HAS YOUR LIFE BEEN AFFECTED BY CRIME?





OFFICE OF VICTIM SERVICES

ABOUT OVS

same.

The mission of the Office of Victim Services is to provide statewide leadership and the highest quality advocacy, services, and education guided by the individual crime victim's experience. The Connecticut Judicial Branch, Office of Victim Services (OVS) provides information and services to victims of violent crime and their families.

SERVICES OFFERED

- Financial help for out-of-pocket expenses related to the crime, including medical, dental, counseling, funeral, and lost wages (1-888-286-7347).
- Court-based victim services advocates to provide support during court proceedings and information on crime victims' rights and the criminal, juvenile and civil justice systems.
- Victim services advocates at the Board of Pardons and Paroles to provide support to crime victims during the pardons and paroles process (203-805-6595 or 203-805-6687).
- Helpline for information on crime victims' rights and referrals to state and community agencies (1-800-822-8428).
- Confidential victim notification programs that provide information to victims about changes in inmate status, requests made by an inmate for changes in registration status with the Sex Offender Registry, and when orders of protection end (**1-800-822-8428**).
- CT SAVIN for notification of court events, changes to an inmate's custody status, and when a court order of protection is issued, changes, or ends (1-877-846-3428).
- Training for criminal justice and victim service professionals on victims' rights and services.
- Funding to community-based victim service agencies in Connecticut to provide crisis intervention, counseling, 24-hour Hotlines, and other services.
- Sexual assault forensic examiners to provide compassionate care and forensic examination services to sexual assault victims that go to participating health care facilities.

VICTIM Compensation for Crime Victims

The Victim Compensation Program provides financial help to crime victims, their family members, and other persons who have financial loss because of the crime.

The Victim Compensation Program can only pay for eligible crime-related expenses that are not covered by insurance or another financial source.

WHO CAN RECEIVE VICTIM COMPENSATION?

- A victim who suffered a physical injury;
- A victim who suffered emotional injury from a threat of either physical injury or death and received treatment, or a child who witnessed domestic violence;
- A dependent and the legally designated decision maker of a homicide victim;
- A relative, defined by state law, of a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, or homicide victim;
- A person who paid some or all of the funeral expenses, crime scene clean-up expenses, or both; or
- A person who has a disability and owns or keeps a service animal that was injured or killed during a crime.

BENEFITS

- Physical injury up to \$15,000
- Survivor benefits up to \$25,000
- Emotional injury and child witnesses of domestic violence up to \$5,000

WHAT EXPENSES ARE ELIGIBLE? (LIMITS MAY APPLY)

- Medical, dental, counseling, and prescription expenses;
- Counseling for relatives of sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and homicide victims;
- Crime scene clean-up and security systems or security devices (up to \$1,000);
- Funeral and burial (up to \$6,000);
- Lost wages or support; and
- Expenses to go to court, Juvenile and Board of Pardons and Paroles proceedings for physical injury victims, their relatives, and the relatives and dependents of homicide victims.

WHAT EXPENSES ARE NOT ELIGIBLE?

- Property loss or damage;
- Pain and suffering;
- Household living expenses;
- Rent or moving expenses;
- Mileage to doctor appointments; or
- Attorney fees (except attorney fees of up to 15% for help with filing a claim for victim compensation).

There are other eligibility requirements that must be met. For more information about the Victim Compensation Program or to receive an application, please call **1-888-286-7347** or visit the OVS Web site at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim.

VICTIM SERVICES Advocates

Victim Services Advocates help crime victims participate in the criminal justice process by explaining their rights and how to exercise those rights. Advocates also refer victims to resources that may reduce the effects of trauma associated with crime. OVS has victim services advocates at courthouses throughout the state to help victims of personal injury crimes, their family members, and family members of homicide victims. There are also victim services advocates at the Board of Pardons and Paroles (Board) to provide support to crime victims during the pardons and paroles process.

ADVOCATES CAN HELP VICTIMS BY:

- Explaining their state constitutional rights.
- Serving as a contact between victims and court and Board staff.
- Explaining the criminal, juvenile, and civil justice systems.
- Giving updates on the court case and Board proceedings.
- Going to court and Board proceedings with victims and advocating for their rights.
- Referrals to social service agencies.
- Information about and assistance with registration for victim notification programs.
- Explaining:
 - how to write a victim impact statement and help with reading the statement;
 - restitution and helping with requests for restitution;
 - the Victim Compensation Program and help with completing an application;
 - how to get property returned that was held as evidence; and
 - orders of protection and help getting orders of protection.

Please call OVS at **1-800-822-8428** for more information about OVS victim services advocates and crime victims' rights or visit the OVS Web site at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim.

VICTIM Notification Programs

A MARTIN AND A STATE

Notification programs provide important information to victims and other eligible persons about changes in the custody status of inmates, requests made by an inmate for changes in registration status with the Sex Offender Registry, and when orders of protection end. OVS provides the following free and confidential notification programs:

POST-CONVICTION CHANGE IN INMATE STATUS

OVS provides notification about changes in the status of inmates sentenced to the Department of Correction. Notifications include:

- Clemency hearing
- Halfway house release
- Pardon hearing
- Parole hearing/release
- Re-entry furlough
- Release
- Sentence modification
- Sentence review
- Transitional supervision

SEX OFFENDER STATUS CHANGE

OVS provides notification when an inmate applies or asks the court for a change to their registration with the Sex Offender Registry.

