, union dues and initiation fees, group life 
insurance premiums, health insurance premiums, and federal tax levies.

Section I. Calculation Of Employee's Disposable Earnings

  1. Employee's gross compensation per week..........................................................................  

  2. Federal income tax withheld ........................................................  

  3. Federal employment tax..............................................................  

  4. Normal retirement contribution .....................................................  

  5. Union dues and initiation fees ......................................................  

  6. Group life insurance premium ......................................................  

  7. Health insurance premium.................................. .........................  

  8. Other federal tax levies ...............................................................  

  9. Total allowable deductions (Add lines 2-8) ......................................  

10. Weekly Disposable Earnings (Subtract line 9 from line 1).......................................................

To be calculated by employer Column 1 Column 2

A-1. Weekly disposable earnings  (from line 10 above) $

$

$

$

$

$

A-2. 25% of disposable earnings for week

Amount of Execution (Employer must pay the lesser of the two amounts in column 2 unless the court 
ordered limitation set forth below is a lesser amount, in which case the employer must pay that lesser amount) 

B-1. Weekly disposable earnings  (from line 10 above)

Forty times the higher of the current federal minimum 
hourly wage or state full minimum fair wage.

        Amount by which line B-1 exceeds B-2 

B-2.

Section II. Calculation Of Employee's Disposable EarningsSAMPLE
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Exemption and modification claimPage 1 of 2

Employer must fill out this section and IMMEDIATELY send one copy of this form and the Wage 
Execution form (JD-CV-3) to the judgment debtor (General Statutes section 52-361a(d)).Section III -

EXEMPTION AND MODIFICATION  
CLAIM FORM, WAGE EXECUTION 
JD-CV-3a    Rev. 11-15 
C.G.S. § 31-58(i), 52-212, 52-350a, 52-352b, 52-361a, 
52-361b, 29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1) 

Instructions

Judgment Creditor (person who money is paid to) must fill out this section and attach to one copy of  the 
wage execution application (JD-CV-3).

To proper officer: Complete Section II below and 
make service on employer in accordance with the 
instructions on form JD-CV-3.

To employer:  Complete Section III below and 
immediately deliver to employee.

Because a judgment entered against you, the attached execution has been issued against wages earned by you from the employer 
named above. Beginning twenty (20) days from the Date of Service of Wage Execution on Employer indicated above, the employer will 
remove from your weekly earnings an amount of money which leaves you with (a) seventy-five percent (75%) of your disposable earnings 
OR (b) forty (40) times the higher of the minimum hourly wage set by federal law or state law; whichever is the larger amount. On page 2 of 
this form are the sections of the Connecticut General Statutes which your employer must follow to figure out (calculate) the weekly amount 
that may be taken out of your wages to agree with the wage execution. If you think that your employer has not calculated the weekly 
amount correctly, you should tell your employer. 

Your earnings may be exempt from execution (do not have to be taken)  — Any wages earned by a person who gets public 
assistance under an incentive earnings or similar program are exempt from (may not be taken from you) execution. (Section 52-352b(d) of 
the Connecticut General Statutes). 

How to claim an exemption allowed by law  — If you want to claim that your earnings are exempt by law from execution you must fill 
out and sign the Claim of Exemption on page 2 of this form and return this exemption and modification claim form to the Superior Court at 
the above address. 

When the clerk of the Superior Court gets this form, the clerk will notify you and the judgment creditor of the date on which the court will 
have a hearing to figure out the issues raised by your claim. If this form is received by the court no later than twenty (20) days from the Date 
of Service of Wage Execution on Employer indicated above, the employer will not begin withholding  (removing) your earnings from your 
wages until after your claim is figured out by the court. A claim may also be filed after the twenty (20) day period. No earnings claimed to be 
exempt may be withheld from any employee until the claim has been figured out. 

Modification of execution  — If you have reasonable cause to believe that you have a right to a modification (change) of the wage 
execution and you want to ask for a modification (to have less money taken from your wages), you must fill out the Claim for Modification on 
page 2 of this form and return this exemption and modification claim form to the Superior Court 
at the address listed above. 

When the clerk of Superior Court gets this form the clerk will tell you and the judgment 
creditor the date on which the court will have a hearing to figure out the issues raised by your 
claim. If this form is received by the court no later than twenty (20) days from the Date of Service 
of Wage Execution on Employer indicated above, the employer will not begin withholding your 
earnings until after your claim is figured out by the court. A claim may also be filed after the twenty 
(20) day period. No earnings subject to a claim for modification may be withheld from any 
employee until the claim has been figured out. 

Setting aside judgment  — If the judgment was made against you because you did not 
come to court, you may, within four (4) months of the date the court made its judgment and upon 
belief that you have reasonable cause, ask the court to set aside the judgment entered against 
you and the case will begin again. A fee will be charged to you for a motion to set aside judgment.

Name and mailing address of judgment debtor (person who must pay money) or 
attorney of judgment debtor 

(To be completed by judgment creditor (person who money is paid to))

Section II  - Proper Officer must complete this section

To:

Judicial  
District

Housing 
Session

Total amount of wage execution 

$
Amount to be taken out from weekly earnings 

$

For Court Use Only
File date

Section IV - Notice to judgment debtor (person who must pay money)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Geographical 
Area 
number

Section I -
Name and address of court

Name of case Docket number

Name of judgment debtor (person who must pay money)

Name of proper officer Date of service of wage execution on employer

Name and address of employer Telephone number of payroll department

Date of delivery or mailing to judgment debtor

*M%M��%*
M X M P E X

SAMPLE
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Page 2 of 2JD-CV-3a  (back/page 2)  Rev. 11-15

Section VII - Agreement to a modification

Section V - Claim of exemption established by law
I, the Judgment Debtor (person who must pay money), claim and certify under the penalty of false statement that my 

earnings are exempt from execution (do not have to be taken) because:

New amount requested

Signed  (Judgment Debtor) Date signed

I get public assistance and earn wages under an incentive earnings or similar program and my earnings  
are exempt from execution, or
Other statutory exemption (state exemption and statutory citation)

Name and address of judgment debtor Telephone number

I, the Judgment Debtor (person who must pay money), ask for a modification of the wage execution against me because:
Describe why you think you should get a modification (have less money taken from your wages)

Signed  (Judgment Debtor) Date signed Name and complete mailing address of judgment debtor Telephone number

The Judgment Creditor(s) (person who money is paid to) agrees to the modification of the Wage Execution claimed
Signed  (Judgment Creditor(s) or Attorney)) Date

Date of hearing
By the Assistant Clerk

It is ordered that:

Signed  (Judge, Magistrate, Assistant  Clerk) Date signed
By order of the court

1. The following is the part of section 52-361a(f) of the Connecticut General Statutes which says what part of your wages can be removed by the employer 
and given to the judgment creditor. 

