
Q:  �What is the cost for this service?
A:  �There is no application fee, but the Office of Child 

Support Services (OCSS) will deduct a $25 annual 
fee from payments sent to a custodial parent who 
has never gotten Temporary Family Assistance 
(TFA) if at least $500 child support is collected 
and disbursed by the State of Connecticut to the 
custodial party during the federal fiscal year. 

Q: �How is my child support order enforced by 
Support Enforcement Services?

A:  �Support Enforcement Services (SES) and the state 
child support program use a combination of court 
actions (such as contempt applications and income 
withholdings) and administrative actions (such as 
seizing bank accounts and intercepting tax returns) 
to collect child support. All court actions happen 
in Family Support Magistrate (FSM) court. See 
the What Happens When You Go To Family Support 
Magistrate Court pamphlet (form JDP-FM-209) for 
more information.

Q:  �What happens if a parent stops paying his or her 
child support order?

A:  �If payments are not received in 30 days, we will 
send a payment reminder letter to the noncustodial 
parent or employer, and SES staff will review 
the case for enforcement. We will try to find 
a new employer or source of income and get a 
withholding order as soon as possible. If necessary, 
we will file a contempt application to get your case 
back in court.

Q:  How does the SES contempt process work?
A:  �If the noncustodial parent had the means to pay, 

SES can file an application for contempt with the 
court. We will send you a written notice when 
your court date is scheduled. At the court hearing 
a Family Support Magistrate will determine if the 
non-paying parent knew about the court order, 
whether the non-paying parent had the ability 
to pay the order, and whether the failure to pay 
was willful (on purpose). The Family Support 
Magistrate may order a variety of things including 
lump sum payments to make up the missed 
payments and, in the most serious cases, jail for the 
non-paying parent until the child support is paid. 
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We are here to help you.

Together with DSS Office of Child 
Support Services (OCSS), we:

•  Monitor compliance with support orders
•  Enforce child support orders through: 

–  Income withholding
–  Contempt applications
–  Federal/State tax return intercept
–  Real and personal property liens
–  Bank account seizure
–  Passport denial
–  Credit bureau reporting
–  License suspension

•  Enforce medical insurance and childcare orders
•  Review support orders for modifications
•  Establish and enforce interstate support orders
•  Perform service of process
•  �Manage accounts using a federally certified 

computer system
•  �Access federal and state databases to find parents 

and their income, assets, and new employers

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation in 
accordance with the ADA, contact a court clerk or an 
ADA contact person listed at www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

Our Mission
The mission of Support Enforcement Services 
is to assist parents in securing financial and 
medical support for their children by providing 
quality services and information to the court, our 
customers, and the community in a courteous, 
efficient, and effective manner, that is sensitive 
to the contributions both parents make to their 
children’s development.



ANSWERS TO COMMON QUESTIONS www.jud.ct.gov/childsupport/
Q: �Who do I contact to get more information 

about my child support payments?
A:  �The fastest and easiest way to get 

payment information is to call the 
Child Support Information Line at 
1-888-233-7223. The Information 
Line provides information about 
when a payment was made, the 
amount and when your payment  
was processed.

Q:  �Can the amount of my child 
support order be changed?

A:  �Yes, the court can change your order. SES has 
a process called “review and adjustment” that 
can help you in getting your case before the 
court. SES will accept either a written or verbal 
request asking for a review of your order, and 
we will start the review process. You may also 
hire an attorney or go to court on your own as a 
self-represented party.

Q: �How does the “review and adjustment” 
process work?

A:  �When you ask for a review of your order, 
SES will mail you some forms to verify your 
income information. Complete and return 
the paperwork, and we will start the review. 
Using the Connecticut Child Support and 
Arrearage Guidelines and both parties’ income, 
we will calculate a support amount. If your 
order is more than 15% different from our 
calculations, we will begin court action to 
change your order. Also, in limited situations, 
SES can help change orders if there has been a 
substantial change in circumstances since your 
order was set.

Q:  �How do I apply for services?
A:  �You can get applications and instructions 

for applying for services by calling the Child 
Support Call Center at 1-800-228-KIDS 
(5437), Monday through Wednesday and 
Friday 8:30-5:00, and Thursdays 8:30-7:00.

parent is responsible for 40%, the dollar amount of 
the order is $40.