The changes in the Sex Offender Registry that an inmate may request include:

- Not having to register;
- Limiting the information that is available to the public; or
- Removing any limits on the information that is available to the public.

WHO MAY MAKE A REQUEST TO BE NOTIFIED?

- Crime victims and their immediate family members;
- Family members of homicide victims;
- Legal representative of crime victims;
- State's attorneys; and
- Inmates' immediate family members.

HOW DO I REGISTER?

Call OVS at **1-800-822-8428** to register or fill out a Confidential Request for Notification of Status of Inmate (JD-VS-5) form at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim/notification.

NOTIFICATION WHEN ORDERS OF PROTECTION END

Automatic notification is provided to a protected person when the protective order ends or 5 weeks before a restraining order or civil protection order ends.

CT SAVIN

Connecticut Statewide Automated Victim Information and Notification (CT SAVIN) is a confidential service that provides crime victims, victim advocates, and other concerned citizens with notification about adult court events, changes to an inmate's custody status, and when a court order of protection is issued, changes, or ends. CT SAVIN is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can register to receive notifications by email, phone, text, in-app or by TTY.

INFORMATION NEEDED TO REGISTER FOR NOTIFICATION

To register, you will need to know the offender's first and last name, the offender's inmate number (ID number), or the docket number (Case number).

TO REGISTER ON-LINE – go to www.jud.ct.gov and click on the CT SAVIN button (left side of page). The CT SAVIN Web site has instructions to help you register.

TO REGISTER BY VINELINK – download the app from the iTunes App Store or from Google Play and follow the instructions.

TO REGISTER BY PHONE – call 1-877-846-3428 and follow the instructions. You may also register more than 1 phone number and/or email address.

TO REGISTER BY TTY (for people who are deaf, speech impaired, or hard of hearing) – call 1-866-847-1298 and a representative will help you.

Write your PIN# here: _

NOTIFICATIONS BY EMAIL AND TEXT

Emails and texts are sent once, and you do not need to enter a PIN.

NOTIFICATIONS BY PHONE AND TTY

You will continue to receive notifications until you enter your PIN.

NOTIFICATIONS BY VINELINK

App notifications are stored under the ALERTS icon in the app or you may agree to receive push notifications.

SEXUAL ASSAULT Forensic examiners (SAFE) program

The Gail Burns-Smith Sexual Assault Forensic Examiners Program provides specially trained sexual assault forensic examiners to assist victims of sexual assault at participating health care facilities. The SAFE Program is named after the late Gail Burns-Smith, a national and local advocate for victims of sexual assault and abuse. SAFE services are offered at participating health care facilities in Connecticut.

WHAT IS A SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAMINER?

A registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, nurse mid-wife, a physician, or a physician's assistant with specialized training in the collection of forensic evidence.

WHAT IS A SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAM?

An examination that includes collecting information and evidence, doing a physical exam to look for assault-related injury, recommending medications for the prevention of sexually transmitted infections, prevention of pregnancy, and referrals for follow-up care.

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF THE SAFE PROGRAM?

- Sexual assault victims receive compassionate and specialized care;
- Improved quality of forensic evidence; and
- Helps responding agencies to work more closely together to provide services.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR SAFE SERVICES?

- A person 13 years old or older who is a victim of a sexual assault or abuse;
- The sexual assault or abuse happened within 120 hours; and
- The sexual assault victim is able to give permission to have a sexual assault forensic exam.

For more information about the Gail Burns-Smith SAFE Program, please call OVS at **1-800-822-8428**.

RIGHTS OF CRIME VICTIMS

Crime victims have certain rights under the constitution of Connecticut, article first, § 8b.

The right to:

- Be treated with fairness and respect throughout the criminal justice process;
- Have the case completed in a timely manner following arrest of the accused, provided no rights of the accused are violated;
- Be reasonably protected from the accused throughout the criminal justice process;
- Be told of court dates;
- Attend the trial and all other court proceedings that the victim has a right to attend (*arraignment, pre-trial, and sentencing*) unless you are testifying, in which case the court may decide that you can't attend the trial until after you are done testifying;
- Tell the prosecutor about the affects of the crime and to get information about the criminal case;
- Have the chance to agree or disagree with any plea agreement between the accused and the prosecutor and to make a statement to the court before the court decides if it will accept the agreement;
- Make a statement to the court at sentencing;
- Request restitution for expenses or property loss or damage because of the crime; and
- Get information about the arrest, conviction, sentence, imprisonment, and release of the accused.

Important PHONE NUMBERS

VICTIM COMPENSATION

PHONE: 1-888-286-7347 or 860-263-2761 FAX: 860-263-2780 Email: Ovscompensation@jud.ct.gov

HELPLINE

PHONE: 1-800-822-8428 or 860-263-2760 FAX: 860-263-2777 Email: OVS@JUD.CT.GOV

ADMINISTRATION

PHONE: 860-263-2760 Fax: 860-263-2777 Email: OVS@JUD.CT.GOV

TTY

CALL: 711 for a relay operator. Give the operator the OVS phone number to call. The operator will relay the conversation between you and OVS.

For more information on OVS programs and services, please watch our informational videos at www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim.



HELPLINE 800-822-8428

VICTIM COMPENSATION 888-286-7347

The Judicial Branch of the State of Connecticut complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable accommodation, in accordance with the ADA, call OVS at 1-800-822-8428.



Office of Victim Services State of Connecticut Judicial Branch

www.jud.ct.gov/crimevictim JDP-VS-17 Rev. 7/21