"The maximum part of the aggregate weekly earnings of an individual which may be subject under this section to levy or other withholding for payment of 
a judgment is the lesser of (1) twenty-five (25) percent of his disposable earnings for that week, or (2) the amount by which his disposable earnings for that 
week exceed forty (40) times the higher of (A) the minimum hourly wage prescribed by section 6(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. 
Section 206(a)(1), or (B) the full minimum fair wage established by subsection (i) of section 31-58, in effect at the time the earnings are payable." 

2. The following is the part of section 52-350a(4) of the Connecticut General Statutes which defines disposable earnings and which defines what parts of 
your wages which can not be included in your total earnings when figuring out (calculating) the weekly amount which is subject to execution. 

"'Disposable earnings' means that part of the earnings of an individual remaining after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required to be 
withheld for payment of federal income and employment taxes, normal retirement contributions, union dues and initiation fees, group life insurance 
premiums, health insurance premiums and federal tax levies."

/ Per week

Section VI - Claim for modification

Section VIII - Notice of hearing on exemption / modification claim

Section IX - Order of court

General Statutes

Time of hearing Courtroom

__. M.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a 
reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact the clerk at the court named on page 1 or an ADA 
contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/. 

Name of Judgment Creditor(s) or Attorney

SAMPLE
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(Fold)

PROPERTY EXECUTION PROCEEDINGSPage 1 of 2

Address of Court (Number, street, and town)

6. Application fee for property execution

A
pp

lic
at

io
n

Ex
ec

ut
io

n

PROPERTY EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS 
APPLICATION, ORDER, EXECUTION
JD-CV-5 Rev. 9-09, C.G.S. §§ 52-356a, 52-356d 
P.A. 03-266 Sec. 9

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Type or print original and four copies of the 
Application. If judgment debtor is a natural person, 
attach copy of form JD-CV-5b. Present original and 
3 copies to clerk of court. Enter name and address 
of person to receive issued execution in the address 
box below. See Notice to Judgment Creditor or 
Attorney on back/page 2.

Signed (Assistant Clerk)

Check the file to ensure that no stay of enforcement has 
been entered on the judgment, the time for filing an 
appeal of the judgment has expired, no appeal has been 
filed staying enforcement of the judgment and that the 
information provided on the application is correct. Sign 
original execution; return original and 2 copies to the 
applicant. Retain a copy for the file.

Make execution as directed in the "Execution" section 
below. Attach return to signed original within 4 months 
from the date this execution issued. If judgment debtor 
is a natural person, attach exemption claim form 
JD-CV-5b to copy(ies) of execution served. Complete 
Section II on exemption claim form.

Name and mailing address of Judgment Creditor or Attorney 
(To be completed by Judgment Creditor or Attorney)

To Clerk To Proper Officer

Signed  (Judgment Creditor or Attorney)

EXISSUE

EXRETD

See Back/Page 2 for Instructions to person in possession of property of Judgment Debtor

To Judgment Creditor or Attorney

Is this a Consumer judgment?     ("Consumer judgment" means a money judgment of less than $5,000 against a natural person resulting from a debt incurred primarily for 
personal, family or household purposes)

To Any Proper Officer: 
Whereas on said date of judgment the Judgment Creditor(s) recovered judgment against the Judgment Debtor(s) before the court for 
the amount stated, as appears of record, whereof execution remains to be done. These are, therefore, BY AUTHORITY OF THE 
STATE OF CONNECTICUT TO COMMAND YOU: That of the nonexempt goods of said Judgment Debtor(s) within your precincts, 
you cause to be levied (the same being seized and sold as the law directs), paid and satisfied to said Judgment Creditor(s) the total 
unpaid amount of said judgment, plus your own fees in the following manner: You shall personally serve a copy of this execution on 
the judgment debtor, and if the judgment debtor is a natural person, a copy of the exemption claim form (JD-CV-5b), and make 
demand for payment by the judgment debtor of all sums due under the money judgment. On failure of the judgment debtor to make 
immediate payment you are commanded to levy on nonexempt personal property of the judgment debtor, other than debts due from a 
banking institution or earnings, sufficient to satisfy the judgment as follows: If such nonexempt personal property is in the possession 
of the judgment debtor, you shall take such personal property into your possession as is accessible without breach of peace. If the 
judgment debtor has left the state prior to service of this execution, or if he cannot be found with reasonable effort at his last known 
address in this state, you shall proceed with the levy after (1) making demand for payment at such last known address and on any 
agent or attorney of the judgment debtor of record with the clerk of the Superior Court and (2) making a reasonable effort to ascertain 
and provide notice of the execution at any forwarding address. 
See back/page 2 for additional command regarding Demand on Third Person. 
  
HEREOF FAIL NOT, AND MAKE DUE RETURN OF THIS WRIT WITH YOUR DOINGS THEREON, 
ACCORDING TO LAW, WITHIN FOUR MONTHS HEREOF. 
  
NOTICE: THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR'S NONEXEMPT PERSONAL PROPERTY IS SUBJECT TO  LEVY, 

SEIZURE, AND SALE BY THE PROPER OFFICER PURSUANT TO THIS EXECUTION.

If yes, has a stay of property execution been 
entered pursuant to an installment payment order?

(Include, where applicable, prejudgment interest 
and attorney's fees)

(If not waived 
by the court)

APPFEXT

FOR COURT USE ONLY

Is this judgment arising out of services provided at a hospital?

Geographic Area Judicial District Housing Session Date of judgment Docket number

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Creditor(s) making application Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Debtor(s) 
(Include any necessary identification information)

1. Amount of judgment 2. Amount of costs and fees 3. Total amount of judgment, costs and fees

4. Total amount paid  (If any) 5. Total amount unpaid  (Subtract 4 from 3) 7. total of lines 5 and 6

No Yes (If yes, see Notice to Judgment Creditor or Attorney on back/page 2)

No Yes No Yes
If a stay of property execution has been entered, has the Judgment Debtor defaulted on an installment payment order?  (Specify)

Date signed Telephone number  (Include area code)

On  (Date)

*APPFEXT*

*EXISSUE*

*EXRETD*

(Add 1 and 2)

SAMPLE
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PERSON IN POSSESSION OF PROPERTY OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR WHO IS A NATURAL PERSON  —  Pursuant to Gen. Stat. 
52-356a, you are required to mail to the judgment debtor indicated on the front/page 1 at his or her last known address, postage prepaid, 
a copy of this property execution and the attached property execution exemption claim form. Complete Section III on exemption claim form 
before mailing it to judgment debtor. Twenty days from the date of the service of this property execution, you must deliver to the proper 
officer property owned by the judgment debtor in your possession or you must deliver to the proper officer payment of a debt owed by you 
to the judgment debtor. EXCEPT (1) If an exemption claim has been filed with the court you shall withhold delivery of the property or 
payment of the debt owed by you subject to the determination of the exemption claim by the court and (2) if the debt owed by you to the 
judgment debtor is not due at the expiration of the twenty days, you shall pay the amount to the proper officer when the debt becomes due 
if it becomes due within four months after the date of issuance of this execution.