Q: How is my child care order enforced?
A:  �If a noncustodial parent fails to make 4 weeks 

worth of child care payments, SES 
can start court action to collect the 
money. If the court determines that 
a percentage child care order was 
not paid, the order can be changed 
into a set dollar amount. Child care 
orders that have been changed into 
a set dollar amount can be added to an 
income withholding order.

Q: �What happens when the noncustodial 
parent changes jobs or moves?

A:  �SES will work to ensure that the noncustodial 
parent continues paying child support. SES 
has access to a variety of resources to find people 
and employers, such as the State and National 
Directory of New Hires, the Departments of 
Labor, Correction, Motor Vehicles, and Social 
Security Administration, and several other 
federal resources. If you know of a change in the 
noncustodial parent’s employment or address, please 
inform us as soon as possible.

Q: �What happens if the noncustodial parent 
moves out of Connecticut?

A:  �Often, SES will withhold child support directly 
from an employer in another state. SES may also 
work with the local child support agency in that 
state to enforce the Connecticut order or to collect 
any balance owed. SES can also work with many 
different foreign countries to enforce support orders.

Q: What should I do if I move?
A:  �If you move or change your mailing address please let 

us know, in writing, as soon as possible. Failure to keep 
us informed of your current mailing address might 
interrupt your receipt of payments.

Q: �Is there a connection between payment of child 
support and visitation?

A:  �No. Paying child support and visitation are separate 
legal rights and obligations. A custodial parent 

Q: �Are there other ways to enforce my child 
support order?

A:  �Yes. The Department of Social Services, OCSS will 
also use administrative actions to collect support 
payments. Parents who owe child support may have 
their state and federal tax refunds intercepted and bank 
accounts seized. OCSS may also place a lien against 
the noncustodial parent’s property and report his or 
her child support debt to consumer credit reporting 
agencies.

Q: �What is an income withholding order?
A:  �An income withholding order is an order for the 

noncustodial parent’s employer to withhold the child 
support directly from earnings. Income withholding is 
also used to withhold benefits, including unemployment 
compensation and certain social security administration 
payments. The payer of income or benefits withholds 
and forwards the support payments to the State 
Disbursement Unit (SDU) for processing. Then the 
payment will go to you or the State as appropriate.

Q: �What is a medical support order?
A:  �A medical support order is a court order for either 

parent or both parents to provide health care coverage 
(1) through their employer, (2) through the state benefit 
plan, (3) by an order for cash medical support, or (4) by 
an order for medical and dental expenses 
not covered by insurance or reimbursed in 
any other manner under the Connecticut 
child support guidelines. Medical support 
may also include an order to repay a 
percentage of any un-reimbursed health 
care costs.

Q: �How is a medical support order enforced?
A:  �SES will notify (tell) the noncustodial parent’s 

employer of the need to place your child on the 
health insurance plan (if a plan is offered) by mailing 
them a National Medical Support Notice (NMSN). 

Q: �How does my child care order work?
A:  �The most common child care (or daycare) order 

states that the noncustodial parent must pay a 
percentage of the child care costs. For example, if 
the cost of daycare is $100 and the noncustodial 

cannot deny visitation because the noncustodial parent is 
not paying child support. A noncustodial parent cannot 
stop making payments because he or she is being denied 
visitation.

Q: �What happens to my child support order if the 
noncustodial parent is in prison?

A:  �The child support order continues to be in effect while 
the noncustodial parent is in prison unless a court 
changes the order. Any payments not made while the 
parent is in prison will be added to the total amount of 
child support owed. 

Q: �Does a second family affect a 
child support order?

A:  �When a child support order is 
established, a noncustodial parent’s 
second family will be reflected in 
the support calculation. However, 
once the child support order has been established, 
a second family is not considered a valid reason to 
modify (change) the support order for the first family.

Q: �Will SES help collect any amounts owed after 
my current support ends?

A:  �Yes. SES will continue to enforce the order to collect 
any amounts that are owed, including arrears.

Q: �When does the child support order end?
A:  �In general, child support orders end when the child 

reaches the age of 18. However, this general rule may 
vary from state to state. For example, in Connecticut, 
the duty to support may extend to age 19 if the child 
is still in high school. Please contact us for specific 
information about your child’s support order.

Q: �What should I do if I get a payment directly 
from the noncustodial parent?

A:  �All child support payments must be made through 
the State Disbursement Unit. If you do get a child 
support payment directly from the noncustodial 
parent, please mail or fax a signed statement to 
SES telling us who you got the money from, the 
amount received, and the date that you got it. This 
information will be used to update the payment 
records in your case. 


