PRETRIAL ALCOHOL EDUCATION PROGRAM APPLICATION

JD-CR-44 Rev. 1-20 C.G.S. § 54-56g



Instructions to person filling out this application:

- 1. File the original of this application with the Clerk of Court.
- 2. Send a copy to the prosecuting attorney.
- 3. A \$100 application fee and a nonrefundable \$100 evaluation fee, or an application for waiver of the fees, must be filed with this application.

For information on ADA accommodations, contact a court clerk or go to: www.jud.ct.gov/ADA.

Notice to Clerk: Seal the file on order of the court per section 54-56g of the Connecticut General Statutes.

TO: The Superior Court of the State of Connecticut					
Judicial District GA number	Address of court		Docket Number		
Name of defendant		Address of defendant (Number, street, apartment number, town, and zip code)			
Alias/Maiden name of defendant		Telephone number of defendant	Operator's license number	Issuing state	
Offense(s) charged			1	1	
I am charged with a violation of Statutes, and I am applying for		, 14-227m, 14-227n(a)(1) or (2), 15-133 tion Program.	, or 15-140n of the Connecticut	t General	
If my application is granted:					
I agree to give the State more speedy trial) for the offense(s		e tolling of any statute of limitations for tomplete the program.	his offense(s) and to waive my	right to a	
will make a recommendation program or at least 12 session abuse treatment program that wait to begin my program und and after I finish my program	to the court about whether in a substance abuse to the court orders me into til after the suspension of rought, if CSSD thinks I need mo	Addiction Services (DMHAS) and the Cr I should take part in 10 or 15 counselir reatment program. I also agree to begin within 90 days unless the court gives my license is over. I also agree to finish ore treatment, I agree to accept any add in a state-licensed treatment program to	ng sessions in an alcohol interv the alcohol intervention or sub e more time, and I understand the program that the court orde itional treatment in a treatment	ention estance that I can ers me into, program	
3. I agree to take part in at leas	t one (1) Victim Impact Par	nel if the court orders me to.			
4. If I decide to enter the program ordered by the court after the suspension of my license is over, I agree to tell CSSD the date that my license was suspended and how long my license was suspended for.					
5. I agree to pay the court a nonrefundable program fee of \$350 if I am ordered into the 10 session alcohol intervention program, or \$500 if I am ordered into the 15 session alcohol intervention program (these fees may be changed by the legislature), or to pay the costs of taking part in a substance abuse treatment program if I am ordered into a treatment program, except that, if I cannot pay or if I am indigent, I will file with the court an affidavit saying I cannot pay or that I am indigent, and the court may decide that I do not have to pay some or all of the program fee or costs of the treatment program if it finds that I am indigent or unable to pay.					
other jurisdiction so that CSSD indigent by filing an affidavit of pay or if I am indigent. (Select of	can decide if I can be allow my inability to pay or of my one of the following) not pay or that I am indige	y criminal or motor vehicle program I ma wed into the program. If I am telling the o indigency, I give my permission to CSS	court that I cannot pay or that I	am	
		of the information above, and I requence Connecticut General Statutes.	est that I be allowed into the	Pretrial	

Signed (Defendant)

I have read this entire

application, and I understand it.

Date signed

Consented to by (Parent or guardian)

Notice

A person is not eligible for the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program if:

- (1) The applicant is charged with a violation of Section 14-227a, 14-227g, 14-227m, 14-227n(a)(1) or (2), or 15-133(d) of the Connecticut General Statutes that caused another person serious physical injury, as defined in section 53a-3 of the Connecticut General Statutes, unless the applicant shows the court good cause (a good reason) why the applicant should be allowed into the program; or
- (2) The applicant is charged with a violation of 14-227a, 14-227m, or 14-227n(a)(1) or (2) while operating a commercial motor vehicle or while the applicant had a commercial driver's license or a commercial driver's instruction permit.

Oath

The applicant stated under penalties of perjury before me, duly designated by the clerk and authorized to administer oaths, that:

- (1) the applicant has not had the Pretrial Alcohol Education Program invoked in the applicant's behalf within the preceding ten (10) years;
- (2) the applicant has never been convicted of a violation of:
 - a. Section 14-227g, 14-227m, 14-227n(a)(1) or (2), 15-132a, 15-133(d), 15-140l, 15-140n, 53a-56b, or 53a-60d of the Connecticut General Statutes;
 - b. Section 14-227a(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes before, on or after October 1, 1981; or
 - c. Section 14-227a(a)(1) or (2) of the Connecticut General Statutes on or after October 1, 1985;
- (3) the applicant has not been convicted in any other state, at any time, of an offense that has essential elements that are substantially the same as sections 14-227a(a)(1) or (2), 14-227m, 14-227n(a)(1) or (2), 15-132a, 15-133(d), 15-140l, 15-140n, 53a-56b, or 53a-60d of the Connecticut General Statutes or a violation of Public Act 16-126 section 1 or section 2(a)(1) or (2); and
- (4) the applicant has sent Judicial Branch form JD-CR-167, *Notice of Application for Pretrial Alcohol Education Program*, to any victim(s) of the alleged violation(s) or crime(s) who suffered a serious physical injury, as that term is defined by section 53a-3 of the Connecticut General Statutes, by registered or certified mail, so that those victim(s) are aware of the opportunity to give the court their opinion on this application.

Date signed

Print name

	·	
First Order of the Court		
(Select all that apply)		
The application is denied .		
The court waives the following fee(s) or po	rtion of fees having found that the defendant is indigent or unable to	pay:
Application fee: all ; \$	Evaluation fee: all ; \$	
The applicant's oath under section 54-56g	of the Connecticut General Statutes was taken: (Select one)	
in open court.		
outside of court by a person duly design	gnated by the clerk and authorized to administer oaths.	
	ne listed below to consider the CSSD assessment of eligibility and the findigency and for CSSD to seek to confirm such indigency.	ne DMHAS evaluation
The Court orders the court file sealed as to	the public.	
Case Continued To (Date and time)	Signed (Judge, Assistant Clerk)	Date signed

Signed (Duly authorized person)