PERSON IN POSSESSION OF PROPERTY OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR WHO IS NOT A NATURAL PERSON —  Pursuant to Gen. Stat. 
52-356a, you are required to deliver to the proper officer, property in your possession owned by the judgment debtor or pay to the proper 
officer the amount of a debt owed by you to the judgment debtor, provided, if the debt owed by you is not yet payable, payment shall be 
made to the proper officer when the debt becomes due if it becomes due within four months after the date of issuance of this execution.

A.  If judgment debtor is a natural person: 
On failure of the judgment debtor to make immediate payment 

of all sums due under the money judgment, and upon your being 
unable to levy on nonexempt personal property of the judgment 
debtor in the judgment debtor's possession and, if the judgment 
debtor has left the state prior to the service of this execution, upon 
your being unable to obtain payment sufficient to satisfy the 
judgment by making demand for payment at the judgment debtor's 
last known address in this state and on any agent or attorney of the 
judgment debtor of record with the clerk of the Superior Court, you 
are also commanded to make demand upon any third person having 
possession of nonexempt personal property of the judgment debtor 
for payment to you, or to levy on any nonexempt personal property 
or debt due said judgment debtor sufficient to satisfy the total 
amount of judgment unpaid pursuant to Gen. Stat. 52-356a(4)(c). 
After having made such demand you are directed to serve two true 
and attested copies of this execution, together with the exemption 
claim form, with your doings endorsed thereon, on the third person 
upon whom such demand was made.

Demand On third Person (continued from front/page 1)

B.  If judgment debtor is not a natural person: 
On failure of the judgment debtor to make 

immediate payment of all sums due under the money 
judgment and upon your being unable to levy on 
nonexempt personal property of the judgment debtor in 
the judgment debtor's  possession and, if the judgment 
debtor has left the state prior to the service of this 
execution, upon your being unable to obtain payment 
sufficient to satisfy the judgment by making demand 
for payment at the judgment debtor's last known 
address in this state and on any agent or attorney of 
the judgment debtor of record with the clerk of the 
Superior Court, you are also commanded to make 
demand upon any third person having possession of 
nonexempt personal property of the judgment debtor 
for payment to you or to levy on any nonexempt 
personal property or debt due said judgment debtor(s) 
sufficient to satisfy the total amount of the judgment 
unpaid pursuant to Gen. Stat. 52-356a(4)(c).

Ex
ec

ut
io

n 
(c

on
tin

ue
d)

Instructions (continued from front/page 1)

Notice To Judgment Creditor Or Attorney

Pursuant to Public Act 03-266, Section 9, in the case of a judgment arising of services provided at a hospital, no application for a property 
execution shall be made until the court has (A) issued an order for installment payments in accordance with Gen. Stat. 52-356d, (B) made 
a finding that the debtor has defaulted on payments under the order, and (C) lifted the mandatory stay concerning noncompliance or 
default, and decide whether to modify the installment payment plan, continue the  installment payment plan, or lift the stay.

SAMPLE



61

EXEMPTION CLAIM FORMPage 1 of 2

Address of Court (Number, street, town, zip code)

EXEMPTION CLAIM FORM 
PROPERTY EXECUTION 
JD-CV-5b  Rev. 4-13 
C.G.S. 52-321a, 52-352b, 52-361a, 52-361b

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

As a result of a judgment entered against you the attached execution has been issued against your personal property. 
Some of your personal property may be exempt from execution — Certain classes of personal property may be protected 
from execution by state statutes or other laws or regulations of this state or of the United States. A checklist and description of 
the most common classes of personal property of a natural person exempt from execution are listed on page 2 of this form. 

How to claim an exemption established by law — If you want to claim that the property levied on by the levying officer is 
exempt by law from execution you must fill out and sign the Claim of Exemption on page 2 of this form and return this 
exemption claim form to the clerk of the Superior court at the address above. The form must be received by the clerk of 
the Superior Court within 20 days after levy on the property. 

Upon receipt of this form, the court clerk will send you and the judgment creditor the date of the court hearing on your 
claim. 

Right to request installment payment order — If you are a consumer judgment debtor, you may seek to have the court 
issue an installment payment order with a provision that compliance with the order prevents a levy on your property. (Section 
52-356d of the Connecticut General Statutes.) An installment payment order is a court order that you pay a weekly amount to 
the judgment creditor until the judgment is satisfied. 

"Consumer Judgment" means a money judgment of less than $5,000 against a natural person resulting from a debt or 
obligation incurred primarily for personal, family, or household purposes. 

Setting aside the judgment — If the judgment was rendered against you because you did not come to court, you may ask 
the court to set aside the judgment rendered against you within four months of the date judgment was rendered and upon 
belief that you have reasonable cause. (Section 52-212 of the Connecticut General Statutes.)

Name and mailing address of Judgment Debtor or Attorney 
(To be completed by judgment creditor or judgment creditor's attorney)

Date execution mailed to Judgment Debtor

Date of service of execution

Section 1  (Must be completed by Judgment Creditor or Judgment Creditor's attorney)

Section 2 (Must be completed by proper officer)

Section 3 (Must be completed by third person served with execution (if any))

Name and address of third person served with execution  (if any)

Name and address of proper officer

To Judgment Creditor or Judgment Creditor's 
Attorney: Complete section 1 below and follow 

instructions on form JD-CV-5. 
To proper officer: Complete section 2 below and 

follow instructions on form JC-CV-5. 
To third person: Complete section 3 below and follow 

instructions on form JD-CV-5. 
To Judgment Debtor: Read section 4 below and 

complete section 5 if it applies to you.

Instructions

Section 4 — Notice To Judgment Debtor

Telephone number (if known)

FOR COURT USE ONLY

MXMPEX

Geographical Area Judicial District Housing Session

Name of Case Docket number

Name of Judgment Debtor

*M%M��%*

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

SAMPLE
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Time of hearingDate of hearing

I claim and certify under penalty of false statement that the property described below is exempt from execution as follows:

