
YOUR RESPONSIBILITY

Serving as a juror preserves the right to 
a fair trial for you and for others.

YOUR RIGHT

You may appear for jury duty regardless 
of your race, ethnicity, education, beliefs, 

gender, sexual orientation, income, or 
employment status.

YOUR OPPORTUNITY

Being a juror is your chance to 
participate in our justice system and 
to protect the freedoms we all enjoy.

JURY DUTY IS . . .

What Every Student 
Should Know

ANSWERS TO 
COMMON QUESTIONS
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Q: What if  I attend college in Connecticut?

A: If  you are a legal resident of  Connecticut, you are  
 required to serve. You may reschedule to a holiday  
 or summer break when classes are not in session. If   
 your legal residence is in another state, you may not  
 serve. You may be required to provide proof  of   
 residence if  you live out of  state.

Q: I attend college out of state. What should I do?

A: College students are expected to serve when they  
 return home for breaks and holidays. If  you will not  
 return to Connecticut within one year of  your orig- 
 inal summons date, write a letter to the Jury Admin- 
 istrator explaining your situation.

 A letter to the Jury Administrator should include  
 your full name, your Connecticut address, your  
 current address and Juror Identifi cation number, if   
 available. Sign each letter under penalty of  false  
 statement and return it to:

Jury Administration
P.O. Box 260448

Hartford, CT  06126-0448

Q: Who may serve as a juror?

A: Any United States citizen 18 years of  age or older  
 who has not been convicted of  a felony within the  
 past 7 years and who speaks and understands the  
 English language and is a resident of  Connecticut  
 may serve.*

Q: Is there anyone who should not be a juror?

A: By state law, jurors may be disqualifi ed if  they have  
 a disability that prevents them from serving, if   
 they have served within the past three years, or, if   
 they are 70 years of  age or older and choose not  
 to serve.

 Jurors must be disqualifi ed if  they have committed  
 a felony within the past seven years, they are not  
 U.S. citizens, or a judge of  the Superior Court   
 has found that they exhibit a quality that makes  
 them unfi t to serve.*

Q: Why should I serve when there are so 
 many other people who could go?

A: Jury duty is everyone’s responsibility. If  you were  
 ever in need of  a jury, you would be comforted to  
 know that people like you are willing to serve.

Q: I am disabled, but I want to serve. 
 What should I do?

A: Jury Administration makes every effort to accom- 
 modate individuals with disabilities. If  you would  
 like an accommodation, contact Jury Administra- 
 tion at either of  the telephone numbers listed on  
 the back of  this brochure.

Q: When I’m home, I don’t drive. 
 What should I do?

A: You are responsible for arranging a ride to the  
 courthouse on the day you are scheduled to serve.   
 If  you are unable to arrange a ride, or if  public  
 transportation does not exist in your area, then you  
 must write a letter explaining your circumstances to  
 the Jury Administrator.

ANSWERS TO COMMON QUESTIONS 

Q: I haven’t obtained my degree yet.  Do I  
 need any special training or education to  
 understand the court proceedings?

A: Jury service is for everyone regardless of  education.  
 Each individual draws on his or her own life experi- 
 ence and judgment to listen to testimony from each  
 side, consider all evidence presented and apply the  
 relevant law as instructed by the judge in the case to  
 arrive at a verdict.

Q: Will I be paid for jury duty?

A: If  you work full time as defi ned by Connecticut  
 State law, your employer must pay your regular wages  
 for the fi rst fi ve days or part thereof  of  jury duty.

 If  you work less than 30 hours per week, you will be  
 reimbursed up to $50 per day (no less than $20) for  
 certain out-of-pocket expenses. Out-of-pocket  
 expenses may include mileage, parking, childcare or  
 family care.

Q: How did you 
 get my name?

A: By state law, the Jury Administrator obtains lists of   
 licensed drivers, voters, state income taxpayers and  
 people who received unemployment compensation.

 Duplicate names, along with the names of  deceased  
 individuals, permanently disabled individuals and  
 anyone at least 70 years of  age and older who   
 chooses not to serve, are removed from the list.   
 The lists are combined to form a single list of   
 individuals from which jurors are randomly selected.

www.jud.ct.gov/juror.htm

* A defendant in a pending felony case or someone in the custody of   
 the Commissioner of  Correction may not serve. The governor, top  
 elected state offi cials, and state and federal judges are exempted from  
 jury service, as well as members of  the General Assembly while the  
 G.A. is in session. Additionally, no one can be disqualifi ed on the basis  
 of  deafness or hearing impairment.


