This program receives money from the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund (CICF), which is from the fees and fines paid by defendants and convicted persons. The Victim Compensation Program also receives federal money from the U.S. Department of Justice, Office for Victims of Crime, Victims of Crime Act, Victim Compensation Grant Program.

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation, in accordance with the ADA, contact OVS at 1-800-822-8428.



Office of Victim Services State of Connecticut Judicial Branch Office of Victim Services Victim Compensation: 1-888-286-7347 Email: OVSCompensation@jud.ct.gov

### COMPENSATION FOR CRIME VICTIMS



#### OFFICE OF VICTIM SERVICES

Focusing on a brighter future

The Office of Victim Services (OVS) Victim Compensation Program offers financial help to crime victims, their family members, and other persons who have financial loss because of a crime.

#### HOW CAN I GET AN APPLICATION FOR VICTIM COMPENSATION?

To receive an application or for more information, call the Victim Compensation Program at 1-888-286-7347, email at OVSCompensation@jud.ct.gov or go to the OVS Web site at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/.

## WHO CAN RECEIVE VICTIM COMPENSATION?

- A victim who suffered a physical injury;
- A victim who suffered emotional injury from a threat of either physical injury or death and received treatment. Crimes include, for example, robbery, kidnapping, child pornography, unlawful sharing of an intimate image, voyeurism (being watched, photographed, or recorded without your knowledge and permission), stalking, sexual assault, and human trafficking;
- A child who witnesses domestic violence;
- A dependent and the legal designated decision maker of a homicide victim;

- A relative\* of a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, or homicide victim;
- A person who paid some or all of the funeral expenses;
- A person who provided care to a personal injury victim;
- A person who paid some or all of the crime scene clean-up expenses; or
- A person who has a disability and owns or keeps a service animal that was injured or killed during a crime.
- \* A relative is "a person's spouse, parent, grandparent, stepparent, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, child, including a natural born child, stepchild and adopted child, grandchild, brother, sister, half-brother or half-sister, or a parent of a person's spouse." Section 54-201(4) of the Connecticut General Statutes, revised 2017.

# WHAT ARE THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS?

- You were injured during a crime or injured while helping police during a crime;
- The crime happened in Connecticut; or
- You live in Connecticut and the crime happened in a country that does not have a victim compensation program that you are eligible for and you were a victim of international terrorism or a victim of a crime that would be eligible for victim compensation in Connecticut;

For more information on Victim Compensation, please watch our informational videos at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim.

#### **ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS** (CONTINUED)

- The crime was reported to the police within 5 days or within 5 days of when a report could reasonably be made; or
- You are a victim of domestic violence, human trafficking or sexual assault and told a certified domestic violence counselor, a certified sexual assault counselor, an employee of a child advocacy center, an employee of the Department of Children and Families, certain medical providers, mental health providers, or certain school personnel about the crime; you went to a health care facility to have a sexual assault exam and evidence collection done; or a judge gave you a restraining order or a civil protection order;
- You did not cause the crime or did not do anything illegal;
- You are filing the application within 2 years of the date of the personal or emotional injury or death (a waiver form is available);
- You are cooperating with the police investigation; and
- You are cooperating with the Victim Compensation Program.

#### WHAT IS COVERED?

Only expenses and losses related to the crime that are not covered by insurance or other financial sources will be considered.

#### **Physical Injury** (up to \$15,000)

- Medical, dental, counseling, and prescription expenses;
- Counseling for relatives of sexual assault, domestic violence, and child abuse victims;
- Cosmetic and plastic surgery;
- Medical-related special needs, such as medical equipment (wheelchair) and changes to a home (ramp) or vehicle;
- Lost wages because of crime-related injuries or to care for a victim;
- Lost wages and travel expenses for you and your relatives to attend adult court, juvenile and Board of Pardons and Paroles proceedings;
- Crime scene clean-up and/or security systems (up to \$1,000) to any person who paid some or all of the expenses.

#### **Emotional Injury** (up to \$5,000)

- Medical, dental, counseling, and prescription expenses;
- Crime scene clean-up and/or security systems (up to \$1,000) to any person who paid some or all of the expenses.

#### Survivor Benefits (up to \$25,000)

• Funeral (up to \$6,000) to any person who paid some or all of the expenses;

#### Survivor Benefits (CONTINUED)

- Loss of support for dependents and legal designated decision makers;
- Lost wages and travel expenses for relatives and dependents to attend adult court, juvenile and Board of Pardons and Paroles proceedings;
- Counseling for relatives and legal designated decision makers;
- Crime scene clean-up and/or security systems (up to \$1,000) to any person who paid some or all of the expenses.

#### WHAT IS NOT COVERED?

- Property loss or damage;
- Pain and suffering;
- Household living expenses;
- Rent or moving expenses;
- Mileage to doctor appointments;
- Attorney fees. (*If an attorney files an application for you, the Victim Compensation Program allows attorney fees up to 15% of the compensation ordered.*)

#### IF MY CLAIM IS FOUND ELIGIBLE FOR VICTIM COMPENSATION, WHO GETS THE PAYMENTS?

- Lost wages and eligible expenses that you paid because of the crime will be paid directly to you.
- If there is a balance owed for crimerelated treatment, payment will be sent to provider(s).
- If you have an attorney representing you, payment will be sent to your attorney,

who must pay the person(s) or provider(s) listed on the OVS determination letter. Your attorney may take up to 15% of the compensation ordered for attorney fees.

#### DO I HAVE TO PAY THE VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM BACK?

• If you receive money from any other financial sources, including from state or municipal agencies, insurance, or workers' compensation because of the crime, OVS is entitled to 2/3 of the amount the Victim Compensation Program paid.

For example, if you received \$15,000 in victim compensation and you receive a \$40,000 insurance or civil court settlement for the same expenses paid by the Victim Compensation Program, the Victim Compensation Program is entitled to receive \$10,000 from your settlement.

• If the court orders the offender to pay you restitution for expenses that were paid by the Victim Compensation Program, the Victim Compensation Program is entitled to receive full reimbursement, unless the court orders differently.

If you file a victim compensation application, it is important that you tell OVS if your contact information changes. If we cannot reach you, you may miss important deadlines set by state law or your claim may be closed.