Necessary apparel, bedding, foodstuffs, household furniture and appliances; 
Tools, books, instruments, farm animals and livestock feed, which are necessary to the exemptioner in the course of his or her 
occupation, profession, farming operation or farming partnership; 
Burial plot for the exemptioner and his or her immediate family; 
Public assistance payments and any wages earned by a public assistance recipient under an incentive earnings or similar program; 
Health and disability insurance payments; 
Health aids necessary to enable the exemptioner to work or to sustain health; 
Worker's compensation, social security, veterans and unemployment benefits; 
Court approved payments for child support; 
Arms and military equipment, uniforms or musical instruments owned by any member of the militia or armed forces of the United 
States; 
One motor vehicle to the value of $3,500, provided such value shall be determined as the fair market value of the motor vehicle less 
the amount of all liens and security interests which encumber it. 
Wedding and engagement rings; 
Residential utility deposits for one residence and one residential security deposit; 
Any assets or interests of an exemptioner in, or payments received by the exemptioner from, a plan or arrangement described in 
section 52-321a; 
Alimony and support, other than child support, but only to the extent that wages are exempt from execution under general statute 
section 52-361a; 
An award under a crime reparations act; 
All benefits allowed by any association of persons in this state towards the support of any of its members incapacitated by sickness or 
infirmity from attending to his usual business; and 
All moneys due the exemptioner from any insurance company on any insurance policy issued on exempt property, to the same extent 
that the property was exempt. 
Any interest of the exemptioner in any property not to exceed in value $1,000; 
Any interest of the exemptioner not to exceed in value $4,000 in any accrued dividend or interest under, or loan value of, any 
unmatured life insurance contract owned by the exemptioner under which the insured is the exemptioner or an individual of whom the 
exemptioner is a dependent; and 
The homestead of the exemptioner to the value of $75,000 or, in the case of a money judgment arising out of services provided at a 
hospital, to the value of $125,000, provided value shall be determined as the fair market value of the real property less the amount of 
any statutory or consensual lien which encumbers it. 
Irrevocable transfers of money to an account held by a debt adjuster licensed pursuant to sections 36a-655 to 36a-665 inclusive for the 
benefit of creditors of the exemptioner.

Section 5 — Claim Of Exemption Established By Law

Name and address of person holding property

Property claimed to be exempt

Describe basis for exemption as established by law

Telephone number

Signed  (Judgment Debtor)

Signed  (Judge, Magistrate, Assistant Clerk)

Complete mailing address of Judgment Debtor

Date signed

Telephone number

Date signed

By the Assistant Clerk

Ordered that the following item(s) are exempt from execution:

By Order of the Court

Checklist And Description Of Common Exemptions Allowed By Law 
(Section 52-352b of the Connecticut General Statutes)

__.M.
Courtroom number

Section 6 — Notice Of Hearing On Exemption/Modification Claim

Section 7 — Order Of Court

(a) 
(b) 
  
(c) 
(d) 
(e) 
(f) 
(g) 
(h) 
(i) 
  
(j) 
  
(k) 
(l) 
(m) 
  
(n) 
  
(o) 
(p) 
  
(q) 
  
(r) 
(s) 
  
  
(t) 
  
  
(u)

SAMPLE
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FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION PROCEEDINGSPage 1 of 2

8. Other court ordered postjudgment costs and fees

1. Amount of judgment 

Address of court Judicial district

FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION 
PROCEEDINGS - JUDGMENT DEBTOR 
WHO IS A NATURAL PERSON, 
APPLICATION AND EXECUTION (See page 2 for instructions to financial institution 

 and ADA Notice)
JD-CV-24   Rev. 2-15 
C.G.S.  §§ 52-356b, 52-367b 
P.A. 14-7, 14-9

Financial Institution Execution

Signed  (Assistant Clerk)

Signed  (Judgment Creditor or Attorney)

Geographic 
area 
number

Hereof fail not, and make due return of this writ with your doings thereon, according to law.

A
pp

lic
at

io
n

1. Type or print legibly. 
2. Complete the application section; prepare original and 2 copies. 
3. Complete section 1 of the Exemption Claim Form, JD-CV-24a and attach to this form. 
4. Present original and 1 copy to clerk of court. Retain a copy.

1. Check the file to ensure that the information provided     
on the application is correct. 

2. Sign original execution. 
3. Return original to applicant, retain a copy for file.

Instructions - Judgment Creditor Or Attorney Instructions - Clerk

Name and mailing address of Judgment Creditor or Attorney  (To be completed by Judgment Creditor)

Fo
ld

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

(Include, where applicable, 
prejudgment interest and 
attorney's fees)

Is this judgment arising out of services rendered at a hospital?

If this is a judgment arising out of services rendered at a hospital, has a stay of a financial institution execution been 
entered pursuant to an installment payment order?

To any proper officer, 
Whereas on said Date of Judgment the above-named Judgment Creditor(s) recovered judgment against the above-named Judgment Debtor(s) before the above-
named court for the amount of judgment, costs and fees stated above, as appears of record, whereof execution remains to be done.  
These are, therefore, by authority of the state of Connecticut to command you: 
Within seven days from your receipt of this execution, make demand upon the main office of any financial institution having its main office within your county, or if such 
main office is not within your county and such financial institution has one or more branch offices within your county, upon an employee of such a branch office, such 
employee and such branch office having been designated by the financial institution in accordance with regulations adopted by the commissioner of banking, for 
payment to you pursuant to section 52-367b(b) of the General Statutes of any nonexempt debt due said Judgment Debtor(s), which sum shall not exceed the total 
unpaid judgment, costs and fees as stated above, plus postjudgment interest as ordered by the court, if applicable, plus the application fee and other court ordered 
postjudgment costs and fees and your own fee. After having made such demand you are directed to serve a true and attested copy of this execution, together with the 
attached affidavit and exemption claim form, with your doings endorsed thereon, with the financial institution officer upon whom such demand was made.  Said sum 
shall be received by you and applied on this execution in accordance with the provisions of section 52-367b of the General Statutes. You shall not serve more than one 
financial institution execution per judgment debtor at a time, including copies thereof. After service of an execution on one 
financial institution, you shall not serve the same execution or a copy  thereof upon another financial institution until receiving 
confirmation from the preceding financial institution that the judgment debtor had insufficient funds at the preceding financial  
institution available for collection to satisfy the execution, provided any such additional service is made not later than forty-five 
days from the receipt by you of such execution. After service of an execution, you shall not serve the same execution or a  
copy thereof upon such financial institution if an electronic direct deposit from a readily identifiable source described in  
section 52 -376b (c) of the General Statutes was made to the judgment debtor's account within the look-back period  
described in section 52 -376b (c) of the General Statues (sixty days or, with regard to federal benefits, such greater period as 
required by federal law). If no such deposit was made, you may subsequently serve the same execution or a copy thereof  
upon such institution, provided the execution has not expired or otherwise become unenforceable.

For Court Use Only 

If a stay of a financial institution execution has been entered, has the Judgment Debtor defaulted on an installment payment order?

Check if applicable

Housing session

Docket number

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Creditor(s)

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Debtor(s)

Date of judgment 2. Amount of costs 3. Amount of judgment, costs and fees (Add 1 and 2)

4. Total amount paid  (If any) 5.Total amount unpaid  (Subtract 4 from 3) 6. Application fee for financial institution execution  (If not waived by the court)

7. Application fees paid for prior executions on this judgment 9.Total of items 5, 6, 7 and 8 

postjudgment interest was ordered by the courtNo Yes

No Yes

No Yes  (Specify):
Date signed Telephone number

Date signed

*APFEABA*
* A P F E A B A *

*EXISSUE*
* E X I S S U E *

SAMPLE
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Instructions To Financial Institution Upon Receipt Of A Financial Institution Execution 
When Judgment Debtor Is A Natural Person

NOTE: The provisions of section 52-367b, as amended from time to time, take precedence over these instructions.

