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 We are Here 
to Serve You

This booklet includes information to  
help you with your court visit.

WELCOME TO NEW HAVEN SUPERIOR COURT

Pay phones are located on the 1st floor.
Men’s restrooms are located on the 1st floor.
Women’s restrooms are located on the 3rd floor.
Water Fountains are located on the 1st and 3rd floors.

BUILDING DIRECTORY

	Criminal
	Housing
	Motor Vehicle
	Traffic Tickets  
		  and Infractions

Types of Court  
Cases Heard Here

Lower Level
Alternative Incarceration Center (AIC)
Bail Commissioner
Community Service
Maintenance 
Marshals’ Offices & Cell Block 
Domestic Violence Advocate 

First Floor
Courtrooms – A, B, C
Family Services
Information Desk
Public Defender
State’s Attorney 
Victims Advocate Offices

Second Floor
Clerk’s Office
Housing Clerk
Housing Mediation
Interpreters’ Office 
Probation

Third Floor
Bail Commissioner – Supervisor 
Connecticut Mental Health
Court Reporters 
Courtrooms – D, E, F
Hearing Room 7
Legal ResearchWFSB-TV 

Ch. 3 
www.wfsb.com

WTNH-TV 
Ch. 8 

www.wtnh.com

WVIT-TV 
Ch. 30 

www.nbc30.com

WTIC 
Radio 

AM-1080

The courthouse is  
wheelchair accessible. 

Court cancellations because  
of the weather are announced  

on the following television  
and radio stations:



FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Q. I need a lawyer. Where can I get one?
A. If  you were arrested and cannot pay an attorney to represent 
you, you may apply for a Public Defender at their office on 
the first floor. If you make too much to get help from a Public 
Defender, you may want to call the Lawyer Referral Service 
of  the New Haven County Bar Association at (203) 562-5750 
or check the yellow pages for an attorney. In addition, to 
find out if  you can get help from Statewide Legal Services 
of  Connecticut, please call 1-800-453-3320 (English and 
Spanish) Monday-Friday, 9 a.m. -3 p.m.

If you have been arrested and you do not have an attorney and a 
Public Defender has not been appointed to represent you, please 
talk to the State’s Attorney (prosecutor) in the courtroom.

Q. I want to start a lawsuit. Where do I go? 
A. The Public Information Desk in the lobby on the first floor 
can give you court forms and information about the fees to 
file lawsuits. The staff  cannot give you legal advice. To help 
you with your research, you may want to go to the law library 
located on the 7th floor at 235 Church Street, which has forms, 
books and copies of  court rules. 

Q. How do I open an old traffic ticket?
A. You must pay a $60 fee to the clerk’s office by cash, 
money order, or credit card (checks are not accepted). The clerk’s 
office will give you a court date and instructions on how to get 
your driver’s license back. If your license is suspended you will 
have to pay a fee to the DMV to get your license back. 

Q. How do I pay my fine? 
A. You may pay fines and fees at the clerk’s office on or before 
the due date by cash, credit card, money order or personal 
check payable to Clerk, Superior Court. Personal checks must 
be pre-printed with your current name and address. A valid 
picture ID is required. Checks cannot be more than $800.

Q. How do I bail someone out of  jail?
A. After the court sets the amount of  the bond (bail) you can 
do one of  three things:
			You may put up a cash bond, which means you must pay 

the exact amount of  the bond in cash to the clerk’s office 
or, if  approved by the Court, you may put up 10 percent 
of  the surety bond set.

			You may hire a bail bondsperson who will charge you  
a fee based on the total amount of  the bond required.

			You may put up a real estate bond.

Q. How do I get back the money I put up as a bond?
A. Money paid to a bondsperson is not refundable. If you 
put up a cash bond, the case must be disposed (closed) or 
the defendant must be in a diversionary program before the 
clerk’s office can return the bond money. The clerk will need 
the original receipt for the money you put up. If your original 
receipt is lost, you must fill out an Affidavit of Lost Bond 
Receipt (available at the Clerk’s Office). You must also show 
a photo ID. The clerk’s office will issue a check (not cash) to 
you for the amount of money you put up as a bond.

