A Guide to Juror Service for Employees, Employers, and the Unemployed

Introduction

To help employees, employers, and the unemployed through the jury service process, this pamphlet has been written by the Connecticut Judicial Branch and the Connecticut Department of Labor to answer some questions commonly asked by employees, employers, and the unemployed. This publication is strictly informational and is not intended as legal advice. Jury Service is vital for the operation of the courts!

To make sure that jury service is convenient for both the employee and the employer, both should talk to each other as soon as the employee receives a jury summons. Many jury service issues can be resolved through open and frank communication and cooperation between employees and their employers.

If you have other questions, please contact Jury Administration directly at 1-800-842-8175, or the Department of Labor at 860-263-6790.

We hope you find the information in this publication helpful.

Summary

- Jury Service is essential!
- Talk to your employer immediately after receiving a summons.
- You cannot be dismissed from your job or disciplined for serving as a juror.
- Full time employees are paid their regular wages for the first 5 days, or part thereof, of jury service.

Read Answers to
Common Questions Inside.



Jury Administration Contact Information

1-800-842-8175 Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Please visit our website at www.jud.ct.gov/jury/

Department of Labor

860-263-6790 Please visit our website at www.ct.gov/dol

A joint publication of the Connecticut Judicial Branch, Division of Superior Court Operations and The State of Connecticut Department of Labor.





JDP-JA-27 Rev. 5/17

Jury Service in Connecticut

A Guide to

Juror Service for

Employees, Employers,

and the Unemployed



The State of Connecticut Judicial Branch and The Department of Labor

ANSWERS TO COMMON QUESTIONS

Q: Why is jury service important?

A: Jury Service is one of the cornerstones of a free society. By supporting their employees through jury service, employers are helping to preserve the right to a jury trial for all citizens.

Q: When does jury service begin?

A: Jury Service begins with the 1st day that a person reports for jury service, whether or not the employee is selected to serve as a juror at trial.

Q: Must employers allow their employees to attend jury service?

A: Yes. Connecticut law prohibits employers from dismissing, threatening or coercing employees who are summoned for jury service, respond to a jury summons, or serve as a juror. Any employer who does so is subject to criminal penalties. Any employer who dismisses an employee can be sued by the employee for lost wages and reinstatement. (Section 51-247a of the Connecticut General Statutes.)

Q: Are jurors paid for their service?

A: Yes. Full time employed jurors (those normally required to work at least 30 hours per week) are paid their regular wages by their employers for the first 5 days of jury service. Beginning on the 6th day of jury service, all jurors are paid \$50.00 per day by the state, regardless of their employment status.

Q: Is there a penalty if an employer refuses to pay an employee for the first 5 days of jury service?

A: Yes. Any employer refusing to pay a full time employee for jury service can be sued by the employee and may be subject to criminal penalties. (Section 51-247a of the Connecticut General Statutes.)

Q: What if an employer cannot afford to pay an employee who is performing jury service?

A: An employer may apply to the Superior Court for a waiver of obligation to pay. A waiver form is attached to the certificate of juror service each juror receives.

If the waiver is granted, the state will pay the amount the court finds to be the juror's regular wages, up to \$50 per day, for the first 5 days of jury service. On the 6th day of jury service, all jurors receive \$50.00 per day from the state, regardless of employment status.

Q: Should the time spent by an employee in jury service be counted as hours worked by an employer for purposes of calculating overtime wages for an employee?

A: No. Connecticut law does not require an employer to include payments made for jury service into an employee's regular rate for purposes of overtime calculations. (Section 31-76b (1) (B) of the Connecticut General Statutes.)

Q: How long will jury service take?

A: Most jurors finish their service in 1 day. If selected for a trial, service may vary from 1 to several days to several weeks or longer. Long trials are extremely rare.

Q: May a juror be required to return to work if he or she is dismissed by the court early in the day?

A: Yes. Potential jurors should talk to their supervisors as soon as possible after getting a summons to learn their employer's policies about returning to work. In requiring an employee to return to work, employers should take into account factors such as the time of day the juror

is released, travel time from the court and whether a change of clothes might be necessary.

Q: Can an employee who works evenings or other non-standard work hours be required to report to work after performing eight hours of jury service?

A: No. Any juror who has been at court for 8 hours of jury service is considered to have worked a legal day's work. This means employers cannot require their employees to work beyond 8 hours unless they have agreed to do so. (Section 51-247a (b), of the Connecticut General Statutes.)

Q: May an unemployed juror continue to receive unemployment compensation while performing jury service?

A: Yes. Jurors continue to receive unemployment benefits while they serve. On the 6th day of jury service, however, the unemployment benefit is reduced by 2/3 of the amount paid by the state for jury service.

Q: Is there any proof that a juror performed jury service on a particular day?

A: Yes. A juror service certificate is mailed to each juror soon after serving. If a juror needs proof immediately, the jury clerk can give the juror a note indicating the date of service and the time the juror was dismissed from the courthouse.

Q: Are self-employed individuals or sole proprietors required to serve?

A: Yes. No one is disqualified from serving based on employment status. It is possible to postpone jury service to a time of year that is more convenient to serve. Jurors also have the opportunity to discuss their hardships with the court on the day of their appearance.

, , ,

Q: Who pays self-employed jurors?

A: Self-employed jurors may apply to the Superior Court for a waiver of obligation to pay. A waiver form is attached to the certificate of juror service each juror receives.

www.jud.ct.gov/jury/

If the waiver is granted, the state will pay the amount the court finds to be the juror's regular wages, up to \$50.00 per day, for the first 5 days of jury service. On the 6th day of jury service, all jurors receive \$50.00 per day from the state, regardless of employment status.

Q: How are jurors, whose regular wages consist of commissions, paid for jury service?

A: An average of commissions paid per day is calculated based on the previous month's earnings. The daily rate is paid to the juror by the employer for the first 5 days of jury service.

Q: Where can I get more information?

A: Call Jury Administration toll-free at 1-800-842-8175, or the Connecticut Department of Labor at 860-263-6790.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA/.