1. If any funds are removed from the judgment debtor's account pursuant to subsection (c) of section 52-367b of the General Statutes, 
complete section II of the accompanying Exemption Claim Form (JD-CV-24a) and (1) send, forthwith, 2 copies of both this form and the 
Exemption Claim Form to the judgment debtor and to any secured party that is a party to a control agreement between you and such 
secured party under article 9 of title 42a of the General Statutes, postage pre-paid, at the last known address of the judgment debtor and 
of any such secured party with respect to the affected accounts on the records of your institution and (2) mail notice to the judgment 
debtor as required by 31CFR212.6 and 212.7. 

2. Remove from the judgment debtor's account the amount of any debts due from you to the judgment debtor not exceeding the Total 
Amount Unpaid as appears on page 1 of this form plus interest and the Application Fee for Financial Institution Execution and other court 
ordered postjudgment costs or fees and the serving officer's fee, before your midnight deadline, as defined in section 42a-4-104 of the 
General Statutes. If an electronic direct deposit is readily identifiable as exempt federal veterans' benefits, Social Security benefits, 
including, but not limited to, retirement, survivors' and disability benefits, supplemental security income benefits, exempt benefits paid by 
the federal Railroad Retirement Board or the federal Office of Personnel Management, unemployment compensation benefits exempt 
under section 52-352b of the Connecticut General Statutes, or child support payments processed and received pursuant to Title IV-D of 
the Social Security Act were made to the judgment debtor's account during the look-back period of either the sixty-day period preceding 
the date that the execution was served on you, or, with regard to federal benefits, such greater period as required by federal law then you 
shall leave the lesser of the account balance or one thousand dollars in the judgment debtor's account, provided nothing in this 
subsection shall be construed to limit your right or obligation to remove such funds from the judgment debtor's account if required by any 
other provision of law or by a court order. The judgment debtor shall have full and customary access to such funds left in the judgment 
debtor's account. You may notify the judgment creditor that funds have been left in the judgment debtor's account pursuant to this 
provision. Nothing herein shall alter the exempt status of funds which are exempt from execution under subsection (a) of section 52-367b 
of the General Statutes or under any other provision of state or federal law, or the right of a judgment debtor to claim such exemption. 
Nothing herein shall be construed to affect any other rights or obligations of the financial institution with regard to the funds in the 
judgment debtor's account. 

3. You must hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account pursuant to this execution for fifteen days from the date you mail 
the copies of this form and the Exemption Claim Form to the judgment debtor and any secured party. During such fifteen day period you 
must not pay the officer serving this execution. 

4. If the judgment debtor returns the Exemption Claim Form or other written notice that an exemption is being claimed, and if any secured 
party delivers to you written notice of such secured party's claim of a prior perfected security interest in such deposit account, you must, 
within two business days of receipt of such notice, send a copy of such notice to the clerk of the court which issued the execution. You 
must continue to hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account for forty-five days or until a court order is received 
regarding disposition of the funds, whichever occurs earlier. If no order is received within forty-five days of the date you send a copy of 
the Exemption Claim Form or notice of exemption or a secured party claim notice to the clerk of the court, you must return the funds to 
the judgment debtor's account. 

5. If you do not receive a claim of exemption or secured party claim notice within fifteen days of the mailing to the judgment debtor and any 
secured party of the execution and Exemption Claim Form you must, upon demand, forthwith pay the serving officer the amount 
removed from the judgment debtor's account. 

6. If no exemption claim or secured party claim notice is filed or if the court orders you to pay the serving officer an amount removed from 
the judgment debtor's account not exceeding the amount due on the execution and you fail or refuse to do so, you shall be liable in an 
action therefor to the judgement creditor(s) named in the execution for the amount of nonexempt monies which you fail or refuse to pay 
over. If no exemption claim is filed or if the court orders you to pay the serving officer an amount removed from the judgment debtor's 
account not exceeding the amount due on the execution and you fail or refuse to do so, you shall be liable in an action therefor to the 
judgment creditor(s) name in the execution for the amount of nonexempt monies which you fail or refuse to pay over, excluding funds of 
up to one thousand dollars which you in good faith allowed the judgment debtor to access pursuant to subsection (c) of section 52-367b 
of the General Statutes. 

7. If you pay exempt monies from the account of the judgment debtor contrary to these instructions, or the provisions of section 52-367b of 
the General Statutes, you shall be liable in an action therefor to the judgment debtor for any exempt monies so paid. If you pay exempt 
monies from the account of the judgment debtor contrary to these instructions, or the provisions of section 52-367b of the General 
Statutes, you shall be liable in an action therefor to the judgment debtor for any exempt monies so paid and you shall refund or waive 
any charges of fees by you, including, but not limited to, dishonored check fees, overdraft fees or minimum balance service charges and 
legal process fees, which were assessed as a result of such payment of exempt monies.

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the 
ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

SAMPLE
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EXEMPTION CLAIM FORM 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION 
JD-CV-24A   Rev. 1-17 
C.G.S. 31-58(i), 52-321a, 52-350a, 52-352b, 52-361a, 
52-367b, 29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Signed

Section 1 — �7o Ee comSleted E\ MudJment creditor�

Section 2 — �7o Ee comSleted E\ financial institution � see instructions on EacN�SaJe �� 

As a result of a judgment entered against you, the attached execution has been issued against funds deposited by you in the 
financial institution named above. To comply with this execution, the financial institution has removed the amount of money indicated 
above from the account(s) listed above.  

THE MONEY IN YOUR ACCOUNT(S) MAY BE EXEMPT FROM EXECUTION  - The money in your account(s) may be protected from 
execution by state statutes or by other laws or regulations of Connecticut or of the United States. A checklist and a description of the most 
common exemptions established by law are set forth below.  

HOW TO CLAIM AN EXEMPTION ESTABLISHED BY LAW.  If you wish to claim that the money in your account(s) is exempt by law 
from execution, you must fill out and sign before a proper official the Affidavit of Claim of Exemption below and mail or deliver this 
exemption claim form to the financial institution at the above address. This form must be received by the financial institution no later than 
15 days from the DATE OF MAILING TO THE JUDGMENT DEBTOR indicated above. 

Upon receipt of this form the financial institution will send it to the Superior Court and the court clerk will notify you and the judgment 
creditor of the date on which a hearing will be held by the court to determine the issues raised by your claim.

