
Divorce Options in Connecticut
In Connecticut, all parties must ordinarily wait at least 90 days to get a divorce. However, other 
options may take less time. Match the color from the chart below to the same color on page 2 for the 
options that apply to your case. 

Do you and your spouse have, or expect to have, 
 a full agreement on ALL issues (e.g., alimony, 
 child support, visitation, custody, division of 

 property/money, payment of debts)?

Below are TWO options for getting a divorce  
without waiting the 90 days.

Begin the initial divorce paperwork. 

See “Divorce Without an Agreement – Part 1” on page 2. 

OPTION 1
Attendance in Court NOT Required

You and your spouse may get a divorce without 
the need to see a judge, if you meet all of the 
following conditions:

1.  Married 9 years or less
2.  Neither you nor your spouse is pregnant
3.  No children 
4.  No interest or title in real property
5.  Property owned is less than $80,000
6.  No defined benefit pension plan
7.  No pending bankruptcy proceedings
8.  No other divorce action pending
9.  �No restraining or protective orders  

between you and your spouse

See “Nonadversarial (Simplified) Divorce” on page 2. 

OPTION 2
Divorce at Any Time Without Waiting 

You and your spouse may get a divorce at any 
time by asking the court to “waive” the 90-day 

waiting period. 

See “Divorce with an Agreement – Waive 90” on page 2. 

  *  �Appearance:  A form your spouse fills out to tell the court that  
he or she will be participating in the divorce proceedings.

**   �Return Date:  Day that marks the beginning of the 90-day  
waiting period. Date is located on the summons. 

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  
If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at  

www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

Has your spouse filed an Appearance?*

NO: If it has been at least 30 days from the  
Return Date,** you may get divorced without 
your spouse by asking the court to “waive” the 
90-day waiting period. 

See “Default – Waive 90” on page 2.

YES:  Proceed to the next box.

Have you and your spouse reached an  
agreement on all issues before the 90-day 

waiting period is over? 

YES: Go to “Divorce at Any Time Without  
Waiting.”

NO: Proceed to the next box. 

You and your spouse must wait at least 90  
days to get a divorce. Any unresolved issues  

will be decided by the judge. 
See “Divorce Without  an Agreement – Part 2” on page 2. 
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“Nonadversarial (Simplified) Divorce”
Complete and file the following forms with the court:

•  �Joint Petition - Nonadversarial Divorce (Dissolution of Marriage) (JD-FM-242)
•  �Financial Affidavits (JD-FM-6) for each spouse
•  �Notice of Automatic Court Orders – Nonadversarial Divorce (JD-FM-260)
•  �Appearance (JD-CL-12) for each spouse
•  �If either spouse has ever received public assistance: Certification of Notice in Family Cases (Public Assistance) (JD-FM-175)
•  �If dividing property, money, or debt: Agreement – Nonadversarial Divorce (Dissolution of Marriage) (JD-FM-243)

Divorce may be granted in approximately 35 days without the need to see a judge. 

“Divorce with an Agreement – Waive 90”
Complete and file Motion to Waive Statutory Time Period by Agreement of the Parties – Divorce or Legal Separation (JD-FM-247) 
with the court. If you have not already done so, also complete and file the following with the court: 

•  Summons Family Actions (JD-FM-3)
•  �Divorce Complaint (Dissolution of Marriage) (JD-FM-159) 
•  Notice of Automatic Court Orders (JD-FM-158)
•  Financial Affidavits (JD-FM-6) for each spouse
•  Dissolution Agreement (JD-FM-172)
•  �Certification of Waiver of Service of Process – Divorce, 

Legal Separation, Annulment (JD-FM-249)
•  Appearance (JD-CL-12)

If minor children:
•  �Worksheet for the Connecticut Child Support and Arrearage 

Guidelines (CCSG-1)
•  �Advisement of Rights Re: Income Withholding  

(JD-FM-71)
•  �Affidavit Concerning Children (JD-FM-164)
•  �Parenting Education Program – Order, Certificate and Results 

(JD-FM-149) for each spouse
•  �If either spouse has ever received public assistance: Certification of Notice in Family Cases (Public Assistance)  (JD-FM-175)

You and your spouse will be provided a court date. Both you and your spouse must see a judge on that date. 

 “Divorce Without an Agreement – Part 1”
Step 1: Begin the process by completing the following forms and bring to the clerk’s office:

•  �Summons Family Actions (JD-FM-3)
•  �Divorce Complaint (Dissolution of Marriage) (JD-FM-159) 
•  �Notice of Automatic Court Orders (JD-FM-158) 
•  �If you need temporary orders: Motion for Orders Before Judgment (Pendente Lite) in Family Cases (JD-FM-176)
•  �If either spouse has ever received public assistance: Certification of Notice in Family Cases (Public Assistance) (JD-FM-175)

Step 2: Deliver (“serve”) the completed forms, along with a blank Appearance (JD-CL-12) to the other spouse
NOTE: Your spouse can agree to waive service by completing and filing a Certification of Waiver of Service of Process – Divorce, 
Legal Separation, Annulment (JD-FM-249) and an Appearance (JD-CL-12)

Step 3: After paperwork has been delivered (“served”) to the other spouse, return the original paperwork with proof of delivery to 
the clerk’s office

“Divorce Without an Agreement – Part 2�
If other spouse files an appearance and there is still no agreement, you and your spouse must wait the required 90 days for the 
Case Management Date. A conference is scheduled this day to determine how your case will proceed. File the following forms with 
the court on or before the Case Management Date:

•  �Case Management Agreement/Order (JD-FM-163)
•  �Financial Affidavits (JD-FM-6)
•  �Parenting Plan (if custody of minor children in dispute)

You and your spouse may be required to see a judge on the Case Management Date depending on the issues. 

This information is not intended as legal advice, but is general information and should not be used as a substitute for legal 
 advice. For more information, you may go to the Judicial Branch website at: www.jud.ct.gov. Page 2

“Default – Waive 90”
Complete and file the following forms with the court:

•  �Motion to Waive Statutory Time Period Upon Defendant’s 
Failure to Appear and Affidavit – Divorce or Legal 
Separation (JD-FM-272)

•  �Financial Affidavit (JD-FM-6) 
•  �Affidavit Concerning Military Service (JD-FM-178)

If papers were delivered (“served”) to the other spouse and certain conditions are met, the court may waive the 90-day 
waiting period and grant the divorce without having to see a judge. If the conditions are not met,  a court date will be 
provided and you will be required to see a judge.
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