Q. How can I get child support?
A. The State can help you get a child support order or 
enforce an order that you already have. You may contact 
the Department of  Social Services in Hartford at (860) 723-
1002. You also may talk with an attorney or try to get child 
support on your own. The Court Service Center, 235 Church 
Street first floor, has forms and will help you fill them out.

Q. Where do I go for a restraining order to stop  
family violence?
A. The Clerk’s Office at 235 Church Street (2nd floor).

Q. I want to talk to a judge or magistrate about  
my case. Who is available?	
A. The Code of  Judicial Conduct does not allow a judge 
or magistrate to speak to you about any civil or criminal  
case that has started or any lawsuit you want to start. Judges 
and magistrates will listen to your comments only at a 
scheduled hearing.

Q. Where is a public copier?
A. Photocopies can be made at the Public Information  
Desk located in the lobby on the 1st floor.

Q. Is there a Notary Public in the building? 
A. Yes, at the Public Information Desk and there is no fee.

Q. How do I file a will, search land records, get a birth 
certificate or file a lien?
A. Contact the correct Probate Court, Registrar of  Vital 
Statistics, or Town Clerk’s Office.

Q. Where do I find a State Marshal to serve my papers?
A. You may get a list from the Public Information Desk on 
the first floor lobby. There is also a State Marshal on duty  
at 235 Church Street from 12:30-1:00 and 4:30-5:00 daily.

ADULT PROBATION
867 State St., New Haven, CT 06511
General Information ……...……...	  789-7876

CENTRALIZED INFRACTIONS BUREAU  

Customer Service ………...…		  1-800-529-9061 

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION 
245 Whalley Ave., New Haven, CT 06530
General Information……...……...		   974-4111

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
1985 State St., Hamden, CT 06514 
(closed Mondays)
Driver Services …...……...…		 1-860-263-5700
Toll Free …………..……...…	1-800-842-8222    
License Suspension……...…			  1-860-263-5720

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
194 Basset St., New Haven, CT 06511
General Information……...……...		  974-8245
…………………………...…		 1-800-842-1508  
TDD/TTYline…………...…		 1-800-842-4524

JUVENILE MATTERS 
239 Whalley Ave., New Haven, CT 06511
General Information ....…..……...		  786-0337

NEW HAVEN JUDICIAL DISTRICT 
235 Church St., New Haven, CT 06510
General Information ……..……...		  503-6800

PROBATE COURT
200 Orange St., 1st floor, New Haven, CT 06504
General Information……..……...		  946-4880

NEW HAVEN TOWN HALL 
165 Church St., New Haven, CT 06510
General Information ……..……...		  946-8339

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
141 Church St., New Haven, CT 06510
General Information……...……...		  773-2009

CENTER ……………………..…...	773-6744

BAIL COMMISSION ………….…	789-7482

BUILDING MAINTENANCE . . . .	773-6748

COMMUNITY SERVICE ………..	773-6745

CONNECTICUT MENTAL HEALTH 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .	773-6742

COURT REPORTER ………….…	773-6740

COURT SERVICE CENTER……..	503-6819
		
FAMILY SERVICES ………..…….	503-6820

HOUSING CLERK……………….	773-6840

HOUSING SPECIALIST………....	773-6844
(DISPUTE RESOLUTIONS)

INTERPRETER ………….……...	 773-6838

JUROR INFORMATION.….	1-800-842-8175

PUBLIC DEFENDER………..…..	789-7458

PUBLIC INFORMATION DESK	 773-6814

SMALL CLAIMS………………......	503-6800

STATE’S ATTORNEY……….........	789-7455

VICTIM ADVOCATE …....……....	773-6743
(DOMESTIC VIOLENCE)
 
VICTIM ADVOCATE .……….......	773-6830 
(GENERAL)

ALTERNATIVE INCARCERATION

All telephone numbers are in area code (203)

DIRECTORY SUPERIOR COURT, 121 ELM STREET