I, the judgment debtor named above, claim and certify under the penalty of false statement that the money in the above account 
is exempt by law from execution as follows:  ("X" all that apply to the funds contained in this account)

Signed (Notary Public, Commissioner of Superior Court)

Name and address of Judgment Debtor or Attorney 
(To be completed by judgment creditor or attorney)

To:

SECTION 4 — AFFIDAVIT OF CLAIM OF EXEMPTION ESTABLISHED BY LAW

Section 3 — Notice To Judgment Debtor

Housing 
Session

Geographical 
Area 
Number

Judicial 
District

SEE  INSTRUCTIONS  ON  BACK/PAGE  2

*See Note Regarding Exemption for Alimony and Support on back/page 2.

account payments (sections 52-321a, 52-352b(m))

incentive earnings or similar program (section 52-352b(d))

Subscribed and sworn 
to before me on :

Amount claimed to be exempt 
if less than the entire amount:

Name and address of Court  (Number, Street, Town and Zip Code)

Name of case Name of Judgment Debtor Docket number

Name and address of financial institution to which exemption claim (if any) is to be returned Date of mailing to Judgment Debtor

Last 4 Digits of the Account Number(s) Amount removed pursuant to execution Amount and type of readily identifiable exempt funds not removed

Additional sheet(s) attached hereto and made a part hereof  (if necessary).

Social Security benefits (section 52-352b(g)) Private pension, trust, retirement, or medical savings
Unemployment benefits (section 52-352b(g))
Worker's Compensation benefits (section 52-352b(g)) Health or disability insurance payments (section 52-352b(e))
Veteran's benefits (section 52-352b(g)) An amount in the bank not to exceed $1000 (section 52-352b(r))
Public Assistance payments (section 52-352b(d)) Other claim of exempt funds  (Explain basis for claim of exemption):

Wages earned by a public assistance recipient under an

Court-ordered child support payments (section 52-352b(h))
Alimony and support other than child support* (section 52-352b(n))

Date signed Telephone number

Complete mailing address of Judgment Debtor

Date At  (Town)

MXMPEX

*M%M��%*

For court use only

SAMPLE
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Note Regarding Exemption for Alimony and Support 
Alimony and Support, other than child support, are exempt only to the following extent: 

Instructions

Section 6 —  �7o Ee comSleted E\ financial institution uSon return of e[emStion claim form�

Signed  (Assistant Clerk)

The assets in dispute are being held for (1) forty-five days from the date the exemption claim form was received by the financial 
institution designated on the  front of this form or (2) until disposition is ordered by the court at a hearing to be held at short 
calendar on the date set forth below, whichever occurs earlier.

The amount of alimony and support, other than child support, that may be subject to levy or other withholding for payment of a judgment is 
the lesser of (1) twenty-five percent of the individual's disposable earnings for that week, or (2) the amount by which the individual's 
disposable earnings for that week exceed forty times the higher of (A) the federal minimum hourly wage under Section 6(a)(1) of the Fair 
Labor Standards Act of 1938, U.S.C. Title 29, Section 206(a)(1), or (B), the state minimum hourly wage under subsection (i) of Section 
31-58, in effect at the time the earnings are payable.  

Section 52-350a(4) of the Connecticut General Statutes defines "disposable earnings" as that part of the earnings of an individual remaining 
after the deduction from those earnings of amounts required to be withheld for payment of federal income and employment taxes, normal 
retirement contributions, union dues and initiation fees, group life insurance premiums, health insurance premiums and federal tax levies.

1. Complete section 2 of this form and (1) send 2 copies 
of this form and the financial institution execution form 
to the judgment debtor and to any secured party that is 
party to a control agreement between the financial 
institution and such secured party under article 9 of 
title 42a pursuant to section 52-367b of the General 
Statutes and (2) mail notice to judgment debtor as 
required by 31CFR212.6 and 212.7. 

2. If this claim of exemption is returned completed, fill out 
section 6 of this form and mail, within two business 
days, to the issuing clerk's office at the address of 
court indicated on the front side. See additional 
instructions on the financial institution execution form. 

To Financial Institution To Clerk
1. Attach this form to each financial institution execution issued in a civil or 

family matter against a judgment debtor that is a natural person. 
2. Deliver the execution along with this form to the judgment creditor 

requesting the execution. 
3. If judgment debtor completes and returns this form claiming an 

exemption, enter the appearance of the judgment debtor with address 
set forth on page 1. 

4. Set matter down for short calendar hearing. 
5. Complete section 7 below. 
6. Send file-stamped copy of this form to judgment debtor and judgment 

creditor.  
7. After hearing, send copy of any order entered to the financial institution.

Section 7 — Notice To Judgment Debtor And Judgment Creditor

Order
The Court/Magistrate, having held a hearing to determine the issues raised by this claim, hereby orders that:

Signed  (Judge/Family Support Magistrate/Magistrate/Assistant Clerk)

Section 5 — Proper Officer Must Complete This Section
Name and title of proper officer Date of service on financial institution Telephone number

Date claim received Date mailed to court Name of financial institution Telephone number

Date of hearing Time of hearing a.m.
p.m.

Courtroom

Date signed

By the Court  (Name of Judge/Family Support Magistrate/Magistrate)

Judge FSM Magistrate
Date signed

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable 
accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

SAMPLE
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Page 1 of 2 FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION PROCEEDINGS

Address of court

3. Amount of judgment, costs and fees1. Amount of judgment

FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXECUTION 
PROCEEDINGS - JUDGMENT DEBTOR 
WHO IS NOT A NATURAL PERSON, 
APPLICATION  AND EXECUTION (See page 2 for instructions to financial institution)
JD-CV-24N Rev. 10-09  C.G.S. 52-367a

Financial Institution Execution

Signed (Assistant Clerk)

Signed  (Judgment Creditor or Attorney)

Geographical 
area 
number

Hereof fail not, and make due return of this writ with your doings thereon,
according to law. 

A
pp

lic
at

io
n

1. Type or print legibly. 
2.   Complete the application section; prepare original and 2 copies. 
3. Present original and all copies to clerk of court.

1. Check the file to ensure that the information provided on the application is correct. 
2. Sign original execution.  
3. Return original and 1 copy to applicant, retain a copy for file.

Instructions - Judgment Creditor or Attorney Instructions - Clerk

Name and mailing address of Judgment Creditor or Attorney   (To be completed by Judgment Creditor)

Fo
ld

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

(Include, where applicable, 
prejudgment interest and 
attorney's fees) (Add 1 and 2)

(If not waived by the court)

To Any Proper Officer, 
Whereas on said Date of Judgment the above-named Judgment Creditor(s) recovered judgment against the above-named Judgment 
Debtor(s) before the above-named court for the amount of judgment, costs and fees stated above, as appears of record, whereof execution 
remains to be done. These are, therefore, by authority of the State of Connecticut to command you: 

Make demand upon the main office of any financial institution having its main office within your county, or if such main office is not within 
your county and such financial institution has one or more branch offices within your county, upon an employee of such a branch office, 
such employee and such branch office having been designated by the financial institution in accordance with regulations adopted by the 
commissioner of banking, for payment to you of any debt due said Judgment Debtor(s), which sum shall not exceed the total unpaid 
judgment, costs and fees as stated above, plus post judgment interest as ordered by the court, if applicable, plus the application fee and 
other court ordered postjudgment costs and fees, and your own fees. Said sum shall be received by you and applied on this execution. 
After having made such demand you are directed to serve a true and attested copy hereof, with your doings thereon endorsed, with the 
financial institution officer upon whom such demand was made. You shall not serve more than one financial institution execution per 
judgment debtor at a time, including copies thereof. After service of an execution on one financial institution, you shall not serve the same 
execution or a copy thereof upon another financial institution until receiving confirmation from the preceding financial institution that the 
judgment debtor had insufficient funds at the preceding financial institution available for collection to satisfy the execution. If you do not 
receive within twenty-five days of the service of the demand a response from the financial institution that was served indicating whether or 
not the judgment debtor has funds at the financial institution available for collection, you may 
assume that sufficient funds are not available for collection and you may proceed to serve 
another financial institution in accordance with section 52-367a of the General Statutes.

For Court Use Only

Check if applicable

Judicial District

Housing Session

Docket number

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Creditor(s)

Name(s) and address(es) of Judgment Debtor(s)

Date of judgment 2. Amount of costs

4. Total amount paid  (If any) 5. Total amount unpaid  (Subtract 4 from 3) 6. Application fee for financial institution execution

7. Other court ordered postjudgment costs and fees 8. Total of items 5, 6 and 7
Post judgment interest was ordered by the court

Date signed Telephone number

Date signed

*APFEABB*
* A P F E A B B *

*EXISSUE*
* E X I S S U E *

SAMPLE
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Page 2 of 2JD-CV-24N  (back/page 2)   Rev. 10-09

Instructions To Financial Institution Upon Receipt Of A Financial Institution 
Execution When Judgment Debtor is Not A Natural Person

Note: The provisions of section 52-367a, as amended from time to time, take precedence over these instructions.

1. You must remove from the judgment debtor's account the amount of any debts due from you to the judgment debtor not exceeding the 
Total Amount Unpaid as appears on page 1 of this form, plus interest and the Application Fee for Financial Institution Execution and 
court ordered postjudgment costs or fees and the serving officer's fee. 

2. Except as provided in #4 below, you must immediately pay to the serving officer the amount removed from the judgment debtor's 
account. Nothing herein shall be construed to affect any other rights or obligations of the financial institution with regard to the funds in 
the judgment debtor's account. 

3. You must act on this execution according to section 42a-4-303 of the general statutes, before your midnight deadline. 

4. If the deposit account is subject to a security interest of a secured party, other than you, pursuant to a control agreement between you 
and such secured party under article 9 of title 42a, and if any funds removed from the judgment debtor's account pursuant to subsection 
(c) of section 52-367a of the general statutes you shall forthwith mail a copy of the execution when received from the serving officer, 
postage prepaid, to the judgment debtor and to such other secured party at the last known address of such parties  with respect to the 
affected accounts on your records. You shall hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account for twenty days from the date 
of the mailing to the judgment debtor and such other secured party, and during such period you shall not pay the serving officer. Such 
other secured party shall give notice of its prior perfected security interest in such deposit account, by delivering to the clerk of the court 
that issued the execution a written claim for determination of interests in property pursuant to section 52-365c and by delivering a copy of 
such claim to the financial institution upon which such execution is served. 

5. If a written claim for determination of interests in property is made pursuant to subsection (e) of section 52-367a of the general statutes, 
you shall continue to hold the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account until a court order is received regarding disposition of 
the funds. If no written claim for determination of interests in property is made you shall, upon demand, forthwith pay the serving officer 
the amount removed from the judgment debtor's account, and the serving officer shall thereupon pay such sum, less such serving 
officer's fees, to the judgment creditor, except to the extent otherwise ordered by a court.

SAMPLE
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APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION 
OF JUDGMENT DEBTOR AND 
NOTICE OF HEARING  
JD-CV-54   Rev. 6-19 
C.G.S. § 52-397

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

A judgment was recovered against the judgment debtor named above in the Superior Court on the date and for the amount of 
damages and costs indicated above.  ("X" one or both)

The judgment creditor(s) requests that the judgment debtor be ordered to come to the Superior Court where the judgment 
was entered, to be examined under oath concerning any property and means of paying this judgment.

The Application for Examination of Judgment Debtor having been presented to the court, it is ordered that the judgment 
debtor named above come to the Superior Court at the court location shown above,  to be examined under oath 
concerning the judgment debtor's property and means of paying the judgment  described in the above Application for 
Examination of Judgment Debtor on the date and time set for the hearing shown below.

To Any Proper Officer:

To: The Superior Court

Instructions to Judgment Creditor 
1. Fill out and give the original and 2 copies to the clerk to review and sign. 
2. Attach a completed Subpoena (form JD-CL-43), if one is needed. 
3. Give the original and 1 copy of the signed application to a proper officer for service (delivery). 
4. Make a copy for your file. 
5. The original application must be returned to court after it is served at least 6 days before the court hearing. 
6. Come to the court hearing and be prepared to examine the judgment debtor on the debtor's property and the means of paying the judgment.

By authority of the State of Connecticut, you are commanded to give notice of the pendency of this Application and to 
summon the judgment debtor to appear at the place, date, and time set for the examination by serving on said judgment 
debtor, as prescribed by law for the service of civil process, a true and attested copy of the foregoing Application and of this  
order at least twelve days prior to the hearing date shown above. 
Make service and return this Application to the court at least six days prior to the hearing date shown above.

Docket number

Judicial District Housing Session At

Address of Court (Number, street, town and zip code)

Name(s) of judgment creditor(s) Address(es) (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Name of judgment debtor Address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Date of judgment Amount of damages awarded Amount of costs awarded Total damages and costs awarded

Name and address of judgment creditor's attorney (If applicable)

Application for Examination of Judgment Debtor

An execution was issued on this judgment which has been returned unsatisfied in whole or in part.

Postjudgment interrogatories were served on the judgment debtor in accordance with the Connecticut General Statutes, 
but the judgment debtor did not to respond within 30 days of the date of service.

Signed (Judgment creditor or attorney) Date signed Telephone number

Order for Examination and Notice of Hearing

Court Hearing Date And Time
Date of hearing Time of hearing Courtroom

.m.

Signed (Judge/Clerk) Date signed

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in 
accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an 
ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

COURT USE ONLY
PAEJD

*PAEJD*

SAMPLE
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In the amount of

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Type of court

Instructions 
1. Type or print legibly. 
2. Submit the original to the clerk of court.

Name of case (Plaintiff v. Defendant) Docket number

Judicial District
Address of court (Number, street, town and zip code)

DateYour name Your address (Number, street, town, state and zip)

Housing Session

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with 
the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

SMALL CLAIMS MOTION FOR 
ORDER OF PAYMENTS 
JD-CV-159   New 12-17 
P.B. 24-30

Mailing address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Signed  (Individual Attorney or self-represented party) 

Certification

Print or type name of person signing

Telephone number

Date signed

(date)   to all attorneys and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was 
received from all attorneys and self-represented parties of record who received or will immediately be receiving electronic delivery.

I certify that a copy of this document was or will immediately be mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on 

*If necessary, attach additional sheet or sheets with name and address which the copy was or will be mailed or delivered to.

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was or will be mailed or delivered to*

The                     in the above entitled matter, requests that the court enter an order of payments in the

By the court
Signed  (Judge/Magistrate) Date signed

Order
The above motion having been presented to the court is hereby ordered:

Granted.

Denied.

$ Weekly Bi-weekly Monthly

First payment is due on or before   and       thereafter.MonthlyBi-weeklyWeekly

Payments are to be made to:

DefendantPlaintiff
MonthlyBi-weeklyWeekly$amount of

Signed (Individual Attorney or self-represented party) Date signedPrint or type name of person signing

SAMPLE
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In the amount of

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Type of court

Instructions 
1. Type or print legibly. 
2. Submit the original to the clerk of court.

Name of case (Plaintiff v. Defendant) Docket number

Judicial District
Address of court (Number, street, town and zip code)

DateYour name Your address (Number, street, town, state and zip)
Housing Session

SMALL CLAIMS MOTION TO 
MODIFY ORDER OF PAYMENTS 
JD-CV-160   Rev. 7-19 
C.G.S. § 52-356d; P.B. 24-30

The                     in the above entitled matter, requests that the court modify the order of payments

By the court
Signed  (Judge/Magistrate) Date signed

Order
The above motion having been presented to the court is hereby ordered:

Granted.
Denied.

$ Weekly Bi-weekly Monthly

First payment is due on or before   and         thereafter.MonthlyBi-weeklyWeekly

Payments are to be made to:

DefendantPlaintiff

MonthlyBi-weeklyWeekly$from:

to: $ MonthlyBi-weeklyWeekly

Signed (Individual Attorney or self-represented party) Date signedPrint or type name of person signing

Service (Delivery)
This document must be served on (delivered to) all parties and counsel of record as described in Section 52-350e of the Connecticut 
General Statutes. You may use the Certification below if the document is served within 180 days of the judgment or if it is served on 
a party who has filed a postjudgment appearance. In all other situations, you must use one of the SerYice E\ 3roSer 2fficer 
�0arsKal� options.

Certification (if applicable)

Service by Proper Officer (Marshal) (if applicable) (check only one box that applies)

Served by proper officer in the manner in which a writ of summons is served in a civil action and officer's return of service
Document mailed by proper officer (Marshal) by certified mail, return receipt requested and signed return receipt is attached.

will be filed with court.

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in 
accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an 
ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

(date)   to all attorneys and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was 
received from all attorneys and self-represented parties of record who received or will immediately be receiving electronic delivery.

I certify that a copy of this document was or will immediately be mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on 

Mailing address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Signed  (Signature of filer) Print or type name of person signing

Telephone number

Date signed
*If necessary, attach additional sheet(s) to include all information.

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was or will be mailed or delivered to*

Based upon the judgment debtor's financial circumstances as follows: 

SAMPLE
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

Type of court

Instructions 
1. Type or print legibly. 
2. Submit the original to the clerk of court.

Name of case (Plaintiff v. Defendant) Docket number

Judicial District
Address of court (Number, street, town and zip code)

DateYour name Your address (Number, street, town, state and zip)

Housing Session

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with 
the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

SMALL CLAIMS MOTION TO 
ORDER JUDGMENT SATISFIED  
JD-CV-162   New 12-17 
P.B. 24-30

Service (Delivery)

The judgment debtor, having paid the judgment in the above entitled matter in full, requests that the court make a finding that 
the judgment is satisfied.

Order
The Court, having examined the proof of payment submitted by the judgment debtor, finds that the judgment was paid in full 
and orders that the judgment be declared satisfied as of:

By the court
Signed  (Judge/Magistrate) Date signed

Date

Signed (Individual Attorney or self-represented party) Date signedPrint or type name of person signing

This document must be served on (delivered to) all parties and counsel of record as described in Section 52-350e of the Connecticut 
General Statutes. You may use the Certification, below, if the document is served within 180 days of the judgment or if it is served 
on a party who has filed a postjudgment appearance. In all other situations, you must use one of the SerYice E\ 3roSer 2fficer 
�0arsKal� options.

Certification (if applicable)

Service by Proper Officer (Marshal) (if applicable) (check only one box that applies)

Served by proper officer in the manner in which a writ of summons is served in a civil action and officer's return of service
Document mailed by proper officer (Marshal) by certified mail, return receipt requested and signed return receipt is attached.

will be filed with court.

(date)   to all attorneys and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was 
received from all attorneys and self-represented parties of record who received or will immediately be receiving electronic delivery.

I certify that a copy of this document was or will immediately be mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on 

Mailing address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Signed  (Signature of filer) Print or type name of person signing

Telephone number

Date signed
*If necessary, attach additional sheet(s) to include all information.

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was or will be mailed or delivered to*

SAMPLE
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Docket numberName of case

ADA NOTICE 
The Judicial Branch of the State of 
Connecticut complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a 
reasonable accommodation in accordance 
with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA 
contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

Instructions 
1. Type or print legibly 
2. Submit the original to the clerk of court.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
SUPERIOR COURT 

www.jud.ct.gov

SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT 
JD-CV-164   New 12-17 
P.B. §§ 6-5, 24-30

Type of court
Judicial District

Address of court (Number, street, town and zip code)

DateYour name Your address (Number, street, town, state and zip)

Housing Session

The           in the above-entitled action gives notice that the judgment entered by the court on 
(date)             has been fully satisfied by the               , 
on (date)     .

Signed (Individual Attorney or self-represented party) Date signedPrint or type name of person signing

Service (Delivery)

This document must be served on (delivered to) all parties and counsel of record as described in Section 52-350e of the Connecticut 
General Statutes. You may use the Certification, below, if the document is served within 180 days of the judgment or if it is served 
on a party who has filed a postjudgment appearance. In all other situations, you must use one of the SerYice E\ 3roSer 2fficer 
�0arsKal� options.

Certification (if applicable)

Service by Proper Officer (Marshal) (if applicable) (check only one box that applies)

Served by proper officer in the manner in which a writ of summons is served in a civil action and officer's return of service
Document mailed by proper officer (Marshal) by certified mail, return receipt requested and signed return receipt is attached.

will be filed with court.

(date)   to all attorneys and self-represented parties of record and that written consent for electronic delivery was 
received from all attorneys and self-represented parties of record who received or will immediately be receiving electronic delivery.

I certify that a copy of this document was or will immediately be mailed or delivered electronically or non-electronically on 

Mailing address (Number, street, town, state and zip code)

Signed  (Signature of filer) Print or type name of person signing

Telephone number

Date signed
*If necessary, attach additional sheet(s) to include all information.

Name and address of each party and attorney that copy was or will be mailed or delivered to*

DefendantPlaintiff
DefendantPlaintiff

SAMPLE
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Notes
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